We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so fresh and healthy, but it's not pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Za

Za
138 Massachusetts Ave, Arlington, MA 02474
(781) 316-2334
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 88 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza, Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“so fresh and healthy, but it's not pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Don't go to Za looking for your pizza fix. Won't happen. Not even sure they should call what they serve "pizza". It's so much better than pizza. Za's "next generation" pizza is filled with local farm fresh veggies and occasionally fruit (peaches), too. Brilliant, seasonal combinations of ingredients! And, for the little kids, there's a mac 'n cheese pizza. But stick with the veggies. We're not meat-eaters, so we often request a hold on the bacon or some such offending meat product. Za is always happy to do so. Pizzas are filling, so plan on a half pizza per person, or else you'll have plenty of leftovers, our preferred option.

Za's salads are probably more amazing than their pizzas. We love the cucumber/feta salad served on mashed potatoes. Salads are large enough to share with 3-4 people.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    27
    18
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I'm really having a hard time understand the rave reviews of this place. I'm not a pizza snob by any means but both my dining companion and I found their (rather expensive) pies to be unforgivably bland. The menu is also small and lacks creativity. There are so many great pizza places in the Cambridge/Arlington area, save your money!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Amazing pizzas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The pizzas are innovative and delicious. Four of us shared the Smoked Salmon, Creme Fraiche, Red Onion, Fresh Dill and Capers; the Chorizo, Dill Pickle, Swiss Cheese, Caramelized Onion with Mustard Cream and Parsley; and the Mac and cheese pizza. These were not combinations I had eaten before. The smoked salmon was my favourite. Service was fast and friendly. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Really liked this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Went with a medium-sized group to load up on carbs at the conclusion of Passover. The restaurant charmed us before we were even seated -- when we mentioned Passover ending, during our lengthy wait for a table, the hostess came out with a plate of animal crackers for us to tide us over! Very thoughtful!

Pizzas were creative, delicious, and reasonably priced. Perhaps better than the pizzas were the salads -- we got a few for the table, and all were impressive. An avocado salad was my favorite, butternut squash was good too, and so was an iceberg wedge salad (at least one of these was a special, so it may not be available regularly). Presentation of the salads was especially a treat.

Good beer list and ambiance round out this fun pizza spot.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My wife and I went there for lunch during the week. The place was almost empty which worried us a bit. Yet the Pizzas were really good and cheap. We had 2 pizzas:
(1) Portabello Mushrooms, Roasted Red Peppers, Caramelized Onions, Roasted Garlic, and Goat Cheese – which was amazing!!
(2) a vegetable pizza with Roasted Red Peppers and Roasted Garlic – which was very good.
The service was polite, efficient and quick.
Restrooms are very clean.
There was plenty of parking (2 hours for free) on the street.
If you feel like it take a short walk afterword to spy pond next by for a great stroll.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Za also viewed

 

Been to Za? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Za, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.