We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the Self-paced iPod Tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baunti Escapes

Baunti Escapes
Norfolk Island, Norfolk Island 9087, Australia
672 3 23693
Improve this listing
Type: Educational Sites, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Newcastle NSW
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Take the Self-paced iPod Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very relaxing. No crowds. Baunti provide a full range of tours with excellent service from friendly staff (Onya Megan!)
Suggest the self paced iPod tours where you can explore the island's rich convict past with most informative iPod commentary.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, NZ
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tour Agency”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

On a recent trip to Norfolk Island, we again used Baunti Escapes for booking all our island tours. Baunti provides a comprehensive range of half day tours and Megan, the front person in the office is the most helpful person we have come across in all of our world-wide travels. Baunti will not only book you on their own tours, but will book for other companies as well if they do not provide a particular tour you want to go on – there are no hidden costs for this service and credit card payments are fee free. We have used this company during our previous trips to the island and felt we must recommend it to fellow travelers to Norfolk.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic, fun and very professional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I was a little nervous about participating in organised tours, but the staff at Baunti are amazing. Mum and I (pls ignore the field above re: who I traveled with. I am 30 yo/ and Mum is in her 50s) had so much fun on each and every tour we booked through Baunti. We did the "Discover Norfolk", "Coffee Plantation", and "Art Trail" - all of which were lead by very knowledgeable, organised and fun guides. Really recommend all of these to see a very special side of the Island. Megan (office manager) is amazing. We loved going to the office to chat with her, and she suggested we try their new DIY tours. These consist of an IPOD touch being connected to the radio of our hire car so we can visit each location in our own time. The IPOD is full of very interesting podcasts which outline the history/significance of each location - very easy to use and brilliantly put together.

As I said, I usually avoid bus tours, but Baunit are really something special. We did do a few tours through other companies but found them very disappointing, and likely to cancel with little or no notice. Recommend visit to Norfolk Island very much, and booking through Baunti Escapes is a must!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great tour company”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

A small tour. Les is a descendant of "one of the originals" and is very knowledgeable. Nothing is too much trouble. Us them.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Best time at Baunti Progressive Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Thanks again to Les (Lettuce) for hosting the tour. We visited four island homes and the hosts were just terrific. Food was great as was the company. Not to be missed - but book early!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baunti Escapes also viewed

Norfolk Island, Australia
Norfolk Island, Australia
 

Been to Baunti Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baunti Escapes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.