We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to look at but good food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Azteca Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Azteca Mexican Restaurant
71 Pleasant St, # 73, Attleboro, MA 02703-2360
508-226-6258
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 86 Restaurants in Attleboro
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not much to look at but good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant doesn't look like much and the service isn't great but the food is pretty good. The fajitas and margaritas are excellent.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“On the downhill slide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This used to be a fantastic Mexican restaurant, but the last few times we've been there it has been a disappointment.

They have cleaned the place up, painted and added more tables, but the wait staff is tired and lost interest. They are just THERE.

You go in, they point toward a table and mutter at you. The menus are plopped down and they want to know what you want to drink. In a short while they want to know what you want to eat and walk away. When the food comes out it is plopped down and away they go again. You are forgotten until they want you out. At that time they put the bill down and ask if there is anything else. Gee, really???

The serving sizes have been reduced, and the prices have increased slightly, so what used to be a reasonable meal at a reasonable price has become a disappointment.

The wait staff is the biggest issue though. It is clear they don't really want to be there.

After our last visit, we decided we just won't inconvienance them by being there again.

We did try their other restaurant by the same name in Pawtucket RI- a sister location we guessed because the menu is the same.

The RI location staff is friendly and they don't act as if you are a bother for them. The food is WAY too salty to be able to enjoy though and the drinks seem watered down significantly.

If we decide we MUST visit a mexican restaurant before we find something better than El Azteca it will have to be the RI location. We'll just select things that should have a lower salt content and not bother w/ watered down drinks.

We are definitely looking for something better though!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“It was pretty good, but not my favorite place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My brother and I were looking for a late dinner. He always liked this place more than me, but he has never travelled to places with the most authentic food. So, as for my tastes, I think you get better Mexican food where there are large numbers of Mexican people living since there is more competition to be great. This place to me is average in their food quality and presentation. It isn't spiced as much as salted and I like my food with a spicy kick that is absent. Adding hot sauce after cooking is just not the same. In all honesty, I avoid going here unless my brother drags me. It isn't much on atmosphere either. It's a hole in the wall sort of place that probably is not too bad for a quick lunch option, but I just don't care for it that much. I have a more discerning palate! lol

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Fabulous food, great prices; fun atmosphere. I take friends there; the service is fast, the food portions generous, the bill very affordable.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best mexican in MA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is by far the best place to get Mexican food in Massachusetts. It has a very authentic taste and they use the perfect amount of spice on everything. The margs are great here too!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Azteca Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Azteca Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Azteca Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.