We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saqqarlit apartment: quiet and great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nordbo

Nordbo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nordbo to your Saves list
Nordbo
Vandsovej 13, Nuuk 3900, Greenland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Nuuk B&B and Inns
Lawrence, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Saqqarlit apartment: quiet and great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in the Saqqarlit apartment (which is in the basement of the owner's house). We did have to stop at the main Norbo office to pick up the keys and pay the bill. The apartment has everything you need, but it is small (no room to walk around the bed). The location is great: at the end of town, on a quiet street, just on the water. You will have to walk into town (10 minutes or so) for food and shopping. There were no instructions on how to use the phone, which was a pain. We also had a hard time getting instructions for the wifi, and we had to pay in 15 minute increments (in August 2011). Considering the limited housing options in Nuuk, we're glad we chose this location for our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the main apartment complex. My apartment was on the ground floor and was rather dark. The apartment was in need of a fix-up, everything from the bathroom to the linen seemed well used. The room was quiet, and the location was OK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuuk hotels

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for just one night in Nuuk in the Saqqarliit apartments from Nordbo down on the waterfront. The location is good although its a bit of a pain you have to go to the main office on the other side of town to pick up and drop off the key. Our apartment hadn't been cleaned when we checked in at 14:30 which was a bit annoying but they came later to change the bedding and towels etc.

Apartment provides a lot of space and great facilities for cooking/eating at home which is useful as eating out all the time in Greenland can be expensive. The location of the Saqqarliit apartment is great as well with great views out on the fjord. Very quiet and nice building. Recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotel Nordbo was disappointing. Their so-called "bed" in my one person appartment was a sofa in fact, and they had not even prepared it, so I had to make in on my own. The linen looked like it had been used before. No problem in a hostel, but these folks are charging 850 DKK (115 EUR or 140 USD) per night. Internet is of course not included and costs 90 DKK (12 EUR, 15 USD) PER HOUR.

What is much worse is that the staff did not seem to be interested in their guests at all. I told them twice that my shower turned cold after half a minute, and they just did not do anything. So I had to take another cold shower the following morning. I asked them to change the address on the bill to my company´s name, and it took them more than 3 hours to do so.

If you really have to stay in this place, do not come too early in the morning, after 1600 in the afternoon or during the weekend because the reception will be closed. My advice is to stay in another place anyway. The hostel cannot be worse, but it will be considerably cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We loved the Nordbo's Saqqarliit location. Note that this is not their main apartment complex -- I have no idea what that one is like, although it shares the same friendly and helpful staff. The Saqqarliit apartments are about a 10 minute walk from downtown, but it's a really pleasant walk through a nice neighbourhood, with sea and mountain views along the way. The view from the deck is really nice, especially in summer when it never gets dark. We saw whales from our porch on several occasions during the week we were there.
The apartment has a fridge, stove, oven, TV, DVD player, stereo, satellite TV and a clothes washer. We had some trouble figuring out the remote controls (not all of which had batteries) and the phone (which may or may not actually work). You'll have to bring your own alarm clock, too.
The bedroom is small and a little bit dark, but you're probably going to spend most of your time out exploring Nuuk or else on the deck/in the living room, so it's not a big deal. I highly recommend this place and would love to go back.

Room Tip: For a great view, be sure to ask for the Saqqarliit location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nordbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordbo

Address: Vandsovej 13, Nuuk 3900, Greenland
Location: Greenland > Sermersooq Municipality > Nuuk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nuuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nordbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordbo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.