We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta ES Suites Andover

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta ES Suites Andover to your Saves list
Sonesta ES Suites Andover
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Technology Drive, Andover, MA 01810   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Andover
Mukwonago, WI
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great value & hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Spacious suite....like an apartment. Great amenities! Nice towels and shampoos. Complimentary washing & dryer machines. They even have a complimentary dinner buffet along with their complimentary breakfast! Almost unbelievable! never stayed ln a place like this before. Great location off freeway...in for the night :)!

Room Tip: Convenient from freeway, complimentary washer, complimentary dinner along with breakfast, upscale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSAN33, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Andover, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you as a guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    56
    14
    5
    12
See reviews for
69
26
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Was on a motorcycle trip and found this place using Booking.com. We were surprise that there was vacancy still. The suite was clean and spacious with all the amenities required. The pool area is clean and wide enough. There is even three BBQ available. The only minus is the accoustics from the above floor (no concrete flooring). It is located in the wood and it is rather quiet in the aresa. There is also a free breakfast that is really good.

Would return anytime!

Ray

Room Tip: Top floor will be quieter. There is no SPA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSAN33, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Andover, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Ray,

We appreciate the feedback from your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel, and suggest that a higher floor would help to avoid noise from the rooms above you. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit the Andover area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights without any troubles. Checked into a suite that proved to be spacious, well equipped, reasonably clean and quite comfortable. A little confused as to why in this day and age there were old TV's in the room, but beyond that......no issues. Reasonably clean, saw some hairs on the bathroom floors but the cleaning staff were quite willing to clean up when asked. Good outdoor amenities, pool, basketball court, great bbq's. Decent location, quick to the highway and beyond, but not walking distance to anything interesting. It was hard to get the night front desk staff for some reason. Just left the front desk vacant...... kinda odd. We waiting about 7 minutes before anyone appeared. The gym is small, but has everything you'd need. Breakfast area was busy but it looked like all the staff were chipping in to help keep thing clean, and dishes whisked away by staff who did not appear to be normally assigned to that area. It was encouraging to see that type of team work. All, in all, we were quite pleased and would easily recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSAN33, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Andover, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know how your recent stay was. I apologize that you had to wait for an agent at the front desk. We strive to provide exceptional service for all of our guests, and we will be sure to address this with the front desk staff at our next meeting.

I do want to let you know that we will be undergoing a complete renovation beginning this fall, and we will be upgrading some of our dated technology as well as adding a fresh face to the hotel.

We hope that you will return to see the new Sonesta ES Suites when it is complete in 2014. We are sure you will love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked our room through a 3rd party (Expedia) and we were told upon check in that they prefer for their guests to not come through such a source. So this explains why the first room did not come with the bed of our choice. When we requested to be moved, they wanted to give us a smokers room, when we are non-smokers and my wife has asthma. When we said this was not acceptable, they moved us to a non-smokers room but on a smoking floor. When we tried unsuccessfully to get moved, we were told the hotel was sold out on a Tuesday night. Because we had paid in advance, the front desk was unable to refund money or adjust our rate. The a/c unit was not working properly and could not be used on a 90 degree day. Again, no adjustments could be made for this. When we discussed this with the front desk personnel, they said the hotel had just been acquired and that perhaps by October 2013, things would be better. The hotel is located in an industrial/office park. No real place to go and discover the surrounding area. Many families with multiple generations of relatives staying in one room; makes navigating the buffet difficult. You can hear guests watch TV and kids screaming from your room. Hotel is geared for families and not couples.

Room Tip: Stay off 3rd floor if you are a smoker. If you book through Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, etc. be pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSAN33, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Andover, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. I am very sorry that we were not able to accomodate your request for a non-smoking room. We will be completely renovating the hotel this fall, and will be 100% non-smoking starting next spring.

We do hope that you will return to try us out again as we update our hotel and provide a surprisingly comfortable environment for all of the guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very nice hotel. Rooms are suites with bedroom with TV and living room with TV. Nice set up as there is a microwave, fridge, stove---Bathroom nice. We had 2 rooms one for the girls and one for the boys. When we first checked in one of the rooms smelt of smoke and we informed the desk---they asked the guys if they wanted another room---they said no as they were all settled in, but just wanted to report the smell as they didn't want to be blamed for smoking. Also, when we checked the girl at the desk said I will try to get you 2 room close to one another. Well, we had rooms 202 and 222 which was as far apart as could be. Breakfast was great with many offerings. We were there Tuesday thru Thursday night so there was an evening reception each night. Wednesday night was great with cheeseburgers and hot dogs. The other nights they offer different types of salad. Soda was included with this. Housekeeping I thought was a little lacking. When we came back the second day it was obvious that the sink wasn't cleaned. Also, the girls rooms was right by the maid service room so we could hear them when they started.

Room Tip: make sure when booking not to get a room by maid service room. If you book more than 1 room, make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a five-night stay for us. When we booked this property, I was a bit surprised because I had never heard of it and had been staying in the area on multiple occasions. It turns out that this was a takeover for a Staybridge Suites- how long ago though, I'm not sure.

