We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Utterly Charming and Captivating Inn in Amherst” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Jeffery Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Jeffery Inn to your Saves list
Lord Jeffery Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Boltwood Ave., Amherst, MA 01002   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF W/PROMO CODE:TRIP
Ranked #3 of 14 Amherst B&B and Inns
Wethersfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An Utterly Charming and Captivating Inn in Amherst”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, together with amazing service, beautifully appointed guest rooms, a terrific restaurant, magnificent grounds and location and unbeatable value make Lord Jeffery Inn a winner. You can't go wrong booking a visit to this gem of a destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I’m so glad to read your complimentary review of The Lord Jeffery Inn, and to hear that you are looking forward to staying with us again in the near future. Thank you for choosing The Lord Jeffery Inn.

See you again soon!

Best,
Amanda Malone
Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    42
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
83
64
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Hadn't been in the Lord Jeff since I was a student at UMass in the 60's. Made an offhanded decision to stay there when attending a basketball game on campus last week. I cannot express how pleased I was with every aspect of our short stay. The building has had a multi-million dollar renovation that did more than preserve the the character of the inn, it enhanced it. The staff was efficient and gracious. The room, bed and bath were perfect. Our experience at the restaurant was every bit as enjoyable. I could not give the Lord Jeff a higher recommendation.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I know that this place is billed as a B and B. Not really sure why. I have never stayed in one - my perception of one is a bedroom, common eating space and living space as if in a home. Wouldn't be interested if that were the case. This is a really clean, really well appointed boutique-like hotel. Public spaces are beautiful, and the room was great. - we had a king with gas fireplace, a huge bathroom and beautifully furnished. The place also seems to be very green with regards to heat and light and not in an intrusive way at all. Just smart. The location is adjacent to Amherst College so you are in the middle of town so you can walk to most stuff on pleasant street. A little too far to walk to UMass. Have stayed in many nearby hotels but this by far was the nicest. Not much more expensive and well worth the indulgence. Heard that this place was recently remodeled and they really did a nice job. It is an old historic looking building so you will hear feet above you, but nice wood floors in your room make it worth it. Parking is a bit lacking (not the amount, but the location), but it is a small town with limits, so can't really blame the hotel too much. Didn't try the restaurant, but older, not so nice reviews kept us away. Based on the hotel experience, I'd give it a shot next time. Great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Lord Jeffery Inn is a charming, comfortable, warm hotel/inn located in the heart of Amherst. The rooms are finely appointed, the staff very helpful and friendly, and the location in the center of town is impossible to beat.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Located right on the Amherst Common, a classic New England square, a short stroll from the Amherst College campus, the newly refurbished Lord Jeffery Inn has all that a traveler could possibly need or want. A pleasant spacious room with a view, courteous and helpful service, a good restaurant. A speaker at Amherst College, I spent two nights there and found it close to ideal. The inn itself and the room are cozy prospects to return to on a winter's day. Perhaps most memorable, from a traveler's perspective, are the short nap I took midday before my presentation,and the night cap in front of the fireplace the night before.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent a recent weekend at Lord Jeffery's Inn. It's perfectly located and we were able to walk to most of the "town of Amherst." We had a double suite, which was beautifully done with traditional furniture, comfortable beds, and a big bathroom / shower. The staff was friendly and the one time we called housekeeping, they were incredibly prompt.

The multiple fireplaces in the public areas gave a warm touch, literally and figuratively, to these areas.

We're hoping to come back in the fall!

Room Tip: Second floor double suite had a great view to the roofdeck and fireplace as well as an open common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing the stay at The Lord Jeffery Inn during your most recent visit to Amherst. We also thank you for your feedback regarding your stay, and sharing “insider” travel tips with our future guests.

We look forward to your next visit this fall – it is the best time to be in New England!

Cheers,
Amanda Malone, Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here two nights in January 2013. The room was nicely appointed, the staff very friendly and helpful, and my two meals (breakfasts) were excellent. The location was ideal for exploring the town of Amherst or Amherst College.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Lord Jeffery Inn during your most recent visit to the area. I hope that you were able to enjoy one of our many fire places and cozy common areas during this very frigid January. We hope to see you again on your next visit, when you’ll be able to experience all that the Inn has to offer!

Best,
Amanda Malone
Catering Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Jeffery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jeffery Inn

Address: 30 Boltwood Ave., Amherst, MA 01002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Jeffery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely renovated and offers modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm to table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar. The Library, Rooftop Terrace & exterior Gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 250. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Lord Jeffery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jeffery Hotel Amherst
Lord Jeffery Inn Amherst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Jeffery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.