We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I AM IMPRESSED” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Annapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Annapolis to your Saves list
Residence Inn Annapolis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Admiral Cochrane Drive, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I AM IMPRESSED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Being in the industry in S. Florida, I am very critical.
We happened upon the Residence inn Marriott, Annapolis, because another neighborhood location could not provide us with more than a double regular room. Turned a corner, there is the Residence Inn, and thought "let's see"...
We were not disappointed. From the time we entered the front door and were greeted by Sean, a very personable front line man who took the time to direct us to eateries in the neighborhood and planned our next day tour of the docks, to entering the "suite"... What a pleasant surprise!
Exceptionally clean, very comfortable... My first remark, "I could permanently live in this unit, with no problem". And our nightly rate was $10+ tax less than the first stop which was the typical hotel room... Bed room only, token bar fridge and possibly a microwave...
Not at this Residence Inn... Full kitchen, apt size fridge with ice maker, stove top, micro, dishwasher, dining table, office area, king bed, living room, rotating large flat screen... Duh? Far exceeded my expectations!
Definitely a Do-Over if/when I return to the area... In fact, long term would be very comfortable. And it's close to a very well appointed shopping centre, all my favorite shops.
Cleanliness, personable staff, many amenities... Who could ask for anything more...!
Definitely a five star!


Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reagan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Annapolis, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Greetings S H and thank you for your generous comment. We are grateful to hear about your stay at the Residence Inn, here in Annapolis! Also, it humbles us ominously to know that our staff accommodated you and made you feel at home.

Our Marriott Standard of Service is something that makes our company so unique. What you experience at one Residence Inn by Marriott should epitomize the standard you will find at any Marriott around the globe. The size of the Marriott Hotel may vary immensely, along with the style and face that greets you. However, the standard of customer care is what makes this company thrive and continue to flourish.

We greatly appreciate your comments. Thank you again from the bottom of all our hearts, not only our hotel, but the whole Marriott Corporation, for choosing Marriott as your home away from home. May you continue to have positive experiences at any Marriott property in which you decide to stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
21
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on business travel. The location is decent, about a 30 minute drive from BWI and 10-15 minutes to downtown Annapolis.

My room was pretty nice. It was both clean and pleasant. My only complaints are that my bed was absurdly squeaky and the air conditioning was pretty loud when it turned on/off.

The folks at the front desk were very helpful and friendly, suggesting several good restaurants and attractions to visit in the area.

Lastly, the breakfast was pretty good. Just don't get there too early or too late because the food selection will be slim.

Overall, I would stay here again on business, but if I'm in the area for vacation I would prefer a hotel closure to the downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reagan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Annapolis, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Greetings Czrich86 and thank you for your perceptive comment! We are pleased to hear about your experience at our property here in Annapolis. We also, apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced from your discomfort with the bed and air conditioning. We will be making efforts to rectify this in the future. In fact, our management team has been in contact with the Marriott regional management in attempts to purchase new mattresses and box springs for all our suites.
We very much appreciate your comment from your stay with us. Our guests take the highest priority, not only from our Residence Inn property but as an international corporation. Marriott takes pride in sustaining the same standard of expected service throughout the globe.
It saddens us a great deal to hear about your discomfort that you experienced during your stay. However, from our standpoint, it gives us the opportunity to improve our hotel and make it even better than before.
We want to thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott as your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We got the Residence Inn on a Priceline bid for a last-minute trip to Annapolis over Labor Day weekend. The staff that we came in contact with were friendly and pleasant. Our room overall was spacious, but the bed was a queen. Bathroom was quite small and almost claustrophobic. The shower had a small, constant drip and the lever to change the water from the faucet to the shower took quite a bit of manuevering. We didn't use the kitchen since we were only there two nights.It seemed adequate, but the ice maker wasn't working in the freezer.

The breakfasts were generally disappointing, as food ran out each day and was refilled slowly. We saw the breakfast attendant handling the garbage, including taking it outside, and then going back to food tasks without washing her hands. And both days there were no napkins, only paper towels in the breakfast area.

All in all, it was an adequate stay and pleasant-enough place, but seemed tired and lacking in the usual Marriott atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reagan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Annapolis, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Greetings Dreamer320 and we appreciate your insightful comment. We want to take this time to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant encounter with our staff and that you enjoyed your spacious suite.

As for the size of the bathroom, making you feel claustrophobic, we sincerely apologize that you felt such discomfort.

In addition, regarding your experience during breakfast, we have not taken your observations of our breakfast lightly. We again, are very sorry that you had to experience such disconcerting occurrences. It is unacceptable that you had to observe this during your stay with us.

We want to again thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Sometimes it is difficult to know these specific details that may have had an effect on our guests’ stay with us. We take much diligence in the modification process to make each guest as comfortable as possible during their stay here at the Annapolis Residence Inn.

