We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Not Your Average Joe's

Not Your Average Joe's
305 Main St, Acton, MA 01720-3718
+1 978-635-0101
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Not Your Average Joe's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Acton
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: What does creative casual cuisine mean? Exactly what it says. We"re creative, because we reject the same-old-same-old in favor of tastes that are interesting and unique. We're casual because while our food may be worth getting dressed up for, we invite you to come as you are. We're all about cuisine in the sense that our chefs apply high standards of culinary art. There it is. Creative. Casual. Cuisine. If it sounds like your kind of place, then you – like us- are not your average Joe.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Average Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

No faults with the service; hostess and waitresses were really good. Pizzas were average and could have been bolder in taste. If the ‘stone hearth forno’ was supposed to impart a distinct flavor, we couldn’t taste it. Spouse’s salad had a strand of someone’s hair. Best part of the food was the complimentary bread and the oil/cheese dip served with it. Overall experience okay, pretty much what would be expected from a chain. Went on a Friday night and easily got seated. Most patrons seems to be 20 to 30 year olds. No aspect of our dinner was particularly memorable. Unsure what all the hype is all about. Type of place you try once when you’re in the area, have an okay dinner, and then move on.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    62
    31
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“NYAJ Acton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

One of the best sit-down restaurants in the area. Great for a business lunch. Beware of the complimentary bread, it is quite addictive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Consistent and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Like an old friend you haven't seen in weeks, NYAJ is always ready for you with a cold beer and tasty snack !!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Below Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went with friends on a Sunday night. We were given a noisy back table by the restroom door. Service was poor. It took 15 minutes to get a drink. Drinks and food were served a bit at a time leaving those trying to be polite with food getting cold. One of the entrees had to be sent back to get it right. We were offered more bread but had to ask for more dipping oil. Twice our waitress brought coffee with cream and sugar and not a spoon. The food was just average. Not going to return to this Joe's.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“You Can Count on Joe's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My new favorite on the menu is the Chicken Mona Lisa salad entree: parmesan-crusted chicken with balsamic marinated strawberries, fresh mozzarella, pickled red onions, romaine and organic greens with creamy basil dressing. Consistent quality of food and service and never disappoints.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Not Your Average Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Not Your Average Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.