We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend 5/11/02” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Greylock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Adams
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Greylock Inn
6 East Street, Adams, MA 01220   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Adams B&B and Inns
CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful weekend 5/11/02”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Inn was wonderful, very clean and comfortable. Since the owner does not live at the B&B we had access to the kitchen, which was a plus. The back porch was delightful for a relaxing evening after a day of hiking. Joseph was extremely helpful and knowledgeable and recommended area hiking and biking routes and things to do in the area. The breakfast was filling and consisted of eggs, sausage or bacon and french toast or pancakes as well as fresh fruit salad and juice. Coffee and Tea are available 24/7. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Only one room has a private bath, however, the hall bath was very large with a heated towel bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpkemble, Owner at Mount Greylock Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
I am so glad to know that the many changes we have made over the past 8 months have made such a positive impact on our guests experience. Of course I do live there too, though all too briefly with my other businesses, and look forward to meeting our guests when I am home. Thank you for your kind review and hope to see you at the Inn. The porch is always waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

For one weekend in the spring my boyfriend and I were lucky enough to stay in this gorgeous yet comfortable and homey bed and breakfast. Joseph the owner added the perfect touch to this weekend, giving us maps and advice on one of the best hikes, and letting us play with his wonderful cat! We woke up to a beautiful breakfast- for which you can place any request you'd like. It is a perfect location in a very charming town, but the B&B is what was most charming in my memory. Coffee, DVD player and kitchen/fridge access at anytime for guests. We immediately booked a return weekend after this stay. My new favorite B&B. Spotlessly clean with all the extra touches you would never think of such as the heated towel rack in the bathroom... Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

For six, lovely days in April, my nine-year old daughter and I stayed in the Overlook Trail room. We entered an enchanting, replenishing world of gentleness and leisure. The innkeeper was worldly and kind. The Victorian setting was charming. And, the amazing breakfast on Saturday was enhanced all the more by the interesting conversation with the Inn's other guests.

I'll be back for sure...this time with friends!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed charming in their own unique way (we couldn't help from peeking in). The Ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This inn is in a great location and spotlessly clean. It feels homey and comfortable, including Eric the cat. He is very friendly and loves to be petted, but if you don't like cats, Joseph will work very hard to keep him out of you way!! Speaking of Joseph, he really makes this inn. He is very friendly, hospitable and goes out of his way to make sure that you have a nice time in the area. He is knowledgeable about the area and can suggest many things, depending on your preference of activities. We went to snowshoe but there was no snow!! However, with so many other things to do (Mass MOCA and the Clark Institute were wonderful) and great restaurants and a comfortable inn to stay at, we had a very relaxing stay. I will say, as an afterthought, that we stayed in the room with the private bath, so keep in mind that some of the rooms have a shared bath, if that makes a difference to anyone!! It doesn't take away from the ambiance of the inn at all--stay there and enjoy!!

Room Tip: Decide whether or not you want a shared bath!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Right on the edge of the city, this beautiful Victorian bed and breakfast was a good choice for us to spend New Year's Eve. Every room is lavishly decorated, our bedroom was newly renovated and the bedroom was charming. The private bath is enormous with both a shower and bathtub. Breakfast the next day was amazing, a fresh fruit cup of berries and melon and stuffed french toast and sausages. Eric the cat is sweet and adorable and loves to be snuggled with. The owner and host were extremely hospitable to us and kept us good company as the ball dropped on tv. I would love to visit this location again.

Room Tip: Lots to do in town, big festivals and arts with MassMoca
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We really loved our 2 night stay in this cosy inn. The warm welcome, the friendly atmosphere during breakfast with other guests. We even had a glass of wine at the fireplace in the hall one night. The staff was very helpfull in recommanding us where to go for dinner and what to visit nearby. We loved the MASSMOCA! We hiked at mount Greylock and enjoyed the beatifull colors of the indian summer. The local pub is walking distance from the inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at this charming inn with my family from October 11th to 14th. Great value for money, excellent location and extremely clean. Couldn’t ask for anything more. I have stayed at a few other B&Bs in the North East prior to this trip and this was, by far, my best experience.

We were warmly greeted by the staff at the inn upon our arrival. He was also very un-intrusive during our stay: joined us for coffee at breakfast, offered us directions/help when needed, but otherwise left us to our own.

The entire inn is clean and very spacious. It has all the facilities/amenities that you would need in a B&B and the charm of an old colonial house. For me, a city-boy, staying at the inn provided me a nice respite from the city. The Keurig machine in the living room was a very nice touch (there are ample K-cups for most tastes) and it made grabbing a cup of coffee to have on our nice drives around the area that much easier. The house cat Eric is probably the sweetest, most un-intrusive 14 year-old cat that one will ever come across (and in my view, probably misunderstood by the earlier reviewers.)

The rooms were impeccably clean, had beautiful bedding and the furniture was ergonomically arranged. We were pampered for choice when it came to breakfast. On the first day, we had this really delicious egg casserole with sausages & bacon on the side. Our breakfast on the second day deserves special mention: the staff at the inn personally made us some lovely banana bread. Nothing like homemade banana bread in the fall!

The location of this inn is awesome as it is right smack in the middle of everything in the Berkshires: Mt Greylock and MassMoCA are just 15 minutes to the north and the Norman Rockwell museum, 20 minutes to the south. Made travelling around the Berkshires that much easier and more enjoyable.

I will definitely return to this inn the next time I come to the Berkshires. It was a very memorable experience and certainly an experience that was accentuated by the warmth of this charming inn that came with a personal touch.

Room Tip: Appalachian Trail Room if you want a private bathroom, Overlook Trail Room if you want a day bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Greylock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Greylock Inn

Address: 6 East Street, Adams, MA 01220
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Adams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Adams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Mount Greylock Hotel Adams

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Greylock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mount Greylock Inn to your Saves list