We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Return Trips to Judie's in 2014...Still One of the Best Places to Eat in Amherst” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Judie's

Judie's
51 N Pleasant St, Amherst, MA 01002-1702
(413) 253-3491
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 89 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Two Return Trips to Judie's in 2014...Still One of the Best Places to Eat in Amherst”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Had the pleasure of dining at Judie's twice already in 2014, once because of a generous gift card I received for Christmas and the second time for one of my daughter's birthdays. Still loving the delicious food, great service, and cozy atmosphere.

Try the sparklers. These inventive fruit based drinks in sugar rimmed glasses with a split of champagne or prosecco on the side are a special addition to your meal. They pack a punch, so dine leisurely, eat plenty of food, and savor a rich, hot cup of coffee with one of their homemade desserts.

Everything was perfectly cooked and delicious. Popovers to die with with homemade apple butter, over the top yummy desserts like sticky toffee pudding cake, fresh salads with house dressing and a sprinkle of crunch almonds, and entrees like the drunkin' scallops with tender scallops and pasta soaking up a beer infused sauce.

Check out my pictures. Everything was as good as it looked.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    116
    37
    27
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I've lived in Amherst since 1990, and have dined at Judi's on several occasions. Women like meet for lunch or dinner there a lot, and it is the place many of my out of town friends want to go when they visit here. In my opinion Judi's is overrated. The tables are crowded so that you can hear your neighbor's conversation, and they can hear yours. The food is just ok. There are a lot of choices on the menu, but there is nothing to rave about. Everyone loves the popovers, and if you like popovers, these are pretty good. The salads are huge with some strange combinations of ingredients and loads of lettuce that is not always crisp. There is usually a long line to get a table, and I just don't understand why when there are so many other good choices in Amherst.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A BIG FAVORITE WITH US!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have no words for how much I love this place. the atmosphere is fantastic. the service is outstanding...we have even spoken with the owner on occasion just because she is out on the floor checking on things. There are gluten-free options and the food is out-of-this world. I highly suggest the red sangria!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I've been going here at least 6 times a year since 1995. I live pretty far from here and would always make the trip for the great food and very good prices. However, portions and overall food quality have decreased considerably. Prices have skyrocketed. I kept going back hoping for the great food I remembered. It's become very evident those days are gone..... Very sad.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Judie's is in a perfect location in the center of town with metered parking in the back. The ambience is pleasant, welcoming and lively. The window tables are especially delightful. Judie's is a fun place to be and therefore is usually crowded. Judy herself is often present in the evening and greets her guests at the tables.
The food is average and combinations of multiple ingredients are sometimes odd. The menu is too busy and long. There is a wide variety. The service is generally good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Judie's also viewed

Amherst, Hampshire County
 
Amherst, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Judie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Judie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.