We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Walnut Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Walnut Inn
Save
You added Black Walnut Inn to your Saves list
1184 North Pleasant Street, Amherst, MA 01002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Amherst B&B and Inns
new york, ny
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The Black Walnut Inn is a very pretty and amazingly well kept property. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the proprietors really care about ensuring you have a wonderful stay. The breakfast is delicious - homemade jams, homemade muffins, and they use local, organic smokehouses for the bacon and the sausage, as well as local organic free range eggs. We stayed in a suite that was bigger than many NYC apartments, but had an opportunity to tour the house and view the other, more traditional rooms - which were also very spacious in comparison to most B&Bs. Other pluses - very convenient to town, has ample parking, and a really cool old barn on property. Marie is a very kind person and an excellent conversationalist. We highly, highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    20
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
32
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We stayed at the Black Walnut Inn for a long weekend. We were at UMass for a lacrosse tournament and had 3 teeneagers. The rooms were big with TV's and the breakfast was awesome. There is plenty of room for kids to run around outside - you could even set up a BBQ if you wanted for multiple families.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We just returned from 1 night at the Black Walnut Inn. We stayed in Uncle Bill's room where we found the accomodations spacious, comfortable and full of light. Marie, her son and the staff make everyone feel at home. The cooked-to-order breakfast with home baked breads and fresh juice could not be beat. The cost is also very reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at The Black Walnut Inn. The Inn and people are warm and inviting. The food is delicious and plentiful (including homemade cookies on the dining table when you come back in the evening). We very much enjoyed Marie the owner and her friendly staff. We were in Amherst for family weekend at the University of Massachusetts Amherst and enjoyed the breakfast conversation of the other guests who were mostly parents of students as well. The location was convenient to everything we wanted to do during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Such a great find! We were greeted with a note welcoming us (we arrived after office hours) and a couple of fresh cookies. The room was generously sized, charmingly decorated, and clean. The whole inn just reeks of New England. As a former longtime Bostonian resident now living on the west coast, this is EXACTLY what my husband and I were looking for to start our vacation.
We met our hostess the next morning at breakfast. She was busy but made all the guests feel welcome nonetheless. Loved that she served fresh baked apple pie - you know you're on vacation when you have pie for breakfast! Eggs and fresh muffins were all tasty. And the homemade bread and local sausage were delish as well. You won't leave the table hungry!
If we ever pass thru Amherst again, we'll definitely be staying at Black Walnut. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I reccomend that black walnut in to anyone seeking a comfortable place to relax with excellent service, convenient access to town center, and a great breakfast. Many homemade options for breakfast. Large selection!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Marie and Rachel were just what the doctor ordered for our family. The breakfasts were delicious, the rooms were large and comfortable and the two of them were very hospitable.

I was unsure about booking a B & B, since we were traveling with our teen-age daughter; however, she thoroughly it. We had connecting rooms, with a door in-between, and the feel of being in a private home.

One member of the family is a vegetarian and they were very wiling to accommodate us.

Amherst and the Black Walnut Inn are both beautiful.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Walnut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Walnut Inn

Address: 1184 North Pleasant Street, Amherst, MA 01002
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Walnut Inn, fronted by a stately Federal style brick home built in 1820, sits on acres of lawn shaded by tall black walnut trees. Located in historic North Amherst, we're just a few minutes from Amherst College, Deerfield Academy, UMass, and Hampshire College. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Walnut Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.