We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel UMass

Save Saved
You added Hotel UMass to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel UMass
1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Amherst
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed there one night for a campus tour. Reservation staff and Front desk staff were excellent. Very professional, friendly, and helpful. Rooms were spacious, clean, and in excellent condition. Location is perfect if visiting UMass. A little expensive overall, but would stay here again for the convenience to campus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umasshotel123, Manager at Hotel UMass, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Mebstick,
I want to thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at the UMass Hotel at the Campus Center. It is always a pleasure to hear that our staff is providing excellent service to our guest. I also appreciate you taking the time to let us know about our rates, we are constantly working to improve our overall guest experience and only through our guest advice can we do this. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your guest experience and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    95
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
125
34
17
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baiting Hollow, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were visiting some schools in the area so the location was ideal-right in the heart of the UMass Campus. There is a lot of construction going on so our view wasn't what I had hoped it would be but in every other way, the hotel was great. We'll definitely go back if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here two nights for a wedding. I'm pleasantly surprised by what a nice experience it was. It was clean, modern and well run. The students who staffed the front desk and other jobs were just delightful and eager to please. This hotel is part of the school's hospitality traing program I imagine. I'm tickled to death that the staff could have very well been my own children working hard and diligently in their chosen profession and take their jobs seriously.

Some minuses were that the elevators were around the corner from the front desk and thus out of view so the staff were not able to screen who comes and go. I had to wake up at 3 am to tell some inotxicated college kids who were wandering the hall to quiet down. The elevators also access the lower floor parking garage where the student union and busy corridor are located so that the general public would have unrestricted to the hotel facility.

Overall, it was a positive experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Quite simply a clean, nicely appointed, well run hotel. The room size and bathroom is really no different than other nicer chains, but location within the campus is the main draw. Worth a stay if traveling to the area or University.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had a busy few days moving my daughter into her dorm room. It was nice to know we had the support of a great staff at the hotel. Our room was always clean, the television worked and featured local channels that gave me a sense of the community where my daughter will now be living. Would have been nice to soak in a jacuzzi or get a massage after the move in experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I have found this hotel to be cleaner and more up to date than some of the others in this area. The beds are comfy and there is free wifi and flat screen tvs. The rooms facing the campus library have a lovely view. I appreciate the continental breakfast with hard boiled eggs from a local farm, pastries and organic oatmeal. As other reviewers mention, it can be a bit confusing to find the first time. The entrance is through a parking garage in the center of the UMass campus.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The reservation staff, particularly Tina, was efficient, professional, personable and a fine example of what salesmanship should be. The staff are friendly and patient. They have understanding and compassion for parents of freshmen. The hotel and rooms were clean and the window allowed much sunlight to brighten the room. The a/c worked great, especially on those hot days. The renovation was thoughtout and well designed. Couldn't be more appreciative of the location and parking. Will try to stay at this hotel every visit. Thank you UMass Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the hotel side that does not overlook the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel UMass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel UMass

Address: 1 Campus Center Way, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003 (Formerly Campus Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated the best hotel in Amherst, and seated in the center of the picturesque UMass Amherst campus, Hotel UMass blends a tranquil countryside escape with the bustling energy of campus life, making it your ideal destination when staying in the area. During your stay at Hotel UMass, you will have access to the distinctive cultural atmosphere of one of the nation’s top universities, while remaining only minutes to historic downtown Amherst, allowing you to discover the magic of the Pioneer Valley. The breathtaking views from your guestroom alone will allow you to appreciate the natural beauty of scenic New England.During your stay, you will enjoy first-class accommodations and exceptional service. We offer university guests, conference attendees, parents, students, local and corporate travelers and alumni an exceptional Hotel UMass experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel UMass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umass Hotel At The Campus Amherst
Campus Center Amherst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel UMass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.