We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The return of an old favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Jeffery Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Jeffery Inn to your Saves list
Lord Jeffery Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 Boltwood Ave., Amherst, MA 01002   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF W/PROMO CODE:TRIP
Ranked #3 of 14 Amherst B&B and Inns
Braintree, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The return of an old favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We were so pleased to learn that the Lord Jeffery had re-opened after extensive renovation. It was definitely worth the wait. The inn still has all the charm and ambiance of its former self with updates and improvements that take it to another level.

Our room was beautifully furnished, with a gas fireplace. The bathroom was totally high-end. And I continue to marvel at the room card that turns into an energy conservation card -- now that's "green"!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    42
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
83
64
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is a charming old hotel, newly renovated into an almost world class experience.

I stayed in the "old" Lord Jeff a few years' ago and it was a nice hotel then, good quality and with some character. The renovation has generally maintained and even enhanced the character, and taken the quality up several notches. The building is in great shape, everything works as well as a modern purpose-built property, and the interior decor is on-message (traditional, tasteful, not over-the-top chintzy).

Check-in was easy, ditto check-out.

My room was a good size, tho' as an old building (and looking at the floorplan) the rooms are all shapes and sizes. The beds were comfortable, and were made so you could either sleep between sheets, or under a duvet - a great idea and the first time I can remember staying in a hotel bed like this. The work desk was large enough and the internet connection was amongst the fastest I've experienced in a hotel, and free, although irritatingly you have to log in each time you power up, or re-enter the room - it doesn't seem to store a log-in cookie either on a laptop or a smartphone. I'd requested a room with a bathtub, and it was a good one, in a very nice, bright bathroom, with good toiletries.

All that was missing was tea/coffee facilities in the room. There's tea & coffee in the lobby all day, but that doesn't help when you wake jet-lagged at 3am, or if you're working in your room and don't want to have to go fetch your coffee. The heating unit was a little noisy but not intrusively so.

I didn't use the gym as there are plenty of pleasant running routes in this pretty little university town.

The main restaurant is very good, perhaps a little over-trendified for my taste (both the decor, and the food - whipped butter for my breakfast toast was a little OTT) but I'm being picky. The food was excellent and in appropriate portions. I really like being served breakfast rather than having to trundle over to a buffet table, and the morning service was quite quick.

The service (both in the restaurant and the hotel generally) was friendly and mostly efficient, but a bit variable. For example the staff couldn't find a laundry form, and when my laundry came back it stayed in reception rather than being sent up to my room; and in the restaurant, each of three mornings' breakfast servers had a completely different approach and offered slightly different options. But at this price point, friendly & helpful trumps Four Seasons' service consistency.

The price (I think I paid $225 on a Saturday and $150 on other nights, and $15-20 for a la carte breakfast) is probably quite high for Amherst but about right given the quality of the place. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: they're all different, so if some aspect of the room is important to you, tell the staff at book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the newly reopened lord Jeff. King suite was indeed a "suite" in the sense that there was a bedroom and a sitting room but they were both very small. The bedroom scarcely larger than the king bed it contained and the sitting room barely big enough to sit in. Overall effect was they put a wall in a normal sized room to make it a suite. There was no phone on the desk. Bathroom was ok but nothing special.
Staff seemed indifferent.
Dining room was bizarrely decorated starting with a black pit entrance with no indication of where it led. The restaurant itself was decorated with a weird neutral color scheme punctuated with strange white porcelain objects. Not really new England inn at all. More like an attempt to earn a designers fee on the cheap. Anyway dispite the ugly room the lunch sandwiches were ok and reasonably priced.
I did not have dinner there.
Parking was free. Internet was kind of slow but was free.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, Manager at Lord Jeffery Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for your review Zorna. The Lord Jeffery Inn was built in 1925, and as you noted, just completed a full renovation. The inherent charm of The Lord Jeffery Inn is rooted in the notion that “nothing about it the inn is ‘cookie cutter’.” Maintaining our rich Amherst history and unique character is very important to us. As a result of embracing our past, the guest rooms were not altered from their original 85 year-old layouts during the renovations.


Our property features an array of room layouts and no two guest rooms or guest baths at The Jeff are identical. While our guests can experience a unique room with each visit, we strive to consistently provide superior service, amenities and the best hospitality in the Pioneer Valley to each and every guest.


I’m happy to read that you enjoyed your lunch at 30Boltwood and found our restaurant pricing reasonable. Chef Dino and his staff work very hard to bring farm-to-table cuisine prepared with natural, farm-fresh local ingredients to our patrons at a fair price.


Zorna, when you return to Amherst, please stop by and ask for me. I’ll work with you to find the perfect room to meet your needs during your next stay at The Jeff.


