We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Annapolis Marriott Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Annapolis Marriott Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Compromise Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Annapolis
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“4th of July Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We booked a cityview room for the weekend. We were given a room on the top (6th) floor and the cityview was excellent. We expected a parking lot and street view; we had a great view of the city dock and "Ego Alley" as they call it and the USNA waterfront. Could not have been better with one exception - the price was obscene in my opionion. But it was the 4th and it is the only one on the water I hear so...

Other than that, I have to say its been a very long time since we were in a hotel where every single staff member we had any type of interaction with was a pleasure! The valet parking staff, the front desk staff, the maintenance man, the room service staff, etc etc were all wonderful and we were amazed at how much attention we were paid and how upbeat they all were.

The room was very nice and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Our only suggestion would be that there was plenty of room for another chair (other than the desk chair) to go along with the chair and a half. In fact there was plenty of room for a loveseat or the like. As an aside, while its not really advertised well, the wifi is free is you don't need to do heavy duty downloads and the like. We just used it for checking email, FB, etc and that is available at no charge.

Now to the food and drink. We were absolutely impressed with just about everything we tried (as were our friends that joined us one evening). The prices for everything were very fair. And the food was very good. During our 2 day stay, the 4 of us ordered breakfasts, appetizers and dinners. The grouper fingers and tuna apps were outstanding. The coconut shrimp app was also very good and the Maryland crab soup was too. I am not a fan of the sweet sauce served with many of the meals, but the others enjoyed that. The crabcake, cobia, coconut shrimp and grouper dinners were all huge hits. You can sub sides which made it even better. I got the fries with my crabcakes and they were great!

Finally, our servers Amanda and Laura were the absolute BEST! Kudos to whomever hired them.

So that's it. Yep, I'd go back again, but not on a holiday simply due to the huge jump in price. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Bill W,
What a wonderful well written comments about the 4th of July stay. We appreciate you telling us about the great service interaction you had with all our staff. They truly enjoy taking care of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed Pussers for dining and received great service too. Please come back and visit us soon.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    89
    61
    22
    16
See reviews for
77
155
20
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Severn, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel seems a little pricey - but they do everything right; from a friends staff at check-in, superb valet staff, nice views of the waterfront and a restaurant - it all clicks. In the heart of downtown Annapolis, everything is within easy walking distance of the hotel. Water on all sides, the views don't get any better.

Room Tip: Rooms on the harbor side have their own balcony....highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear jerzeegolfer,
We love hearing how our friendly front desk and valet staff take care of our guests! Thank you for enjoying you stay in our great location on the waterfront.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We came to Annapolis for a few days of rest and relaxation. We could not have asked for a better hotel. The hotel is gorgeous and you can see the attention to detail in decor and how clean it was. Our room overlooked ego alley, and was very spacious. It was extremely clean, and the bedding looked fairly new. The staff was extremely welcoming, and went out of their way to give us some great recommendations on food and some touristy things to do. You could tell that they enjoyed working there. We absolutely love this hotel, and will be back when we come to Annapolis.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Jrpsl,
You noticed! We just completed a major renovation of the hotel. The beds and bedding are new too. Thank you for coming to our hotel to relax. We are delighted our staff took good care of you.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We requested early check-in, at least by 2:30 or 3. Finally got in at 3:30, had to call down for our luggage to be delivered after being assured they were bringing it up, room not impressive for price. Small bath, very small room after needing a rollaway for our daughter since they do not have rooms with 2 queens with harbor view. Yes, the view was great but did not get our upper floor, also requested months in advance. Amenities slim. As rewards member, thought they would be more accommodating. Not worth it. Won't stay again.

Room Tip: Insist on higher floor for harbor view. 2nd floor does not do it justice. No harbor view with more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear cyn p,
We want to apologize for your disappointing stay. Our valets are usually the ones the customer raves about. We do hope you will give us another chance to show you we can get it right like we have for so many other guests. Let us know when you are returning so we may get you a high floor and a bigger guestroom
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here to be close to family in Eastport and were able to take advantage of walking to many of the local attractions. The room was a good size, smelled very clean, and was comfortable. It had two closets so there was plenty of space to unpack and store our gear. The valets were very helpful and quick in retrieving our car since we were in and out so often. We are also Gold Marriott members and enjoyed an adjoining room with my father in law, even though it wasn't guaranteed. The view was terrific of Ego Lane, the state house, and the US Naval Academy. Overall, it was a great stay and we would recommend this hotel. The only thing we missed was a pool for our kids but with so much to do, we didn't have much time to use one anyway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sue H,
Thank you for staying us while visiting your family in Eastport. It is just a shout walk or water taxi ride from our hotel. We are happy we could accommodate your adjoining room with your father in-law and provide you with great views of the State House, The Naval Academy and of course the famous Ego Alley. We appreciate your comments on our valet service and on housekeeping cleanliness. Come back and stay with us again.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband I spent the weekend of Father's Day at the Anapolis Marriott Waterfront. The location of the hotel is the best. The view from our waterfront balcony was priceless.The room was clean and the staff provided us a good service despite the high volume of occupancy the hotel was experiencing at that time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear R R,
Thank you for spending Father’s Day with us! We are glad you enjoyed your beautiful view from you balcony. Come back and see us soon.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott for a Sunday evening to avoid driving home to Baltimore for a change. We loved the location so close to the city dock and Main Street. The room was ample and clean with a nice view of the town. The carpet seemed brand new and everything functioned well.
The front desk staff were nice and efficient both on check in and check out. They have Pusser's bar attached for a convenient watering hole or lunch spot. Hard to beat this hotel for comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear kjtripper,
Thank you for staying with us over a Sunday night and avoiding all the traffic back home! We enjoyed your kind comments about the hotel and our great staff! You are right, the carpet is new. We just completed our hotel renovation last month. We do have an excellent waterfront location with walking distance to anything you desire. Please come back and stay with us again.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Annapolis Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annapolis Marriott Waterfront

Address: 80 Compromise Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#12 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Annapolis Marriott Waterfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the seamless combination of 18th-century splendor and distinctive modern luxury at the Annapolis Marriott Waterfront - the premier Marriott hotel in Annapolis. Marvel at picturesque views of Chesapeake Bay and enjoy a charming welcome to this historic town from our downtown Marriott Annapolis Maryland hotel. Discover one of America's favorite colonial cities from your own private balcony. Witness a breathtaking sunset or watch a steady stream of glamorous sailboats drop anchor. Delight in state-of-the-art entertainment with Marriott's plug-and-play system and 42-inch flat panel HDTVs. Plan meetings effortlessly, with over 5,600 square feet of flexible meeting space. Whether hosting an intimate event for ten or a large-scale affair for 500, our Marriott Annapolis MD hotel can easily accommodate your needs. Book Annapolis hotel reservations for one of our 150 guest rooms or suites. Treat yourself to one of the most beautiful downtown Annapolis hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Annapolis Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Hotel Annapolis
Marriott Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.