We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Annapolis Marriott Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Annapolis Marriott Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Compromise Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Annapolis
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Was here for one night to visit Naval Academy. We were able to walk to the Academy and all the great restaurants nearby. Hotel is undergoing renovations so I would expect it to be even better for my next visit. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Joakley,
Thank you for staying with us for just one night. Next time you need to stay longer. There is so much to see and do in Annapolis for a week! We are delighted you enjoyed the prime location.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    83
    59
    21
    16
See reviews for
71
150
20
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

It's all about being in downtown Annapolis on the water - easy walk to the downtown resturant / bar / shopping scene, the historic landmarks and the Naval Academy. They're refurbishing again, so maybe the rooms will be nicer when they're done. The staff was helpful and polite. We planned our trip at the last minute and actually got a decent rate - don't count on that during the high season, boat shows or when Navy has a home football game.
We had room 422; arguably the best room in the hotel. Great views of the Naval Academy and Ego Alley.

Room Tip: Room 422 is the best. Request an upgrade to waterfront; it's worth the extra $. If you can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Chris T,
We are so glad you enjoyed the great location of our hotel. You do not need a car and can walk to shopping, great restaurants, outside cafes, pubs and of course the Naval Academy. We are renovating and should have a fresh new look for all our guests to enjoy. Come back and see us soon.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Partial water view was great (room 412) overlooks the drawbridge, water, sailboats, dock & sunrise. The activity of the drawbridge openings & my own traffic report lol! it's the best of both land & sea! Room service was quick, reasonable, generous portions. Valet is $22/night you can park next door for $20/day. The banquet hall next to the lobby turns into a nightclub on weekends there was a lot of college students due to spring break! I TOTALLY recommend it!!

Room Tip: Room 412 partial water, drawbridge, dock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Certified665,
We love you comments on wsatching the drawbridge. So many of our rooms have great views of sailboats, docks, marinas, sunrise and sunsets. Please come back and stay with us again and maybe this time you will have the State House town view.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights at the Marriott. The best thing about the property is the beautiful view of the water from the waterfront balcony rooms. The sunrise over the water was spectacular.
As noted by others, the location is also convenient. You can easily walk to the Naval Academy.
The rooms themselves are definitely not worth the $300+ rate. The toilet tank had a small leak. One of the hotel staff greeted me with a "how is it going buddy." Even though charming, a bit unorthodox. We waited for the room service for over an hour. I called the front desk back (which also took orders for room service) and they told me that they had sent the order to the wrong room, despite them having the room number identified on their phone system. The hotel restaurant had very slow service and the food was just the typical family style restaurant stuff.

Despite all this, I would still consider coming back...just for the view. I would not stay in any of the other rooms without the waterfront view.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear SixpackDC,
Thank you for your comments about the spectacular views from the waterfront balcony. We apologize for the slow food and beverage experience and we will retrain our staff to do a better job the next time you stay with us. You are right, we walking distance to the Naval Academy. Make sure you bring your ID and you will have the best waterfront walk or run in the city! We hope to see you back in Annapolis soon.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Marriott is the place to stay in Annapolis. The hotel is perfectly located in downtown Annapolis (an easy walk to bars, restaurants, and the Naval Academy). The hotel is beautifully decorated in a nautical theme, the rooms are spacious, and the on-site restaurant is excellent. I visit Annapolis frequently and this is my preferred hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear vveidkamp,
Thank you for your kind comments about our beautiful location and friendly staff! We are glad you enjoyed being in walking distance to restauarants,, bars and USNA. Pussers Restauarant does have the best waterfrtont veiws for all you dining. Thank for staying with us.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I'm giving this property a 5 because they meet my basic two requirements -- free wifi (as it should be at any place more expensive than $200/night), and plenty of big towels. At first glance, I was prepared to not like it. The public spaces, elevators, and room decor are a bit dated. However, after settling in, you see the solid elements: very spacious rooms, extremely comfortable beds and bedding, immaculately clean bathrooms and surfaces. In short, beyond the limitation of the age of the building itself, Marriott has put together an excellent place to stay. It's not flashy, and it's not a Four Seasons, but it's a great place, nonetheless.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear erdocmdca,
Thank you for your nice comments about our rooms, beds and bathrooms! We will be doing more renovations of the lobby, elevators and the corridors this year! We are glad you enjoyed the free wifi and the plush towels!
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We live in Washington, D.C. but wanted a little Friday night getaway. This hotel was just what the doctor ordered: a beautiful room, cheerful and helpful staff and a great location in downtown Annapolis. We were able to walk everywhere and the front desk staff recommendations for dinner were spot on. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear lookin4downtime,
You came to the right place to get away and relax. Thanks for your kind comments on our cheerful staff,, great location and we are delighted we recomended the right places for you to enjoy. When you need some more downtime, come back and visit us.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Annapolis Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annapolis Marriott Waterfront

Address: 80 Compromise Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Annapolis Marriott Waterfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the seamless combination of 18th-century splendor and distinctive modern luxury at the Annapolis Marriott Waterfront - the premier Marriott hotel in Annapolis. Marvel at picturesque views of Chesapeake Bay and enjoy a charming welcome to this historic town from our downtown Marriott Annapolis Maryland hotel. Discover one of America's favorite colonial cities from your own private balcony. Witness a breathtaking sunset or watch a steady stream of glamorous sailboats drop anchor. Delight in state-of-the-art entertainment with Marriott's plug-and-play system and 42-inch flat panel HDTVs. Plan meetings effortlessly, with over 5,600 square feet of flexible meeting space. Whether hosting an intimate event for ten or a large-scale affair for 500, our Marriott Annapolis MD hotel can easily accommodate your needs. Book Annapolis hotel reservations for one of our 150 guest rooms or suites. Treat yourself to one of the most beautiful downtown Annapolis hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Annapolis Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Hotel Annapolis
Marriott Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.