We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK so far” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn - Skopje

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn - Skopje to your Saves list
Holiday Inn - Skopje
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mosa Pijade Street 2, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Skopje
Styria
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“OK so far”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have no idea what the other hotels in Skopje are like, but this one is definitely OK. The location is perfect, just between the business area, the new center and the old town. So pretty much everything you might need is within walking distance.
Although it is an international chain hotel, the service and the rooms remind one of the good old times in Yugoslavia: The staff is not particularly friendly and well trained, at first glance everything looks nice, but those who look closer will see things like mold in the bathroom or cracks in the walls behind chairs and curtains. Sometimes the fire alarm goes off, but it does not seem to bother anyone.
Breakfast is rather basic, do not expect European Standard, especially when in comes to the quality of ham, sausages or juice. For the price they ask, I would expect more!

Room Tip: The higher up the better, the rooms out back have privet balcony's, but then you might be bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    67
    97
    13
    1
See reviews for
4
25
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Perhaps the best what the hotel can offer is location – central and close to walking area and main city square. Given the quality of service, food and rooms, this is ridiculously over priced option. Check out takes doesn’t take time but calendar. Breakfast is at two star level. Service is archaic type of public-servant ignorance. Rooms have not seen decorator for a good decade or more. Not worth longer comment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Skopje hotels

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here 14 years ago when it was the "Grand Hotel" and has been rebranded as a Holiday Inn . As Skopje goes, it has a great central location and decent accommodations. It's labeled "five star" and I suppose that is relative since three star by international standards is more accurate. The rooms are fine, but the awful shampoo/body wash plastic dispensers glued to the bathroom walls turned me off. And the 12 euro charge for internet which I refused to pay really frosted me. There is a business center which they let you use for free, however. The breakfast, included, was just average. This would be better off as a Holiday Inn Express and throw in the free internet as they do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Skopje, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Globo4368,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. I am glad our convenient location suited you well. On the other hand, I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the bathroom amenities and internet rate. We highly value your views and feedback, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Holiday Inn in Skopje is very well placed near the centre of the city - next to the river, near the bazaar as well as the new modern centre (including the amazing, bizar array of monuments that have appeared recently). As to the hotel itself, well it's average - average room, average cleanliness, average furnishings. However the hotel suffers from 2 main issues - the cost of the room (130 euros a night for me), and the breakfast - a lot of it - but very little for me (no croissants, limited breads, limited cheeses - lots of stewed vegetables).

Room Tip: Don't take a room looking towards the new Court of Justice / river etc - the building next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podgorica, Montenegro
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Been there 2 nights to see whats new in Skopje after 25 years:). Well if you like "historical" monuments Skopje is just a place you were searching for. Skopje is a bad taste capital of the world. In 500 meters you'll find 100 "historical" monuments built in last few years. Aleksandar the Great, Tsar Samuil, Ptu Guli....... new buildings ruining beautiful old city, refurbishment of soc-realistic buildings in to secession style etc... Madness!
Well hotel is not so bad.
+ location just few hundred meters from Stone bridge - real historical monument
+ room size just fine if you have room with balcony
+ friendly staff
- sleep quality: very noisy not only because of lot of clubs but mainly because of very noisy ventilation system very nearby
- not so clean
- very expensive internet 12E/day and you can buy same quality wifi for 1,5E in front of hotel!!!!
- food in Skopje was huge disappointment. Once it was a city with a lot of very good restaurants. Today - pizza, pasta, sandwich and if you insist on Macedonian cousin - well it's on your own risk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Skopje, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Alexa2706,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns about your recent stay with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for giving the location of our hotel a high score. Our hotel boasts its location because it's right in the city center near historical attractions. It pleases me that you found the staff friendly, the team works hard on developing their customer service skills, and I'm glad the hard work is starting to pay off. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience the noise may have caused during your stay. Your feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Again, thank you for your business and feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Coming to this hotel always feels a bit like coming home. Very friendly staff behind the reception. Rooms are big enough, and have a balcony at the backside. And right in the middle of town, yet easy to reach. Love this place!

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great location!

In the middle to everywhere. Close to the Great Alexander square. Near the mall. Near lot of restaurants.

At the hotel site it is written 8 euro per day for internet connection. The charge us for 12 euro.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn - Skopje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Skopje

Address: Mosa Pijade Street 2, Skopje 1000, Republic of Macedonia
Phone Number:
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Skopje Region > Skopje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Skopje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn - Skopje 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Skopje is situated in the heart of the city, next to the most important Government and administrative offices, shopping centres, theatres, museums and cinemas. The hotel is only 25 km far from the international airport Aleksandar Veliki and is most convenient for business as well as for leisure travellers.Holiday Inn Skopje offers 178 comfortable rooms and suites on 9 floors.Each room is equipped with bath, air conditioning system,mini bar,direct telephone line with voice mail system,computer sockets, internet access, satellite and pay TV.One room is specially designed and equipped for disabled persons.Feel the pleasant atmosphere of the restaurant Iris and enjoy the tasty international dishes or try the Macedonian meals and wines at the national restaurant Ogniste .The Aperitif Bar is ideal meeting place offering a variety of domestic and international beverages, coffees and snacks.The Meeting Network Programme has been developed to make your meeting run as smoothly as possible.The hotel has 8 different conference halls with capacity for up to 700 persons,with natural daylight and excellent technical support.The business centre is open 24 hours, offering workstations, printers, fax machine and HS Wirreless internet access After a long business day, you can relax at the Hotel sauna or gym. Or you can try your luck in the magic world of Le Grand Casino! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - Skopje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Skopje Hotel Skopje
Skopje Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn - Skopje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.