We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reputation Well Deserved in Amherst!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro63 at Monkey Bar Grill

Bistro63 at Monkey Bar Grill
63 North Pleasant Street, Amherst, MA 01002
413-259-1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 104 Restaurants in Amherst
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Sleek, modern atmosphere with full service bar serving fusion East meets West cuisine. Additional dining room with bar for special events for up to 80 guests. Covered deck for outdoor dining.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Reputation Well Deserved in Amherst!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Quiet Sunday afternoon on the back patio... luncheon menu... we had a delicious chicken parm concoction along with three blackened fish dishes, one haddock, one tuna, and one sword fish. All three tender and cooked to perfection! Excellent! All were beautifully garnished with a tasty, cheesy rice side. Owner/chef was on hand for lunch. I've never had better fish entres in Amherst. Drinks good and bountiful, Gellati and a creme brulle (sp?) were devoured afterwards. Server Rachel was the best! Quite unusual for Amherst.

Location is central, across from the fire station, parking in the back (patio stairway access). Web menu needs an update. Prices are marginally expensive but for the food experience, well worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    48
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MA
1 review
“Perfect!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I wanted to see why this restaurant was rated #1 in Amherst, and after having finally tested it out, I totally agree! From the service, to the atmosphere to the delicious food served and finally the post dinner greeting by the chef...It was exactly what I wanted in my visit to Amherst.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than my Italian Grandma's sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful food, drinks and service!!
My daughter had their knocchi with vodka sauce and I swear it was better than my Italian Grandma's (shhhh, don't tell her).

Amherst is an adorable little town and we are glad we picked this wonderful restaurant.

Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful eclectic restaurant in downtown Amherst”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Monkey Bar and Grill is a relaxed and friendly place; not the least bit pretentious or stuffy. Yet the food is amazing and the service is knowledgeable and attentive. The owner and chef, Mauro Aniello, previously ran two hugely successful Italian restaurants in Amherst; first La Cucina del Pinochio and later La Piazza. Mauro still prepares wonderful Italian classics, including a variety of fresh and authentic pastas that rival what one might find in the best trattorias in Italy. But he also brings his remarkable talent to create an eclectic mix of exciting new dishes. A personal favorite is a Japanese inspired sesame encrusted tuna in a superb hoi sin sauce, which can stand up to the best Pacific rim style seafood dishes that my wife and I have had in the finest restaurants in Hawaii and New York. Other personal favorites include Mauro’s varying ways of presenting venison and braised short ribs. For occasional changes, we’ve also enjoyed Mauro’s new and varying weekly specials, which are always delicious and beautifully presented, as are all his dishes. There is an extensive wine list to choose from, but to ease the choice Mauro recommends wine pairings on the menu, and the informed staff can also be counted on to advise. Claire, Mauro’s wife and hostess, assures that all goes well. As a long-time Amherst resident, I believe that if you are looking for a high quality, special dining experience in the Five College region, you will not be disappointed with The Monkey Bar and Grill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistently excellent meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We go to the Monkey Bar about once a month - the dishes are consistently delicious. My favorite is the sesame charred tuna with wasabi mashed potatoes. When you ask for the tuna rare - it truly is. And the hoi sin glaze is scrumptious - I crave this dish! In addition the owners are very accommodating and friendly. Megan - the bartender - is amazing. I don't know how she does it - makes the drinks and serves a full bar meals and drinks. She remembers you and what you like - always with a smile and grace.
DEFINITELY worth a visit or two or three. Seafood risotto, tapenade, fresh oysters, Mmmmmmmm.......

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro63 at Monkey Bar Grill also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Bistro63 at Monkey Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro63 at Monkey Bar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.