We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Restaurant

Chateau Restaurant
131 River Rd, Andover, MA 01810
(978) 687-2442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 55 Restaurants in Andover
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

A bit like an earlier review... I found the service very good & the waitress was very pleasant & chatty. The venue offers good surroundings but I thought the pizza was nothing special & was served on a hard plastic plate! It was however a very cheap deal maybe that's why?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    35
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and bar/ lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Chateau is always a great place to meet up for drinks after work. The food is also very good here!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.paul
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very friendly service, food was fine but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were treated as family by the staff, though we'd never been there before. While trying to decide whether to order the "wine of the month" our server brought us each a taste before we committed. Good thing, we ordered the Malbec instead, which was good and reasonably priced.

I had the salmon, and asked that it not be overcooked, specified medium rare if possible, It came out barely seared, definitely rare. I was going to eat it anyway as it was edible, but server took it back to kitchen and nuked it. That was an improvement, which doesn't say much about the initial preparation.

So...if in the neighborhood and you want a place where you are treated well but you aren't expecting haute cuisine, this might be your place!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Lasagne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have been to all but one of the Chateau Restaurants and it is remarkable how consistent the food is from one to the other.
I love their lasagne, my wife loves the chicken parmigiana.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Only went to the bar. Nice quiet atmosphere. Friendly staff and a nice interior more in tune with mature people who just want to relax in a pleasant ambiance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chateau Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.