We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical French with bistro setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Albert

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chez Albert
27 S Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-2233
413-253-3811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 101 restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Enfield CT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Typical French with bistro setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food was as one would expect at a French bistro and was very good; some will find it a little pricey for the portions and, as is typical, everything is a la carte. The scallops were very good (4 scallops for the entree); the escargot appetizer was good but seemed lacking in robust flavor. The ambiance was very nice and their new location is larger than their old location but still quite small and intimate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    45
    16
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bernardston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An amazing French restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I came here for my fiance's birthday and it was amazing. The food was beyond excellent. They were able to accommodate my dietary restrictions (gluten free) and were able to steer me in the right direction when it came to which selection would be best even without gluten products being used.

My fiance loves the rose water martini that they serve here. His only disappointment was that they did not have the ingredients to make a sour apple martini. They also had an excellent wine selection.

I was very confused by some of the other reviews saying that it had a pub like atmosphere and no table linens. Maybe if you sat at the bar you might feel that way but the bar area does not really interfere with the dining area. There maybe be one or two tables that you can see the bar if you sat at them. And the lack of linens, the tables are made of copper sheets. It gives it an industrial feel. You wouldn't put linens on them.

Also the main picture and address are wrong. They moved to 178 N Pleasant St, Amherst. Past CVS and the Henion Bakery on the left.

I would highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best in Amherst”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you're looking for fine food in a quiet, tasteful atmosphere, then this is the best in Amherst. The prices are about the same as other Amherst/NoHo quality restaurants. Chez Albert has French food, oysters, and good wines.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wish for more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

When Chez Albert opened, it was one of the new "adult" places in town and served nice, well handled, if simple, food that was reasonably priced.

Now, it is just really over-priced. I find the food pretty meh, bland, uninteresting. Portions are tiny and the tasty parts of the dishes (sauces, etc.) are just a 1/2 a teaspoon on the plate.

The people are lovely, service is attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced good enough food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is one of Amherst's pricier establishments and so I had high expectations which were not met, unfortunately. Four of us sat at an outdoor table, which was pleasant. The service was not great. The food was absolutely tasty but the portions were miniscule. The main course of codfish appeared to be about 3 ounces and was accompanied by just about nothing. If you want a fancy night out, I'd recommend The Lumbar Yard or Bistro 63.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Albert also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Chez Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Albert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.