We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emily Bay

Emily Bay
Norfolk Island, Australia
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Beautiful beach, crystal clear water, white golden sand, it is ringed by Norfolk pines and is untainted by building apart from an old salt mine ruin. Safe swimming and quite good snorkelling. I doubt it could get any better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    37
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnt Pine
1 review
“Emily Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

For my husband and myself, our delight is to go down to Emily in the late afternoon with a simple picnic and a bottle of red wine, and enjoy the magnificent view, at the same time watching the littlies playing at the edge of the water, or building dams where the pretty little stream runs into the bay. It makes us feel refreshed and renewed, and we feel like the luckiest people in the world, envying no one.
My sister visits the island regularly and loves to snorkel in Emily and the adjacent Slaughter Bay. Now she is in her mid-seventies, and feels it is wonderful that this safe, gentle and entrancing activity is still available to her!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“brilliant lagoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

As the plane descended, I had a glimpse of a magic lagoon..turquoise waters and sandy beaches..this was Emilly Bay! Great for snorkling-no sharks, crocs, stingers or other nasty sea creatures. safe for families to picnic, romantic strolls and a beaut sunset.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

An extremely good family safe beach at Kingston. A classic sandy beach in a pretty location for swimming and picnicing or just to watch the sun set.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Swimmers delight for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place for a swim for all ages or try a snorkel on the reef. Waters are crystal clear. Gorgeous hidden paradise Norfolk Island

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emily Bay also viewed

 
Norfolk Island, Australia
Norfolk Island, Australia
 

Been to Emily Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emily Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.