We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place...comfortable, quiet, and with great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Jeffery Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Jeffery Inn to your Saves list
Lord Jeffery Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Boltwood Ave., Amherst, MA 01002   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF W/PROMO CODE:TRIP
Ranked #3 of 14 Amherst B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A great place...comfortable, quiet, and with great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed several days here while working on a project. The front desk staff is exceptional, especially Steven(?). The living room is comfortable and cozy, yet perfect for several groups. And my bedroom was very comfortable and quiet, even though it was at the front of the building. I would come back here in a heartbeat next time I'm in town. And it's close to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: I'm not aware of a bad room, but I'd choose one in the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    42
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
83
64
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Delightful colonial hotel with all the modern amenities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My daughter and I stayed there during our visit to see Amherst College. The rooms were clean and gorgeous. The service was superlative!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We visited Amherst to look at U Mass for our oldest daughter. There were five of us in a double, double suite We were impressed with the town, campus and the Inn. Our stay was short but we enjoyed the Inn. It was comfortable, clean and welcoming. My youngest daughter travels with a service animal and the staff was educated, accommodating and respectful - not something we always experience as so many organizations do not properly train their staff in regard to service animals..The Inn's staff was well-trained, friendly and the Inn was beautiful. The cost was very reasonable too.

Room Tip: The suites are very roomy and of exceptional value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cummington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Magnificent Inn with gorgeous rooms, each slightly different but all have beautiful huge renovated bathrooms with incredible appointments. Beds super comfy, large flat screen t.vs, lovely views from all wings of the Inn. Free coffee in lobby in mornings (not your typical hotel coffee, really good coffee!). Free wifi and incredible library for relaxing with fireplace, books, games. Hated to leave! Super friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: All floors seem very quiet, it's in a quiet area, no noise on the streets, so all rooms appear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

What a charming delight the Lord Jeffrey Inn is. Right in the heart of the charming town of Amherst, Mass, this gorgeous Inn just reopened and the rooms are beautiful. We had a beautiful King Suite with a little porch area where a sofa bed was available for our daughter. Beautiful bathroom, beautiful sheets and comforters. Every detail done beautifully. Cant wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

The Lord Jeff was always my favorite hotel in the Pioneer Valley. It was a bit run down but had a lot of character. After being closed for renovations it is now open. The renovations have retained the charm of the old hotel while bringing the amenities up to five star level. A real gem has been greatly improved and they finally have free off street parking!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Amherst town common with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Jeffery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jeffery Inn

Address: 30 Boltwood Ave., Amherst, MA 01002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Jeffery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely renovated and offers modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm to table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar. The Library, Rooftop Terrace & exterior Gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 250. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Lord Jeffery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jeffery Hotel Amherst
Lord Jeffery Inn Amherst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Jeffery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.