Robert Reeves,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The people are unfriendly and seem uninterested in their own jobs. The room I stayed in was cleaned poorly and the restaurant was overpriced - let's just say it isn't worth it's weight in cash

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roslindale, ma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

We are writing to express our sincere appreciation for Mary Skowyera and the rest of the event planning staff at the Lord Jeffrey Inn. My partner (now wife) and I first visited the Lord Jeff in January 2007. At the time, we were scheduled to have our wedding on Columbus Day of 2007. Even though we ended up changing our date as well as details of the wedding ceremony and reception, Mary was completely supportive, understanding and helpful. She was open and honest in all of her communication with us, and she never once made us feel guilty or pressured about the many changes we were requesting. She even tracked down and ordered a specialty cupcake tree for the event. Additionally, as a same sex couple, we felt incredibly welcomed at the Lord Jeff, by Mary and all of the staff. No one ever even looked twice or blinked at the notion of two women having a formal wedding ceremony and reception. But most of all, we are grateful to Mary and her staff for truly going above and beyond on our wedding day. Every detail was covered - from accomodating us to use the outdoor tented courtyard for our ceremony when we realized our garden plan would be rained out to holding umbrellas to catch drops that were escaping through eaves to beautifully arranging the ballroom to being kind and gracious to all of our guests to setting up our favors and toasting flutes and placecards to packing up all of the items we might want to keep as the reception was winding down and then carrying them all up to our bridal suite - everything went off seamlessly and without a hitch. And the food was absolutely delicious (we had heard stories about the food and quite honestly, we were nervous, but we were pleasantly surprised when every dish was scrumptious). We are indeed grateful to everyone at the Lord Jeff for making our wedding wonderful.

Lani and Shawn Verges-Radack

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

When my father and I visited Amherst College on a college touring trip, we booked 2 nights at the Lord Jeffery Inn due to it's proximity to the campus. We arrived at the inn around 9:30pm, and we were greeted by the inn's charming exterior and fresh baked chocolate chip cookies at the front desk. We were put into Room 22, which had two double beds, complimentary Andes mints and sparkling water - a pleasant surprise after our long day. The actual room was a bit run down, and had a board that covered up a large hole in the wall, but the beds were comfy and nothing was worth complaining about. Or so we thought...

In the morning, we were shocked to find a large leak coming from our ceiling and dripping onto the carpet. We immediately called up the front desk personnel, who promptly sent a repairman to inspect the problem. He said the leak was caused by the shower of the guests' above us, and had nothing to do with any structural issues of the hotel. The front desk was extremely gracious about our inconvenience and promptly switched us to an upgraded suite, Room 16. All in all, we were happy with how the problem was handled.

We did eat breakfast at the tavern associated with the Lord Jeffrey, and found the food to be very good.

Another note is that the hotel is almost constantly hosting weddings, anniversaries, etc., so if you are looking for a peaceful night away from it all, you probably won't find it here. The walls are VERY thin, and we were awakened more than once by other guests slamming and opening their doors at all hours...

Still, I probably would return to The Lord Jeffrey Inn if I had the opportunity. The good food, helpful staff, and adequate rooms make it alright to overlook the Inn's other issues.

  • Liked — The complimentary touches (cookies, chocolates, water)
  • Disliked — The tired feeling of the rooms
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed at the Lord Jeffery Inn for a family wedding. I had heard how wonderful it was from the bride and groom and from friends who went to school in Amherst. First off, we booked a crib so it was pretty apparent we were traveling with a small child. The room they gave us had a huge brick fireplace with no screen. Talk about safety hazard. The woman at the desk was very rude, but did fine us a new room that was larger. It worked out better although we had to carry the stroller downstairs which was a pain. The bathroom was TINY. Also we had heard that the food at the inn was really good. The appetizers and food at the wedding were both pretty bad. And the brunch food leaved a bit to be desired as well. It was fine because we had a wedding to attend, but I wouldn't stay there again otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Jeffery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Jeffery Inn

Address: 30 Boltwood Ave., Amherst, MA 01002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Jeffery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Amherst College campus, the historic Inn is completely renovated and offers modern amenities including wireless Internet and fitness center. Each room includes LCD HD TV & private baths. Local farm to table cuisine is featured at our full service 3 meal a day restaurant and bar. The Library, Rooftop Terrace & exterior Gardens offer unique settings for relaxing or socializing. Ample function space can accommodate 2 to 250. The Inn is dedicated to environmental sustainability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Lord Jeffery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Jeffery Hotel Amherst
Lord Jeffery Inn Amherst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Jeffery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.