We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional Hotel... Good Under Pressure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Annapolis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Annapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Annapolis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   173 Jennifer Road, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Annapolis
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Professional Hotel... Good Under Pressure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here during Hurricane Sandy while in the Annapolis area for work. The staff was professional and worked well under pressure. The hotel restaurant and bar's food and drink is nothing to write home about but the staff was pleasant considering they were the only food option for the hotel guests in the entire area. I enjoyed my stay here as it was in an excellent location near two malls and plenty of dining options. The room was comfortable and clean. Really enjoyed the comfy pillow and soft comforters on the bed. Only negative was that the toilet paper in the bathroom is probably some of the cheapest and roughest I have ever been exposed to in my life. I would expect higher quality for a Sheraton hotel. Other than that I would return to this great property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Sheraton Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear JacksonJeep, thank you for taking the time to post such great comments about the staff and how professioanl they were even in stressful times. I am glad you enjoyed the room and it's cleanliness. We hope you come back to see us again soon but under better weather situations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    112
    60
    50
    23
See reviews for
71
107
21
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton last night for my birthday and it was great. I received a birthday card from the front desk plus a few other special treats. The room was very relaxing and met specifications I made online. The mall is right there and a casino is about 20 mins away. We did not go to the bar or restaraunt, but had the h'orduerves (SP) in the Club Level lounge. It was very good. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Sheraton Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Raider9909, I am so happy to hear that you had a great stay and you were able to enjoy the treats and lounge. We take pride in service and exceeding guests expectations, we love to hear guest definitely wanting to return, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Md.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was concern with the recent reviews but we didn't encounter any problems. It wasn't a resort type hotel but the room was clean and met our overnight needs. When we checked in we saw that we didn't have a TV remote. We called the desk and had a remote w/i 5 minutes. All staff were very friendly, starting with our check-in with Yvonne to the gentleman who brought our remote. Staff we passed in the halls greeted us with smiles. I was happy. Good job Sheraton!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Sheraton Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear oc pat, thank you so much for for the great comments about the staff and our hotel. Yvonne is a great associate and we are lucky to have her, thank you again and look forward to you coming back to see us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