From the bottom of our hearts, we express our deepest regrets for the incidences that you faced during your stay with us. We hope that you continue to choose the Residence Inn by Marriott as your home away from home. We look forward to your return and cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The rooms were smaller than other residence inns I've stayed at. The bed was SO loud every move you made the bed made a horrible sound. The living room was big and the kitchen is good for a hotel (even though we didn't use either). The bathroom door barely cleared the toilet the bathroom was very small as well. The shower was also very noisy. It produced a high pitched screeching sound for the duration of the shower (only the shower in the morning not the shower at night). The room was quite at night time to sleep. The hotel is separated into different buildings so each door is outside with no indoor corridors. It's too far off I-95 but I would stay here again, but only spending 1 night here. The front desk staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reagan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Annapolis, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello BBGRL and thank you for your informative comment! We apologize for any inconveniences that the bed, bathroom and size of room may have caused you. We will do our best to rectify these concerns to better allow our guests their ideal home away from home. Currently, our management team is converging in efforts to resolve these issues you had with your room in hopes to make our next guest’s stay as perfect as possible!
We greatly appreciate your comments. The Residence Inn only wants to consistently make our guests’ stay a true home away from home! Sometimes it is difficult to know what the problems are that our guests may have with their stay. Your responses, however, have indeed opened our eyes to some potential pitfalls that we can definitely resolve immediately!
Thank you again so much for your tremendous feedback. We hope you continue to choose the Residence Inn by Marriott as your home away from home. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had been on the road for a week with our two King Charles. Anyone that travels with pets knows that you sometimes compromise the quality of hotel to have your pets with you. That was not the case with our stay here! We had a fabulous room with full kitchen. Room was modern and clean. Bed and pillows were comfy and linens in bath soft. We were tired of eating out so went to local Fresh Market and got steaks, salad, and sides. Used the wonderful Viking Grill to cookout! While grilling we sat on a patio in lovely outdoor furniture and had a glass of wine. The breakfast each morning was fabulous. Hot eggs, turkey bacon, bagels, and much more! The location is wonderful with shopping and restaurants close. Short drive to historic Annapolis too. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reagan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Annapolis, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello MYGOODLIFE and thank you so much for your very considerate feedback. Every comment made by our guests is of the highest regard to us as a property and as an international corporation. Marriott prides itself in its ability to sustain the highest standards possible and to keep these standards level across the board. As a hotel, we are ecstatic and quite humbled in fact, that we were able to make your stay comfortable. As always, thank your again for choosing the Residence Inn as your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you're staying in the Annapolis area a week or longer, this Marriott Residence Inn offers a comfortable home base at a very reasonable price. This hotel is a little on the old side, but it's perfectly adequate and the front desk staff are great. I can't imagine paying $200+ for a single night, but at $119 and less for stays of a week or more, it's a fine choice.

My room had a single queen bed, living room and small dining area, and a small kitchen. One negative is that the kitchen lacks an oven, but it does have a two burner stove. Microwave and moderate sized refrigerator are adequate for most needs.

My room had a fireplace, but our second room did not – I suggest you ask, if it matters to you. For me, if it’s cold out, a fireplace is an awesome thing.

Dogs are allowed here and on a few occasions we heard one yipping for attention. While it's a non-smoking building, a sensitive nose will note that this policy hasn't been followed perfectly in the past.

Wi-Fi works fine, although it does require you to re-accept the terms and conditions once a day, which can be an issue for smartphones, but not larger devices. There's a higher bandwidth service for $5/day, but I never used it or needed it for normal tasks (I'm not a gamer).

The location is great for getting to most anywhere in a short time, but you do have to drive for most everything. We did not try the nearby Crab Cake Café or Squisito, but we did walk to Les Folies Brasserie (surprisingly authentic, though not perfectly executed French cuisine).

Room Tip: Not all rooms have fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reagan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Annapolis, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hello Mr. ChadH. Thank you very much for your insightful comments in regards to your stay here at the Annapolis Residence Inn by Marriott. Your detailed comments bring us more aware of the aspects of our hotel that could be further improved which we do not take lightly.

As a corporate Marriott, we are passionate about making every guest as comfortable as possible and to maintain that Marriott Standard of Service that the company takes such pride in for all of our guests to experience.

Being a valued guest, you are extremely important to us and we want you to return! If there is anything you believe would make your stay better please by all means contact our property directly and we can address anything regarding your stay and ways to improve for the next time you come visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was my home away from home during my work transition to MD. I had come in on a red eye, that said, all I wanted was to shower, eat, and sleep. Lucky for me, when I called, the front desk was kind enough to allow me to check in at 7am instead of the ridiculous 4pm check in's that hotel require. Everyone was pleasant, and most helpful. I had a nice, clean room in the ground floor, where I could see my car parked in front. Rooms are cleaned daily, and the hotel is close to everything. I highly recommend the place, no complaints, great beds, great kitchen area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reagan W, General Manager at Residence Inn Annapolis, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Skye90277,

The Residence Inn Brand really prides themselves on being the guest's "Home Away from Home" so I am happy to the Annapolis Residence Inn is yours! Our property is very unique in that you are able to park your car either in front or nearby the door the your guest room! And even though we are an Extended Stay property, we do still offer Daily Housekeeping! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Annapolis!

Reagan W, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Annapolis

Address: 170 Admiral Cochrane Drive, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Annapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Residence Inn Annapolis hotel is located in Annapolis Maryland where rich history and beautiful scenery are bountiful. Easily accessible from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI) and just 30 miles from Washington DC, the Residence Inn Annapolis is a wonderful weekend destination. This Marriott hotel is conveniently located less than five miles from the area’s biggest attractions; including the United States Naval Academy, the City Dock and the Maryland State House. Plus a number of quaint shops, fine dining and scenic sights abound this shoreline community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.