We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance and good will” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amherst Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amherst Inn
257 Main Street, Amherst, MA 01002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parent & Student Discount
Ranked #2 of 14 Amherst B&B and Inns
Arcata
2 reviews
“Ambiance and good will”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Unfortunately we could only spend one night at this delightful classic bed and breakfast. The quaint period furniture and the leisurely pace gave us a very welcome feeling.

Our hostess, Ann, had an awesome breakfast set out and it was delicious.

We'll be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    27
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
60
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I just traveled to Amherst with my mom and aunt to visit the Emily Dickinson Museum. We chose the Amherst Inn primarily because of its location directly across the street from Emily Dickinson. However, upon arrival, we immediately fell in love with the inn. The Inn is stunning inside and out. It is full to the brim with antiques and other little treasures. The Inn staff was incredibly accommodating. Our room was spotless and cozy and did I mention the breakfast?! The breakfast was divine. We plan on returning every year to stay. You ought to do the same! What a lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stay at the Amherst Inn, or its cousin down the street, the Allen House, several times a year when we visit our son who goes to school in Amherst. It is amazingly convenient: just a short walk to the center of town and Amherst College (The Allen House is a few blocks farther away.) Both inns are clean, nicely restored Victorian homes. The innkeepers treat us like friends. Breakfast is very good. There are several spots in both inns where you can sit outside on a balcony or porch and watch the parade of students up and down Main Street. One evening a pair of baby raccoons fearlessly entertained us while we drank champagne on the porch. The Amherst Inn is our home away from home when we're in Amherst.

Room Tip: While very nice, the rooms on the Main Street (front) of the house can be noisy from car traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montclair
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This Inn was, indeed, a 'find' for us. In just the 2 days we were thee, Ann and Allen just couldn't be more accomodating and each went out of the way to please! Since this trip was a literary adventure and Emily Dickinson the focal point, what more than to have our 2nd floor lovely and quaint room right across the street from Emily's Homestead and Everglades! Ann and Allen highlighted great spots of interest for us, and the sightseeing just outrageous! We must return! Breakfast is buffet and just terrific. This is a real gem! We're returning in the fall!

Room Tip: They are all clean, charming, and comfortable; check out their websight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

An authentic victorian B&B that was clean and cute. Grounds were well-cared for and the center of town was a short walk away. Emily Dickinson House is just across the street. Despite the record heat, the a/c kept the bedroom comfortable, although the downstairs was quite hot. Innkeepers were friendly, breakfast was filling, brochures and reading materials appreciated, and I would definitely return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have had the opportunity to spend several stays in Amherst over the Summer. We discovered the Amherst Inn and Allen House and we can't say enough about both of them.

They are both owned and operated by the same couple who restored both houses to their pristine late 18th century perfection - amazing wallpaper, hand painted/stenciled ceilings, moldings, antique furniture, carpets, stained woodwork, paintings and prints, books - it is simply breathtaking. It's the opportunity to visit a period museum except you get to live in it and sit in the chairs. Like others, we stayed in several rooms (and toured most of the rest) and it is an incredible experience.

The beds are extremely comfortable and the owners, Ann and Alan, are full of knowledge about the art and architecture and antigues of the late 19th century/early 20th century. The inns are their passion and they love to share it.

The Emily Dickinson museum is located across the street and central Amherst is just a few minute walk. We really enjoyed visiting the museum with it's two houses and wonderful guided tours, including a self-guided audio garden with readings of her poetry. It was so convenient that we actually visited it several times.

In our second trip the Amherst was full so we stayed at the Allan house. It is a little further down the road and a little less convenient to town so when it was first proposed we were apprehensive . However, once we saw it we were in awe - it is also immaculately restored and the rooms are simply stunning with each room based on a different late 19th century artist/designer. Now in our third trip we are there again and enjoying different rooms and just hanging out in our own museum.

So each house has it's charm - and be sure to experience both of them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed in several different rooms at the Amherst Inn for a month while waiting for my apartment to be ready. They were each different, with a unique set of elegant chairs, beds, desks, and other furniture, in traditional New England styles. The rooms are all spacious, clean, and air-conditioned, and have lightning-fast wireless internet connections. The rooms are very quiet when the doors are shut. The Amherst Inn is actually a large house, and in addition to their own private bedrooms and bathrooms, guests also have access to the house's large, beautifully furnished living room, dining room, and kitchen. Every morning a bountiful complimentary breakfast is served, with just about every kind of breakfast food imaginable, including fresh fruit salad, pancakes, eggs, French toast, sausages, ham, several kinds of cereal, granola, and oatmeal, bananas, apples, milk, yogurt, tea, coffee, orange juice, etc. The owners and staff are very friendly and considerate. The Amherst Inn is located on a quiet, tree-lined street, right across the street from the Emily Dickinson House, and a short walk from all the restaurants and stores in downtown Amherst, and to Amherst College and the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who needs a place to stay in Amherst.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amherst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Inn

Address: 257 Main Street, Amherst, MA 01002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Amherst Hotel Amherst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amherst Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amherst Inn to your Saves list