First, tried to get into the Westin for the boat show, they were booked, referred us to Sheraton. Paid $20 extra for the "club level", which entitled us to the top floor and "great views"...of noisy Rte. 50 and "free breakfast" in the club lounge. The room smelled musty, had a tiny window and was poorly lit. One of the elevator's floor indicator did not indicate the proper floor. When the boat show started, the shuttle became extremely busy and therefore, unreliable. I called for it from the Westin, waited 20 minutes, it came and went without me, despite me informing both the Lobby Manager and the outside Valet that I was expecting it. Even after an urgent call from the valet to the Sheraton, the van never returned. Ended up paying lots of money for taxis to avoid the frustration of waiting for the shuttle. I almost live in hotels in my business so I know good hotels and bad hotels and this one is bad.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the club level if my experience is an example.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Sheraton Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear TJC822, I am very sorry your stay was not as expected, we strive very hard to give all our guests a great experience. We do have a free shuttle service that runs on demand and with special events the van is continously running all day and is extremely busy with the high demand. The wait time can be longer than expected or even guest missed if not told an exact pick up location.We are a great hotel with great service and my apology to you for not meeting your expectations this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our room was very good. The bed was comfortable, linens and pillows very nice. The room was extremely clean as was the bathroom. There was no external noise in our room as well which is extremely important to us. Internet a bit slow but it was acceptable for email and a bit of surfing. The negatives, the elevators give a poor first impression, they just appear shabby and don't inspire confidence, especially the way the doors close and the floor indicator sticks at 3. The restaurant breakfast was not great, food was not that good. There is no menu available for the restaurant in the room which seems an oversight. One night we went out for dinner and there was a group of about a dozen young men in the parking lot drinking beer, they didn't appear to be guests, they were there when we went out and still there when we came back. That certainly gave us cause for concern and they should have been rousted. Overall it was fine for the cost but it could be better with a few rough edges fixed up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Sheraton Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Johnny D, thank you for the great comments regarding our cleanliness and our nice hotel. I was sorry to hear about the things what were not up to your standards, please accept my apology and rest assure we are looking at ways to fix them. The gentlemen you mention are guests of the hotel here working on the bay bridge, however we will be asking them not to drink on our parking lot. Thank you again for your feedback and look forward to coming back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, VA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If I were just rating the hotel itself, I would give it a very good, almost excellent. Reasons: Clean, quiet well-appointed room with 'fridge, lots of counter space, friendly maid; pool was lovely and exceptionally well done for a hotel, opening to outside patio and lounging; Jacuzzi however really lacked action, sort of like a warm bath; lifeguard was an unusual plus but he smelled unclean even amidst the chlorine; hot buffet breakfast in restaurant was average but room service breakfast with perfect poached eggs was excellent; free parking and perfect location across from mall and within several miles of independent theaters and great grocery; all contributed to what should have been a wonderful anniversary weekend for us. However, our purpose in Annapolis was to purchase a small (15') sailboat and trailer and advance conversation with hotel staff said no problem. Hotel was sold out so we parked it in an end space in the back so no one would get hurt on the mast or hit it with their vehicle. Then the nightmare began: The mast on the boat was vandalized the first of our two nights there, most likely by the contracted long-term group of people the hotel had given a grill and picnic table to in the back close to my boat & trailer. The hotel didn't want them hanging out in front of the hotel and I understood why when I realized that they basically had a drinking party all evening and night and even went so far as to relieve themselves in broad daylight and view the next morning. When we reported it at 11 pm, the front desk said they were guests and don't worry about it! It's bad enough to be vandalized but the real hurt came the next a.m. when the staff quoted legal text, didn't even bother to go see the damage, gave the excuse that the group were guests, that the MOD couldn't act on her own accord, and that we waited for three days for the GM to call us at home. From the moment of vandalism, the weekend was ruined by the lack of immediate action. The delayed action by the GM was fairly pathetic as well. Aside from all this, the front-desk staff is totally lackluster and couldn't answer basic questions such as "is there a charge for local and/or long distance calls," "please credit my account with the $5 you're offering me for not having maid service," pretty much everything we asked during the two nights we were there. All in all, it's a lovely hotel compared to the cookie-cutter chains and well priced compared to the downtown hotels but the GM needs to train his staff and delegate some responsibility to his MOD. Instead of stock answering all the reviews herein perhaps he could train his staff and avoid the criticisms in the first place. And contracted long-term lodgers should not be allowed to do things that occasional guests would not do. Oh, I almost forgot, the pool was lovely but the whole time we were there on Sunday morning, people were decorating the area for a party. Due to the language that was spoken, it may well have been relative to those contracted guests as well. Heck, just give them the hotel up front and I'll go elsewhere since they appear to be more important to you than the occasional overnight guest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Sheraton Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Tellitkeitis2_12, Thank you so much for all the great comments regarding our lovely hotel I apologize once again for the event taking place and the mod not doing more at the time. As we discussed previously I apologiezed about the delay and gave compensation for the event that took place. We value all our guuest no matter who they are and want everyone to know we are a safe hotel. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballantrae Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

No mini bar. Peeling wallpaper in room 207. Lovely view of the roof. No TV guide. No in room information about the hotel facilities. Front desk was not helpful in gaining internet connection. Finally resolved by the food and beverage manager. High speed internet is .82 mbs. Bathroom door lock was broken. Mold on the bathtub tiles. Comfortable bed. Spacious king room. Good location with multiple restaurants. Excellent shuttle service to the annual boat show downtown. Complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby. Complimentary USA today on each floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daryl S, General Manager at Sheraton Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Timberbank26, thank you for the nice comments regarding our location, spacious rooms and Excellent shuttle. With your valued feedback we have addressed the other issues you have encountered. Please accept my apology for the issues but Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We hope that as you travel through our area againg you come back to see the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Annapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Annapolis Hotel

Address: 173 Jennifer Road, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Annapolis Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Sheraton Annapolis Hotel, located minutes from the heart of Annapolis, is ready to welcome you. Let our experienced and friendly staff cater to all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Annapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Annapolis
Annapolis Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Annapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.