We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place from which to experience Annapolis.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annapolis Marriott Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Annapolis Marriott Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Compromise Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Annapolis
Drums, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THE place from which to experience Annapolis.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

For a trip to historic Annapolis, and the Naval Academy, you can easily hand your car over to the valet and walk anywhere, including Eastport in 10-15 minutes or less. The hotel is only a block from History Quest (a good introduction to the historic district, and sits on the water right between the historic harbor and the short bridge to Eastport.

The staff is excellent, especially concierge Maggie. We arrived over 6 hours before check-in and our room was not ready, but we were offered an upgrade to a top-floor water-view room that was ready immediately for a very small upgrade charge, which we gladly did. The room had a great view of downtown, ego alley, the harbor and the Naval Academy in the harbor background. I think you will have a great view waterfront, cityview, or in-between as we had, the higher floor the better.

The hotel will lend bicycles you could use around town, or use the beautiful bike trail at Quiet Waters Park, as we did. The fitness center is the largest and best equipped I have seen in a hotel, though there is no pool, surprising as that is at this price point. Anyway, if you go to Annapolis, get ON the water, not IN it. Particularly to sail on the Woodwind (74' wooden schooner), the Marriott is extremely convenient and helpful, since the Woodwind docks right next to the hotel restaurant's waterfront seating. The transfer is also easy, if you are spending your next night aboard Woodwind for "Boat & Breakfast" as we did, as you can remain in valet parking.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
What a wonderful overview of Annapolis and of our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write about all that we have to offer at the Annapolis Marriott! Thank you for also recognizing Maggie's customer service, she was thrilled to receive the recognition! All the Best, Annapolis Marriott Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    87
    59
    21
    16
See reviews for
75
151
20
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
annapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

The staff was wonderful. More than wonderful.
My room was extremely clean. The bed was 'fluffy" and very comfortable.
Room service and other services were immediately addressed. Food from room service was excellent. Never imagined I'd like an entree involving a grilled pineapple; now I dream of that.
My opinion of the restaurant is the same, excellent. The bar(s) are great. One is right on the dock. They serve very spicy Bloody Mary's and great Irish coffees :)
The location can't get much better. Close to everything.
My only complaints are internet service cost, parking cost and taxes. There are levels of internet service which is nice...but you will pay for it. You will pay for parking too. A lot. I think about $20 a night.
I think for the cost of this hotel, free internet and free parking would be in order. As for taxes...well I guess Marriott can't control that. Just an FYI, you may fall over when you see the bill due to tax.
Overall, my stay here was lovely and I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write an in depth review or our property. We appreciate all the great comments and feedback. To clarify the additonal charges we do offer valet parking only, for a fee of $22.00 per night with unlimited in and out access. We do charge for internet, as this is a brand standard for full service Marriott's and the taxes are 13%, 6% state tax and 7% occupancy tax. We do have areas of the hotel that we offer complimentary internet, during your next stay please ask the front desk and they will happily let you know where they are located.
Best regards,
Annapolis Marriott Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Sunday 6/13 - Tuesday 6/15 on our way back to NJ from a family visit to Richmond. This was our first visit to Annapolis and the hotel could not have been better situated for someone in our position. Our waterfront jacuzzi room afforded both a gorgeous harbor view and one of the US Naval Academy we later visited. We ate dinner both nights at the hotel's waterfront restaurant and found the food, service, and ambience there very enjoyable. A sunset cruise on Monday night aboard the ship which docked directly in front of our room was really fun. As would be expected, this convenience didn't come cheap. By the time taxes, valet parking, etc. were added, two nights, even with a AAA discount, set us back well over $700 before meals. Was it worth it? Given our limited time available in the area and the proximity of what we wanted to do/see (plus my love for a room with a view), yes it was. You'll have to decide for yourself based on your priorities. But, for a perfect location coupled with a view of the harbor, I saw nothing to compare.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our hotel. We hope that you will return again soon.

All the best,
Annapolis Marriott Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

My boyfriend and I came to Annapolis on a spur of the moment decision, just to get away and relax for the one night. We had stayed in this hotel before and were equally as pleased this time. I work in a restaurant/hotel facility in the Pocono Mountains (PA) and was very impressed with the staff at the Annapolis Marriot Waterfront. Each and every staff member we came in contact with was professional, friendly and accomodating; the valet even opened my door for me when we were leaving! We ate in the hotel restaurant, Pusser's, and it was DELICIOUS. I forget what it was called, but the waiter suggested a spicy chicken dish served with pasta and it was incredible...I wish I could have eaten more, but the portion was huge! I also enjoyed a very yummy cocktail...a Pusser's Two I think it was called, strong but not overpowering, kudos to the bartenders!

The hotel is in a great location to walk around downtown Annapolis and see the area. As always, the beds were heavenly and the room immaculate when we finally settled down.

We don't get away very often, so we wanted to thank the staff at this hotel for making our one night away together a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a second time and taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all the positive feedback and look forward to your return the next time you are in Annapolis!

Best Regards,
Annapolis Marriott Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Our stay was great. Very clean, very freindly staff. It has a awesome restaurant and great location to everything downtown. Wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

-Annapolis Marriott Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

This is a great choice for staying in Annapolis, as it is located right on the water near the main street of town.
The hotel itself is very well kept, and has all the amenities you would need. The staff was also really nice, and the whole atmosphere in the lobby was very welcoming.
The rooms are really large and beautiful with a HUGE television in the room, which is a really nice touch.
They did serve a complimentary xmas breakfast which was small but adequate, and a nice surprise since breakfast is not included at this hotel.
Overall - a very good choice for staying in downtown Annapolis!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Annapolis Marriott Waterfront over the holidays. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and wanted to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We hope that you will choose to stay with us the next time you are in Annapolis.

-Annapolis Marriott Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrigler
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding night, and were so impressed with the hotel. We have both grown up in the Annapolis area, but have never had the opportunity to experience Annapolis in such a beautiful way. It was a very memorable evening, and we will definitely consider a weekend getaway to the Annapolis Marriot again!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
Congratulations on getting married! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Annapolis Marriott for this special occasion and for posting a wonderful review.

-Annapolis Marriott Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Annapolis Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annapolis Marriott Waterfront

Address: 80 Compromise Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#12 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Annapolis Marriott Waterfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the seamless combination of 18th-century splendor and distinctive modern luxury at the Annapolis Marriott Waterfront - the premier Marriott hotel in Annapolis. Marvel at picturesque views of Chesapeake Bay and enjoy a charming welcome to this historic town from our downtown Marriott Annapolis Maryland hotel. Discover one of America's favorite colonial cities from your own private balcony. Witness a breathtaking sunset or watch a steady stream of glamorous sailboats drop anchor. Delight in state-of-the-art entertainment with Marriott's plug-and-play system and 42-inch flat panel HDTVs. Plan meetings effortlessly, with over 5,600 square feet of flexible meeting space. Whether hosting an intimate event for ten or a large-scale affair for 500, our Marriott Annapolis MD hotel can easily accommodate your needs. Book Annapolis hotel reservations for one of our 150 guest rooms or suites. Treat yourself to one of the most beautiful downtown Annapolis hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Annapolis Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Hotel Annapolis
Marriott Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.