We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant with great deserts and fun music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salvatore

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Salvatore
34 Park Street, Andover, MA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 55 Restaurants in Andover
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
York, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with great deserts and fun music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This family-style restaurant had good food, and deserts were among the best I've had! Service is indeed slower than I would like but staff were pleasant and attentive. We enjoyed our time there, especially considering that we were celebrating a graduation from nursery school...it is a very kid-friendly place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Worst risotto in decades”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I've no idea how they concocted this sacrilege to risotto. I can only imagine that it was out of a can or a huge pot of prepped yukkiness to be doled out to unsuspecting guests throughout an evening. Unfortunately, pretentious Andover diners lack taste buds and accept such crap at such high prices. Management comped meal, but doubt if they will actually do anything to correct this crime against food. Easier to keep high margins and comp the occasional discerning diner who dares speak up. Not a bad business model.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Service is horribly slow. We place our order before the couple next to us was seated. They were finished their entrees before ours were even served. When the waitress checked on the other table, my husband asked where our food was. She said the kitchen was backed up. Then she came back & told us that the pork chop had a 30 minute cook time. It would have been nice to know that when we ordered and at that point it had been over 45 minutes so we should have food. She came back yet again to say it would be 12 more minutes. I told her I thought that was excessive. She offered to bring us salad to tide us over. When we finally got our entrees, over an hour had gone by. Its too bad the service was terrible because my husband really liked the pork chop & the baby octopus appetizer special. My pasta was just ok. The manager comped the appetizer. It was our first visit and our last.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“OK food, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Décor good, service ok, food acceptable. However, this is overpriced for the quality. Due to lack of good restaurants in the area, they can charge high prices.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, MA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Food is good, prices high, portions small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is very nice and cozy for a cold winter night. We ordered drinks and an appetizer of fried calamari. Both were good. I ordered the chicken parm and my husband, the fisherman s platter. The chicken parm doesn't come with pasta, it was an extra charge. For 20$ , a handful of ziti should be added. My husbands platter was good and the batter light. The portion size was small for $26 and there were 2 shrimp, one Piece of fish , some calamari and a few scallops and a big pile of French fries on the bottom.
The bill came to $80.
We probably won't return.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvatore also viewed

 

Been to Salvatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salvatore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.