We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap authentic Mexican Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Veracruzana Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Veracruzana Mexican Restaurant
63 S Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-2233
413-253-6900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 103 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Cheap authentic Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

La Veracruzana is a reliable, inexpensive restaurant with authentic Mexican food - as good as any similar restaurant I have eaten in in Mexico. Minimal atmosphere: you order at the counter and pick up your food when your name is called.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Neddick, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Extensive menu.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Wow... you just have to sit and read it all. Settled on the Enchilada Especial with Choriço. Muy bien! Limited selection of beers, so a Dos Equis Amber was the choice. Their house picante sauce was flavorful, if tuned to Gringo. Meal plus beer and 25% tip: $14
Service prompt, conversation at the counter in English, to the chef in Spanish.
I'm not as-rusty as I though!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stopped here on our trip to Northampton. The food was very good and the prices were extremely reasonable. I'd recommend this restaurant for a quick lunch in casual surroundings. We'll definitely be back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“If you want good Mexican food, don't bother with Amherst/Northampton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I've eaten here a number of times, but only because friends wanted to. I do like that there's one place in Amherst and Noho where we can get horchata (rice drink with cinnamon) and pupusas (Salvadoran corn masa "dumplings" with cheese filling). The fried platanos are good, too, but everything else I've had there is just average. Eating here makes me long for the Southwest, where you can find good New Mexican and Tex-Mex cuisine!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in town for years...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

excellent menu, lots of choices for everyone in the family... simple yet elegant! the self serve salsa bar is a highlight too!!! flavors for all taste buds ;) I've gone here for years and never have been disappointed... maybe when I've eaten too much... hours later!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Veracruzana Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to La Veracruzana Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veracruzana Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.