We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tubing was lots of fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amesbury Sports Park

Amesbury Sports Park
12 South Hunt Road, Amesbury, MA
978-388-5788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 attractions in Amesbury
Type: Sports Complexes
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Amesbury Sports Park is a place like no other. The park boasts the steepest and fastest snow tubing hill in New England and offers up to 12 lanes for snow tubing. There are currently nearly 1,000 tubes that can be operated when the park is at full capacity. Two lifts service the hill – a conveyor belt lift that guests stand on and an old fashioned handle tow lift that allows riders to sit in their tube as they are pulled up to the top of the hill. Once at the top of the hill, guests are permitted to link up in groups and slide down together or ride solo. The annual Spring Splash competition draws adventurerers from all over New England. Enter the pond skimming competition! Snow tubers compete for distance and bragging rights as they skim over the icy pond. There is an onsite Pub which offers traditional pub fare including pizza, burgers, salads, appetizers, hot chocolate, cold beer and more. Looking for something fun to do with the kids during New Hampshire February school vacation week? The Amesbury Sports park has discounts and deals for winter fun! Military personnel and employees of the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard get FREE snow tubing admissions with valid ID from February 25 through March 1,2013. Guests of Armed Services personnel will receive $5 off their admission during that time. Not in the service? Support our week long food drive from 2/25/13 through 3/1/13 to benefit the NH Food Pantry - each guest who brings a non-perishable food item will receive $5 off their admission. In warmer months, the Amesbury Sports Park is home to extreme obstacle foot races such as the Warrior Dash, Spartan Race, Run For Your Lives and more. The 7th Annual Brew Fest on 9/21/13 features 100 beers, 6 live bands, and BBQ and will draw 7,000 people to the all day event. Large festival concerts are also on the docket, with dates and details coming soon.The park is also home to Zorb riding, the sport of rolling down a large hill in an 11 foot inflatable sphere. There are two different types of Zorbs – water and harness. Up to 3 people can enter the water globe with 10 gallons of water. When the ball is rolled down the hill, guests slosh around like they are in a self contained water slide. The harness ball allows guests to remain dry as they strap themselves into a 7 point harness. When the harness ball is rolled down the hill, guests tumble head over heels all the way to the bottom. It is truly an experience you will never forget! Summer tubing is also offered in summer months. It’s just like snow tubing but without the snow. Guests ride up the conveyor belt lift, then sit on the hard bottomed tube and ride down 3 Neveplast (artificial ski surface) lanes. People remain dry for the most part, although intermittent mist is used to keep the tracks lubricated and fast. The park features artificial turf fields which can be used for soccer, rugby, lacrosse, football, field hockey, and cricket. There is a full service function hall onsite that features cuisine by renowned Chef Kevin Jacques. The private function room can accommodate up to 150 guests, or the entire facility itself can be rented for private outings. Relay races and obstacle course packages are available for team building outings, and snow / summer tubing birthday party packages are offered for kids. Offsite catering is available to fit any budget. Monthly wine dinners are well attended and typically sell out weeks in advance. Reservations are required for the 4 course gourmet meals perfectly paired with sommelier selected wines.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tubing was lots of fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I am well into adulthood and I had a great time snow tubing here. It is relatively safe and great for kids and adults alike. You do not have to climb the hill. Amesbury Sports Park has machines that take you up. Parking is free. There is a restaurant on-site with reasonable prices.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holden, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“60th Birthday Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Amesbury sports park hosted a 60th Birthday party for us. What a great night we had, the kids tubed all night and the adults did karaoke. The owners were so gracious and a good time was had by all. We will most definitely return! Thank You Carol Anne

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good wet fun!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Enjoyed the tubing and waterball runs very fun, with my 10 year old son. Good beer, fair pizza. Seems like a very nice complex.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sparticus challenge is a challenge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Parking, crowds, activities that demand a participant's focus are just okay here. I wouldn't try this again

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Summer tubing OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I decided to take my 10 & 13 year old sons here with a groupon package deal I purchased for 3 hours of summer tubing, a zorb ride and a slice of pizza. The moving walkway was a great way to get up the hill and the day we went (Thursday) wasn't too crowded so there really wasn't a wait. The first run was fun but they tired of it after three more runs. Unlike snow tubing which has twists and turns, this was a straight shot down that got boring pretty quickly. I could see that large groups had more fun because their weight created a faster ride. My boys weren't tall enough for the water-free harnessed Zorb ride and they opted out of the zorb water ride because they didn't want to get wet (we were traveling from Boston). I thought it looked cool if you wanted to get wet and the people who did it seemed to enjoy it. My kids did enjoy the pizza but it was a long drive and a lot of money for an hour's worth of enjoyment. Maybe we'll have to try winter tubing because my kids enjoy that a lot more.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amesbury Sports Park also viewed

 

Been to Amesbury Sports Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amesbury Sports Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amesbury Sports Park to your Saves list