We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, modern, convenient stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Amesbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Amesbury to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Amesbury
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Clarks Road, Amesbury, MA 01913   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amesbury
Kent, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good, modern, convenient stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

A good stopover if heading up the coast from Boston, just over an hour from the airport. "Friendlys" restaurant is in the same carpark, but with easy access into Newburyport the choice of evening meal options widen.
Very clean, comfortable, spacious rooms with modern decor. Friendly reception staff, Breakfast (continental) had quite a range of options, including "make your own waffle" area, sadly served with disposable cutlery and plates, but that's not unusual for this class of hotel.Check in-check out very simple.

  • Liked — location/ cleanliness
  • Disliked — Disposable plates/bowls
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnPSM, Manager at Fairfield Inn Amesbury, responded to this review, October 28, 2009
Good morning,
I just wanted to say thank you on behalf of our entire staff for your recent stay with us at Fairfield Inn by Marriott, Amesbury, MA. We are delighted to know that you had such a wonderful stay and hope that you will return to us again in the future.
Thank you again, we truly appreciate it.
Kori Cotnoir, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    52
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
32
44
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

Friday November 30, 2007 at 11:40 at night, with all surrounding businesses closed; my 15-year old daughter was not allowed to use their restroom. The night clerk would not explain and only stated and restated; “There are no public restrooms”. She refused to give me her name and tore up my business card. We were driving >50 miles back home after dropping off my daughter’s date for a sophomore prom, (she was well dressed and polite).

Even after trying to explain the circumstances and that I was a Marriott Awards member she didn’t care, there were no public restrooms. I have requested to have the security tape reviewed for credibility.

Is this where you would want to do business?

  • Disliked — They could not care less about the public
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2007. This hotel is easy to get to, and within quick access to Cape Ann, Topsfield, Portsmouth and Boston. At registration, I was given a complimentary package containing bottled water and water taffy. A nice unexpected touch! The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast "staff attendant" even brought breakfast items out for those who had come in after breakfast was over and she had taken all the food away.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

We stayed at this Fairield Inn on our way back from a trip to Canada. The hotel is conveniently located between I-95 and I-495. I've found Fairfield Inns to be very good, on average, and this one was true to that experience. The hotel seemed fairly new or if not new then very well maintained.

Check-in was fast and efficient. They gave me a choice of rooms, in addition to the King I had booked, which was nice. Parking was good, directly in front of the hotel. The bed was firm and comfortable. The sheets were very nice, and more like what you would expect at a more expensive hotel. Bathroom was large, towels were fine, and water pressure was excellent.

Breakfast was included in our room and was probably the best breakfast of any chain hotel on our trip (including Comfort Inns, Quality Inns, other Fairfield Inns, and Courtyards). My favorite part were the waffles that you made yourself.

The only real shortcoming we came across was that our room did not have Internet access. Wireless Internet was only available in the lobby and rooms near the lobby. There was, however, a PC available for guest use in the lobby.

Another quibble is that the hotel elevator was slow. I guess if you have to criticize the speed of a hotel's elevators, the stay must've been decent.

We would definitely return to this hotel, though I think we'd request a room near the lobby so we could have in-room broadband.

  • Liked — Nice sheets and bed
  • Disliked — Lack of in-room broadband
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

Was able to check in earlier than the 3:00 check in time. Received a King room on the 1st floor just off the lobby which turned out to be very convenient. The back door of the hotel was just around the corner from the room and the car could be parked right outside the window. The hotel was very clean, including our room and the lobby. The room had a king bed which was very comfortable and had a down-type comforter on the bed. There was loads of lighting, (which I think is usually lacking in many hotels) including lamps on each side of the bed, lamp next to the chair, light in the entry, light in the sink area, light at the desk and two wall lamps. There was chair and an ottoman, a desk, the usual dresser, closet with plenty of hangars and drawer space. An added bonus was a small fridge and microwave. The pool was very nice, albeit small. There were plenty of lounge chairs next to the pool and an umbrella table with chairs. The landscaping near the pool was very nice. There is also a small grassy area next to the pool with a grill and a picnic table. Although the hotel is just off of I-95 and literally next to the ramp, it was very quiet. I heard no traffic at all. Overall the hotel was very quiet. The free breakfast was very good. There were baked goods (bagels, muffins, bread for toast); waffle maker and syrup, cereal and milk, yogurt, breakfast sandwiches that could be microwaved, juice and coffee. It was kept well stocked. One issue is the size of the breakfast room, which is typical of all Fairfield Inns. It is too small and cramped. Even when it is not full, it is hard to move around when everyone is trying to get something to eat. The hotel was very convenient. It is just off of I-95 and less than 1 mile from I-495. The drive to Newburyport is about 10 mins, and to the Plum Island Beach about 20 Mins (with no traffic). There is a Stop and Shop about ½ mile away which was convenient to pick up snacks and such which could be kept in the fridge and to get sandwiches to take to the beach. There is a Friendly’s which shares the same parking lot as the hotel. There is a Burger King right across the street.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2004

Briefly:
1. Upon moving a chair nearer the table we discovered a peanut butter packet from a previous guest under the chair.
2. In the three nights we stayed, no sheets were ever changed, no tub cleaned.
3. When we came into the room the third evening we discovered melted ice water left in the bucket from the previous day and no shampoo packets.
4. Marianne, at front desk was wonderful, and in general this Fairfield was in good condition, with easy parking. But a big housekeeping problem on our floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Amesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Amesbury

Address: 35 Clarks Road, Amesbury, MA 01913
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Amesbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Amesbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Amesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Amesbury Hotel Amesbury
Fairfield Amesbury
Amesbury Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Amesbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.