We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True B&B Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Purple Gables
Save
You added Purple Gables to your Saves list
232 East Pleasant Street, Amherst, MA 01002   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Amherst B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“True B&B Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Although just a brief visit, we couldn't have asked for a more attentive, warm and interested host. Lynda went out of her way to make us feel right at home even though we were tired after a long days drive including catching the last tour at Emily Dickinson's house. It was delightful to relax in the impressive flower-filled rear garden chatting about our travels with someone who was also genuinely curious about the Australia beyond advertising campaigns (hope you are still planning that trip, Lynda). Great dinner recommendation and her sumptuous breakfast kept us fueled for the next day.
She is host who goes the extra mile for her guests. Thank-you Lynda!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
11
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Do I even need to chime in with yet another 5 star review for Lynda?? Purple Gables is lovely, conveniently located, tastefully decorated, and yes, the breakfasts are superb. Our family of 4 was very comfortable here, with one kid on the sofa bed and one in the private single room. But the best part is having such a personality-filled and gracious host, who is warm and service-oriented, personable but not intrusive, just a genuinely kind person who wants you to have a wonderful time in Amherst, which we did. Thanks, Lynda!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Lynda really looks after her guests! The suite is really comfortable and the property is very convbeniently located for the town. The breakfasts are superb and very large - you can easily miss out on lunch!
However the warmth of welcome from Lynda and her family was great. She was also very helpful in suggesting places to visit that we would not have found without her advice.
We hope to return and would certainly recommend Purple Gables to our friends.

Bruce & Sue, Hoddesdon, UK

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I consider myself an avid traveler with a discerning eye for excellence and I was not disappointed at Purple Gables, with host Lynda Faye. From the accommodations (aesthetically pleasing and comfortable decor), to soft luxurious linens, palette pleasing gourmet 3 course breakfasts...but the best part of all was the graciousness and great humor of the host, Lynda. It all added up to an unforgettable experience for all of us Amherst (only the "h" is silent by the way) first timers! Do yourself a favor and just go!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here, like many, doing the college tour, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lynda is an extremely gracious, thoughtful, and accommodating hostess. When my kids mentioned they weren't fans of eggs, she kindly offered to make them French toast. The food was absolutely delicious, her company most enjoyable, the suite lovely and with all the comforts of home. Should our adventures bring us back to the Amherst area, we all will most definitely seek out a stay at Purple Gables.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Lynda has a real gift for hospitality--she's so smart and thoughtful and detail-oriented--and she's a terrific cook and has an admirable sense of aesthetics as well, all of which add up to a top-notch B&B experience. Other reviewers have already done a great job of praising Lynda and the Purple Gables (and I concur with all their accolades), so I'll just add a few details that might be useful to prospective guests. Though the address is on Pleasant Street, it's on an auxiliary loop parallel to the main road so that the traffic noise is muted. The inn is an easy 3/4 mile walk from the center of town. The twin bed in a small separate room makes Purple Gables an excellent choice for parents touring the area with a prospective college student (when we did the college tour a few years back, our poor daughter spent way too many miserable nights on sofabeds, which seem to be the B&B default for an additional guest). The preschooler toys in the closet and little boxes of cereal on a shelf suggest that a young child would feel equally welcome here. The suite is an in-law unit attached to the main house (albeit with a separate entrance), so you might occasionally hear people talking in the adjacent room, which we found companionable, but I can imagine guests wanting to feel more private. Whoever you are, Lynda will do her utmost to make you feel welcome, and there are not many innkeepers of her calibre.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Where do I begin? Lynda is so warm and inviting, the accomodations were wonderful, very spacious and clean, breakfast was delightful! Lynda had crackers and cheese waiting for us upon our arrival- delicious! She really pays attention to every little detail to make your stay special- I must have mentioned that my husband and I were coming for an overnight stay to celebrate my brithday when I spoke with her on the phone. Upon arrival, she presented a cake from a local bakery for my birthday-- SO thoughtful! I would stay here again without a second thought and would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is traveling through the Amherst area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Purple Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Gables

Address: 232 East Pleasant Street, Amherst, MA 01002
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, elegant, no-smoking suite in historic home. Walk to town, UMass and Amherst College. Sunny large suite with private porch entrance, dining area, sitting room, queen bed, second private bedroom, garden, patio. Gourmet breakfast served in your suite. Amenities include WIFI, TV, DVD, fridge with snacks, microwave, bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer, and much more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.