We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue, lovely green roof” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Jeffery Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Jeffery Inn to your Saves list
Lord Jeffery Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Boltwood Ave., Amherst, MA 01002   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF W/PROMO CODE:TRIP
Ranked #3 of 14 Amherst B&B and Inns
Devens, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great venue, lovely green roof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Nesteled in the heart of Amerst the Lord Jeff Inn is well worth the visit. In walking distance of the vibrant downtown and lively night life, the hotel boast a wonderful restaurant and a beautiful green roof. Waking up and looking out the window at it was a tonic for the soul.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your thoughtful remarks! Everyone here at The Lord Jeff truly appreciates your review of both the hotel and our restaurant, 30Boltwood. We are so thrilled you chose to stay with us during your time in Amherst and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    42
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
83
64
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Metrowest Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

What a surprise. I am attending a professional conference being held at The Lord Jeffery Inn. I knew nothing about it before arrival. I booked a queen room at the conference rate. What a gem!

My room is a bit small but perfect for just me. I think a couple would do well as long as you know the rooms aren't huge. My room has a gas fireplace and it's a corner room so the natural light is amazing.

The bed and all the furnishings are top notch. I even noticed the window treatments. Perfect. The bathroom is bright and fresh. Not huge but perfectly appointed.

The atmosphere here at the Inn is comfortable yet elegant. Fresh and updated while maintaining its historic charm. The grounds are beautiful. Looks a perfect location for a wedding.

All in all, I would love to return here. Downtown amherst is great to walk around and right now it's quiet since colleges are in summer mode.

Room Tip: I had a corner room with a fireplace. Cozy but perfect. Natural light was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful and favorable review of our interiors. We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Lord Jeffery Inn. Surprises such as luxurious accommodations and downtown charm always make traveling for business much more enjoyable!

All the best,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this Inn recently as part of a college your for my daughter. We had never before heard of the Inn but we were pleasantly surprised.

The location is perfect. Right off the green, walking distance to the shops and restaurants, and literally across the street from Amherst.

The public spaces are beautiful. Everything is beautifully updated and/or restored, the furnishings are perfect, and there was a blazing fire to greet us.

The rooms too are beautiful. Brand new marble bathrooms. Spacious and very, very comfortable rooms. We had a suite and a room with a queen sized bed. And both had more than enough space.

I am now crossing my fingers that she gets accepted to Amherst and decides to attend so that I can return again and again to the Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Our fingers will be crossed for you and your daughter as well! We’re thrilled that you had the pleasant surprise of finding our Inn and that you look forward to returning. Just think – drop offs and pick-ups, family weekends, graduations, and reunions.

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Lord Jeffery Inn, and for sharing your favorable remarks about our service and interiors with the Trip Advisor Community.

Best of luck with the rest of the application process!

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We cannot say enough about the exceptional hospitality at The Lord Jeffrey Inn. The staff were a pleasure to talk to and were well informed about the area.

Overall we had a wonderful experience.
Please note that we did not comment on the pool or spa since we did not make use of them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your favorable reviews on The Lord Jeffery Inn. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience on your most recent visit to Amherst.

We will look forward to offering the same excellent hospitality on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were visiting for our son's graduation from UMass this weekend. The central location in Amherst was a definite plus, as were the beautifully appointed common rooms and outside areas with gas-fed fireplaces and fire pits. Our suite (room 316) was accessible only from the back elevator, and then you had to go down 4 steps and back up another 6. Quirky and a bit awkward with rolling luggage.
We are used to a few more amenities in our room... like a coffee maker. The Lord Jeff compensated by having a coffee service in the main lobby starting at 6 am. I am a ridiculously early riser, and the front desk staff accommodated me by brewing a pot even earlier.
Also, we are used to having two tv sets when we have a suite, plus more than one wastepaper basket, and more than two glasses. (Especially since our kids stayed with us.)

We had one meal at the 30 Boltwood restaurant. The selection was a bit limited, and it's pricey. Only one fish dish and one vegetarian dish on the menu, but each item we chose was well-prepared and delicious. Individual glasses of wine can be had, either 4 ounce or 8 ounce sizes.

I enjoyed reading the New York Times each morning in the library by the fireplace, and was pleased with the small but effective workout center. The Inn is beautiful, the staff was helpful. But now that our son has graduated, we probably won't have a reason to return.

Room Tip: The rooms (suites) on the west wing are not on the same level as the elevator, you have to go down a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with The Lord Jeffery Inn on your last visit to Amherst, and for leaving a review for future travelers. We appreciate your positive remarks on the cuisine in 30Boltwood, and will be sure to review our staffing procedures during breakfast service to be sure that we are meeting all the needs and expectations of our guests.

We also thank you for your remarks on our overnight interiors. As an Inn that was built in 1926, we have many of the unique qualities being a historic inn. One of which is that each of our rooms has distinct characteristics. No two rooms are alike, some having unexpected stair cases, cozy quarters, and unique architecture. Upon your next visit, please feel free to talk further with our front desk agents, who will be more than happy to personally assist you and your guests in finding the right room that can satisfy all of your needs.

Our goal at 30Boltwood is to present local products, simply prepared, as to enhance the natural flavors of the product itself. With your feedback, we are able to make changes and adjustments to keep the pace of the changing needs of our guests. Beginning June 1, a brand new bar menu was introduced, offering a larger variety of farm to table cuisine. We are pleased to hear that you did enjoy your selections!

We are very grateful that you and your family chose to celebrate this special occasion with us and we hopefully we see you again, for a reunion or future trip to Western Massachusetts.

Thank you again for choosing The Lord Jeffery Inn.

Cheers,

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

My daughter's wedding at the Lord Jeff went beautifully. Everyone tried their best to anticipate all of our unforeseen needs. It is a perfect setting for a wedding and our guests had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Congratulations on your daughter’s recent nuptials! We are thrilled that we could be part of her special day, and that we were able to exceed her expectations. We are also so pleased to hear that you and your guests enjoyed the celebration. (We love weddings!)

All the best wishes,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have stayed at this inn many times over the past 20 years, and always enjoyed the experience. The only issue we had was with parking. There was some type of loud, crowded event going on on the green and parking spots were nowhere to be found. As a guest of the inn, I would think there would be enough spaces set aside for guests, but that was not the case. For the price we paid, that should be a non-issue. Still, our overall stay was very pleasant.

Room Tip: rooms toward the back of the inn are much more quiet than ones facing the green
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your continued support of The Lord Jeffery Inn, and for choosing to stay with us upon your visits to Amherst. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty.

Amherst is a bustling little town, isn’t it? On many weekends throughout the spring and summer, our town green is rich with activity, from fundraising carnivals, books sales, to farmers markets and local festivals. While this does put a strain on town parking, the Inn does maintain a dedicated parking lot for our overnight guests. We will be sure to monitor this lot better for the convenience of our own guests.

We thank you again for visiting us, and for your feedback.
Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Jeffery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jeffery Inn

Address: 30 Boltwood Ave., Amherst, MA 01002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Jeffery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely renovated and offers modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm to table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar. The Library, Rooftop Terrace & exterior Gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 250. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Lord Jeffery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jeffery Hotel Amherst
Lord Jeffery Inn Amherst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Jeffery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.