We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Friendly Staff, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambasador

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ambasador to your Saves list
Ambasador
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Pirinska 38, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 58 Skopje B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Friendly Staff, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel fit the bill for what we needed, which was just a place to sleep before moving on to Bitola the next day. The location, though, was great for having several different eating options, being set in a rather active and lively neighborhood.
Also, well-located for walking to the main sights in Skopje, namely the main square, Alexander statue, and Turkish bazaar, all of which can easily be reached in about fifteen minutes.
Room was fine, bathroom good, breakfast OK (I think it would have been better if we'd arrived a little earlier - as we were among the last to eat the choices had dwindled by the time we came downstairs).
Overall, just fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
2
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were here as part of a circuit, the last night of our trip was planned by the agency to stay here.
The hotel is well-located, at less than 15 minutes of walking to the city central square.
The room was large enough for a double room, all equipment was new and worked properly, there was no problem.
Good breakfast, the juice was very cold and seemed to be natural, I did not detect any chemicals in. Rarebit was truly delicious. Breakfast area is little bit too small, 8-10 small tables only, the place got crowded at breakfast time because we were a 48 persons group.
Very good and cheap food at terraces and pizza places nearby the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The hotel seemed to be a good bargain.

However, it was not really so.

The room was very small but ok. The staff was friendly and accepted the fact that after my first day of stay, I decided to move.

The breakfast is just ok.

All in all, it is ok for budget travellers, but there are other options in Skopje worth the rate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Skopje hotels

Poland, Indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I just loved this quaint, clean, friendly hotel. It's in a perfect location near the center and there are some fantastic restaurants nearby (but expect to shell out some cash for the meals).

We stayed for 2 days, left for a week, and came back for another few days. We just loved it. The staff was very friendly and spoke English. They always said hello and asked about our trip and if they could help us find places to eat and things to see. The two rooms we had on our two visits were snug, just barely fitting the bed, a small mini-sofa, and personal computer in the room. However, it was very clean. Especially the bathroom which was very newly renovated.

We would definately go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This is a really nice hotel right in the center of Skopje. It's got a nice laid back atmosphere about it. The staff were very helpful. The rooms were large and clean and the breakfast was good. The area around the hotel is quiet but there are bars and cafes close by. Be careful with the taxis from the airport. The fare into the city center is 20 euro.. They'll spin you stories about your hotel not being in the center and so on but stick to your guns and only pay them 20 euro. In the end they'll accept it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Good quiet location, easy to find and very close to downtown. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was OK. We booked triple room and got tiny little room (I think that it is double room, but they pushed in the third – friend of mine slept under the mini-bar!). Cleanness is not what this hotel should be proud of, the walls in our room were surprisingly dirty, just as blankets and sheets. Bathroom was renovated but not finished, there were no hangers or shelves and water ran out of the toilet. Unfortunately, part of the hotel was under renovation during our stay. I was told that it's very hard to find a good hotel in Skopje, but I don't know according to which categorisation this hotel deserves 3 stars. It's not expensive, but don't expect much.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krusevac, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

excellent hotel in the center of town. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. the hotel has a restaurant and possible agreements on the lunch or dinner at any time of day or night. located next to the Russian Embassy, so that the taxi drivers easily explained.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambasador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasador

Address: Pirinska 38, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambasador 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Ambasador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambasador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.