We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE TO STAY WHEN VISITING UMASS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel UMass

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel UMass to your Saves list
Hotel UMass
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
north salem, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE TO STAY WHEN VISITING UMASS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited UMass for a campus tour and stayed at the hotel which was conveniently located in the building where the tour began. From the moment we entered the hotel we understood the service was exemplary. There was always an individual opening the door from the car garage to greet us. The desk staff was incredibly helpful with directions to town and dining recommendations. At breakfast they ran out of danish, bagels and muffins (due to the Northeastern Hockey Team!) but the employee went to another facility to obtain more for my daughter and her friend. The room was nicely appointed and clean. The front desk even called up after we checked in to see if we needed anything. The only problem was that our room faced the pond where there was a great deal of construction going on. When you stay there ask for the other side of the building.

Room Tip: Ask for the side of the building away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Merjoe,

I am so pleased you chose to stay with us while visiting the campus. We take great pride in providing exemplary customer service. I am sorry that you visited us on a busy breakfast morning but am pleased the staff was able to take care of your daughter and her friend. We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    111
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
137
36
19
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I graduated from UMass Amherst and I wanted to stay at the hotel to attend an event. The Umass Hotel was clean, neat, and very elegant. The breakfast in the morning was good and organic food options were available. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Nathalie R,

I want to thank you for staying with us at the UMass Hotel and Conference Center. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the bed was excelent confortable, although the room size is little small than regular but it was clean and confy. The hotel was sitting in the middle of campus but peaceful. We definately come again.

Room Tip: higher floors have excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear phan_shu,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to our UMass Hotel and Conference Center. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My family stayed at this property for two nights while attending a campus event for the second year in a row. You can't beat the location if you need to be on the U Mass Amherst campus since the hotel is in the middle of it. The rooms are clean and functional with nice bathroom amenities, working HVAC, K-pod coffee maker, and free Wi-Fi. There is free breakfast and coffee all day in the lobby, with a nice selection of both. The staff was helpful and accommodating. The downsides were too hard beds and a nightly charge for a small fridge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Use-2-love2-travel,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the UMass Hotel and Conference Center. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I appreciate your recommendations about the comfort of the beds and about the small fridges. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had always wanted to stay at this hotel and was excited to finally get my chance when I needed to find a place out of the snow. The hotel is extremely well kept and very modern. I love the HD televisions and the great views. The rooms are immensely clean and very well furnished. I was very warm and cozy in my room as the snow came down hard. The bell hop staff in the garage are very helpful and friendly as they helped me check in. The desk staff is one of the best I have ever seen. Professional and full of knowledge about their hotel and campus. They answered every question with ease. The housekeeping staff is also very friendly and quick to offer any assistance needed. The management of the UMASS Hotel and Conference Center should be commended for such a pleasant stay. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Stay as often as you can or as often as you need to. My business will be bringing me back quite a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Doug K,

I am delighted that you weathered Snow Storm Nemo with us. It is always pleasant to have such wonderful guests stay with us, especially under such extreme conditions. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. Right on campus, clean, friendly and green. We were there for a college visit and found the staff to be very helpful. The rooms were wonderful. Easy to get to where we needed to go. We would go back there in a heartbeat.
Some places just make you feel good. This was one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Front Office Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Deborah G,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the UMass Hotel and Conference Center. It is always a pleasure to hear back from our guest. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Pro:
the rooms are very nice, CLEAN, and spacious.
amazing location
Lobby was ok
Cons:
Parking is awful. you have to go into a parking garage, walk through a tunnel that looks like someones been shot in, then scramble through a maze of students going throughout their day,a and finally go upstairs..
The breakfast was nothing special. Just some boring food served by one girl who wasn't too attentive.


I heard that this hotel was run by students, however it appears that only management runs it. The students looked too afraid to make a decision! Every time something out of the ordinary came up, they had to get a supervisor, from reservations to checkout!!

I spoke to a lady who is the manager and she was very nice. we spoke for a long time the first day. The next morning during breakfast however, I saw her screaming at one of her employees right in front of everyone! The poor girl looked like she was going to cry. Then not even 10 minutes later it happened again, but to a boy! Very poor management. She should be embarrassed and fired. I understand that sometimes an employee needs to be told they are doing something wrong, but not screamed at in the lobby!

Overall it was an ok stay, even though the cons out weighed the pros.

Room Tip: Don;t bother staying unless you aren't going to be spending much time in the hotel. I dont like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, General Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Robert K,
Thank you for sharing your impressions and experience with us. We are always trying to improve our service and take all comments seriously and into consideration. We want our staff to be confident and competent and will strive to improve our training and supervision.
Sincerely, David O'Connor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel UMass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel UMass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.