We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New favorite B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maguire House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashburnham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Maguire House B&B
Save
You added The Maguire House B&B to your Saves list
30 Cobb Road, Ashburnham, MA 01430   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ashburnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, MA, United States
1 review
“New favorite B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and I took a bicycle trip from Boston to the Maguire house, and boy was it a wonderful destination! We arrived at sunset to a friendly greeting from Terry and Paul, and a batch of warm cookies just coming out of the oven. The house has a gorgeous view overlooking a small lake and rolling hills off into the distance, and the sitting room is cozy and comfortable. We loved the make-yourself-at-home feel, with complementary coffee, beer, wine, and snacks available at any time.

The room was very nice and comfortable, and breakfast the following morning was exquisite. We woke up to fruit salad, hot coffee, and fresh scones while Terry prepared the main breakfast (she cooks a mean eggs benedict!). We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough -- great food, great company, and a fantastic value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
44
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Wow! If you ever thought you wanted to open a B&B, you need to stay here a few nights to see how it's done... to perfection.

From the start, you feel you are visiting the house of a cousin you haven't seen in years, a rich cousin granted. :). You never exchange money, all that is handled in advance. You are shown around the place like it's your home away from home, everything you need from coffee to snacks to a bathrobe to some nice body wash to try out, it's all there for you to help yourself. The only time you are waited on is for the amazing breakfast, made to order. Come and go as you please, but when you do return the owner genuinely wants to know if you enjoyed yourself.

And the bed... The best night of sleep I had that month, so great we pulled up the sheets to take note of the mattress model.

We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is a perfect place for a relaxing getaway. The outdoor surroundings are spectacular and quiet, the historic home is comfortable, inviting and beautifully decorated. Terry and Paul are wonderful hosts - they made sure we had everything we needed while giving us space and privacy to relax. The homemade breakfast in the morning was delicious and fresh and more than we could hope to eat. Our only regret is that we only spent one night in this fantastic place. We hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Great location for a quick couple's getaway! Took my wife here for our honeymoon and was pleasantly surprised for many reasons:
1. The beautiful colonial architecture was extremely drawing
2. The beautiful property that the house sits on is genuinely beautiful
3. Upon entering we were promplty greeted by Paul and Terry as if we were long time friends. (Were also extremely helpful through communication prior to arrival)
4. Beautiful interior design
5. EVERYTHING was complementary (upon request we received chilled champagne and beautiful white lilies)
6. Bedroom was beautiful with an incredible view
7. Breakfast was absolutely amazing with wide array of foods available
I would strongly recommend Maguire's to anybody who is looking for a quick escape to a hidden Massachusetts treasure.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

The Maguire House is small, historic inn set in a tranquil location "off the beaten path" of Route 2. With nearly 50 acres of wooded landscape and lake-front property with mountain vistas, it is easy for guests to find serenity in this pastoral retreat. With only three guestrooms, the large living room, "family" room, and dining room (porches in the summer) provided us with ample space to read and relax, in addition to our bedroom accommodations. Even at full occupancy, there always would be private spaces for our own afternoon or evening conversations, and especially at our own breakfast table overlooking the lake. Concerning breakfast, the fresh fruits and pasteries were a delicious way to begin a larger first meal of the day with a variety of cereals, juices, eggs, and pancakes on immediate offer. The innkeepers were genuinely gracious in every respect but thankfully not solicitous. We had reserved the Rose Room on a corner that afforded us views of the mountains, lake, and woods. The Country Room is also on a corner but with a lesser panorama. The Wisteria Room with three windows in a row overlooks the mountains and lake but, even with two entrances and an in-room bath, seemed more compressed to us. Although the Rose Room (also the Country Room) has its own adjacent, not in-room bath, we were not at all uncomfortable occasionally crossing the very private upstairs hallway. Both bedroom and bath were amply supplied with the highest quality towels and linens, not to mention chocolates and champagne. At any hour of the day or night, a variety of coffees, teas, sodas, and wines also were freely available in the dining room, as well as crackers, cheeses, nuts, chips, and a plate with a homemade fresh-baked treats. The Maguire House is the epitome of rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

After racking our brains for weeks trying to find a place to stay the evening of our wedding at the Harrington Farm, we stumbled across this B&B on Tripadvisor. We weren't sure what to expect despite the positive reviews and lovely pictures.

We couldn't have picked a better place to wind down the best day of our lives. We literally walked in wearing our tux and wedding dress, and from the moment we walked in, Terry was working to ensure that our stay was perfect. We had homemade cookies waiting for us to enjoy while opening wedding gifts. The house is beautiful, charming and clean. The grounds are every bit as spectacular as the pictures depict. In the morning, we went downstairs and had a fresh cooked breakfast waiting for us - complete with fresh scones, coffee, tea, and homemade granola. The pancakes were some of the best I've ever had. Since there was no one staying in our room the following night, Terry let us hang around to explore the grounds and play with Abby, their golden retriever because we didn't want to leave!

We will definitely be coming back in the winter to spend a little more time there. What a find!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benicia,ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

We stayed during the fall foliage and it was breathtaking. Right from our room we had a beautiful view of the trees, lake and grounds. The room was roomy, comfortable and had all the modern amenities. There are only a few rooms so it is quiet. The home is huge and a historic marvel in itself. And I agree with the other reviews Terry and Paul are great hosts. The breakfasts are a gourmet treat. They are off the beaten path, but that's what we like, no crowds just the great outdoors and great indoors.

Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maguire House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maguire House B&B

Address: 30 Cobb Road, Ashburnham, MA 01430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Ashburnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashburnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maguire House is an award winning bed and breakfast, receiving the Certificate of Excellence from TripAdvisor, Editor's Pick by N.E. Travel and Boston Magazine; Best of New England by Bed and Breakfast and Editors' Choice B&B by Yankee Magazine. Surrounded by over forty-four private acres, we invite you to stop and stay awhile. Relax by a warm fire, stroll along the pristine lake, or simply rest on the porch enjoying the spectacular view of Mt. Monadnock, Upper Naukeag Lake, and surrounding hills. You'll see why so many guests want to stay forever. Queen-sized beds, private baths, full breakfast, complimentary refreshments, free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maguire House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.