Upon entrance, the hotel has a very homey feel to it. There is a large meeting area with flat screen TV, basketball and tennis courts, a pool, a library, and a work room with two computers (one of which was broken most of the time we were there). In addition to a great complimentary breakfast (with all sorts of freshly prepared items, such as eggs, sausage/bacon, oatmeal, waffles, etc.) there is a complimentary "dinner" on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays. We didn't stay for the dinner, but my girlfriend saw it on the night we checked in and said it looked paltry; however, them offering it was a nice touch.

The room for the most part was great. It really was a suite, with a separate bedroom and two separate TVs. There was a full kitchen (minus oven), a desk, and a small couch as well. The hotel had free Internet which worked just fine throughout the stay. It also had free printing in the workroom downstairs.

A downside of the room included the fact that we were issued a handicapped room despite not being handicapped and not requesting it. I didn't see the other rooms, but I suspect that a lot of the discomfort we had with the room was specifically because it was a handicapped room; nearly everything was at floor level (i.e. the place to hang clothes only came up to my waist, dishes were not in cabinets but instead in a storage unit that only came up to my knees) and this was not pleasant, as both of us are fairly tall. In addition to this, there was absolutely no counter space in the bathroom- the porcelain on the sink sloped down so that everything set on it slid into the basin and the only other space provided was a short storage cart that again had to be bent down to be used and was below the level of the sink. On one morning, my girlfriend applied a spray on her legs and in nearly any other bathroom, the residue would have just gone to the towel on the floor or on the sink where it would have been easily wiped clean; here, it got all over the toiletries sitting on the cart, including my contact case and cleaning solution, which created days of nightmares with my contacts. In short, I really didn't appreciate being assigned the handicapped room (we had even made it a point to go out of our way to get to the hotel for a relatively early check-in at 5:00 pm to avoid being assigned this sort of room by default with a late-night midnight check in). Because we were rushing to get to the Sox game upon arrival, we didn't request a change upon check-in, although I suspect we would have been told that was the only room available. Another downside of the handicapped room was the weak shower spray from the removable shower head.

Old school TV sets were another downside of the room.

As a runner, things are a bit tough at this property. You're surrounded by busy roads with sometimes narrow shoulders and are right next to the 93 entrance. In addition, the terrain is extremely hilly, with sharp grades in places so if you're not used to it, you can get burnt out quickly. I discovered a loop that is about 4.5 to 5 miles- turn left onto River, take the first left, follow that down to Chandler and turn left, continue to North, turn left, then take back up to River, turn left and you'll be back at the hotel. Chandler, while narrow and twisty, had several runners on it and is signed as a bike route, so you should be good to go.

Overall, this property was pretty strong. I just wish we hadn't been assigned a handicapped room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSAN33, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Andover, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Mark,

We appreciate the feedback from your recent stay in Andover. We do offer a light meal in the evening for all of our guests Tuesday - Thursday. We try to offer a variety of items to please each guest and put a menu in the guest rooms to let them know which items are being served throughout the week.

I do apologize that the configuration of the one bedroom ADA accessible suite was not completely comfortable for you.

Thank you so much for recommending a running route for our guests. We do get many requests for the best routes to use.

We hope to have you as a guest in the future as we continue to renovate the building and offer new amenities for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was my first time staying at this location, and was very pleased with my stay! The staff at the front desk and breakfast area were very nice and helpful. I was really impressed by the food they put out at the evening reception, looked and tasted great! I would definitely recommend this property to my coworkers for our next meeting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Andover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Andover

Address: 4 Technology Drive, Andover, MA 01810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Andover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Andover
#4 Family Hotel in Andover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Andover 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within minutes of Boston, the award winning Sonesta ES Suites Andover is ideal for project teams, relocation, temporary housing, corporate housing, extended stay or leisure travelers alike. Our all-suite hotel features studio, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom/2 bath suites, all with full kitchens. We feature such attentive amenities as a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free everywhere wireless and DSL lines, complimentary laundry, a midweek corporate van shuttle, evening dinner reception Tues - Thurs with beer/wine available for sale, 24 hour business center, 24 Hour fitness center, 24 hour store on-site, heated outdoor pool, BBQ grills (summer BBQ's), sports court, courteous and professional guest service and several other extras that will make your stay a special one. Whether staying for business with Phillips Medical, Verizon, Raytheon, the IRS in Andover or any of the many corporations in our area, the Sonesta ES Suites is ideal. The hotel is also within minutes of Canobie Lake Park (ask about our summer package!), Tsongas Arena, the Verizon Center in Manchester NH, University of Massachusetts Lowell, Merrimac College and Phillips Academy. Within a short drive you will find Salem Massachusetts (Witch City), the coasts of Cape Ann and Southern New Hampshire or the excitement of Boston at the TD Banknorth Garden, Boston Convention Center, Faneuil Hall, Freedom Trail, Newbury Street or Fenway Park. We look forward to warmly welcoming you on your next stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Andover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Boston-Andover Hotel Andover
Staybridge Suites Andover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta ES Suites Andover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.