We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long waits for an average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Restaurant

Chateau Restaurant
131 River Rd, Andover, MA 01810
(978) 687-2442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 55 Restaurants in Andover
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Long waits for an average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Expect a long wait, especially on the weekend. Food is good, depending what you get. My husband loved the fried ravioli and his lasagna. My chicken parm was average. Our server was not overly friendly, or super efficient...never got a basket of bread or refills on our water.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    35
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Server didnt know the menu!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner here and I ordered the Tuscan shrimp dish. On the menu it says "grilled shrimp served with mixed vegetables and rice florentine". This meal does not include a side, But when I ordered, the server asked me what I wanted for my side so I said pasta. So it came out and all that was on my plate was a shrimp skewer and a tiny bowl of plain pasta with a little marinara sauce. I asked her where the veg and rice florentine was and she said that I asked for the pasta instead. I didn't, but oh well, I'm not gonna argue. For $17.50 that was TERRIBLE. Will never return. Waitstaff should understand the fairly basic simple menu.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wonderful desserts ,great entree choices ,pleasant wait staff .What else could one wish for ? Can't wait to come back again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great place to take the family to dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great Italian Cuisine and sea food. Family atmosphere. Great wait staff, make you feel at home except you don't have to do dishes when your done. Italian sausages to die for.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Will go back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The location is great, the staff were attentive, the food was excellent and the prices were very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chateau Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.