We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Annapolis Marriott Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Annapolis Marriott Waterfront to your Saves list
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Compromise Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights at the Marriott. The best thing about the property is the beautiful view of the water from the waterfront balcony rooms. The sunrise over the water was spectacular.
As noted by others, the location is also convenient. You can easily walk to the Naval Academy.
The rooms themselves are definitely not worth the $300+ rate. The toilet tank had a small leak. One of the hotel staff greeted me with a "how is it going buddy." Even though charming, a bit unorthodox. We waited for the room service for over an hour. I called the front desk back (which also took orders for room service) and they told me that they had sent the order to the wrong room, despite them having the room number identified on their phone system. The hotel restaurant had very slow service and the food was just the typical family style restaurant stuff.

Despite all this, I would still consider coming back...just for the view. I would not stay in any of the other rooms without the waterfront view.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear SixpackDC,
Thank you for your comments about the spectacular views from the waterfront balcony. We apologize for the slow food and beverage experience and we will retrain our staff to do a better job the next time you stay with us. You are right, we walking distance to the Naval Academy. Make sure you bring your ID and you will have the best waterfront walk or run in the city! We hope to see you back in Annapolis soon.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    95
    66
    26
    16
See reviews for
80
168
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Marriott is the place to stay in Annapolis. The hotel is perfectly located in downtown Annapolis (an easy walk to bars, restaurants, and the Naval Academy). The hotel is beautifully decorated in a nautical theme, the rooms are spacious, and the on-site restaurant is excellent. I visit Annapolis frequently and this is my preferred hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear vveidkamp,
Thank you for your kind comments about our beautiful location and friendly staff! We are glad you enjoyed being in walking distance to restauarants,, bars and USNA. Pussers Restauarant does have the best waterfrtont veiws for all you dining. Thank for staying with us.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I'm giving this property a 5 because they meet my basic two requirements -- free wifi (as it should be at any place more expensive than $200/night), and plenty of big towels. At first glance, I was prepared to not like it. The public spaces, elevators, and room decor are a bit dated. However, after settling in, you see the solid elements: very spacious rooms, extremely comfortable beds and bedding, immaculately clean bathrooms and surfaces. In short, beyond the limitation of the age of the building itself, Marriott has put together an excellent place to stay. It's not flashy, and it's not a Four Seasons, but it's a great place, nonetheless.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear erdocmdca,
Thank you for your nice comments about our rooms, beds and bathrooms! We will be doing more renovations of the lobby, elevators and the corridors this year! We are glad you enjoyed the free wifi and the plush towels!
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We live in Washington, D.C. but wanted a little Friday night getaway. This hotel was just what the doctor ordered: a beautiful room, cheerful and helpful staff and a great location in downtown Annapolis. We were able to walk everywhere and the front desk staff recommendations for dinner were spot on. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear lookin4downtime,
You came to the right place to get away and relax. Thanks for your kind comments on our cheerful staff,, great location and we are delighted we recomended the right places for you to enjoy. When you need some more downtime, come back and visit us.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We live nearby, but wanted to spend the night in Annapolis as a tourist. We chose the Waterfront Marriott for location, but will return for many reasons. We arrived to friendly valet and greeted at the front desk by staff that was happy to give us many recommendations for activities in town for the weekend. We checked into a beautiful room overlooking the waterfront and charming city with a bed that made you want to jump right in! We started our night at Pussers, attached to the hotel, with their delicious specialty drink "Pain Killer".
Our stay couldn't have been nicer. We will be back again and would recommend the Marriott Waterfront to anyone looking for the perfect Annapolis getaway!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear weekendreamer,
Thank you for your positive comments about valet and front desk staff!. Our team enjoys recomending great activities during your stay. Annapolis is a charming quiant city to eplore. Please come back to visit us again.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hotel was very accommodating as far as location in downtown Annapolis. My trip duration was for 7 nights and I definitely was comfortable enough to stay here again. It only took about a 2 minute walk to get to any restaurants and shops, however when I was there it was raining a lot. The valet guys would take me wherever I wanted to go without an issue. They were very nice. I must say that Nichola at the front desk was the nicest woman in the hospitality field that I have ever met. She gave me the warmest welcome as I arrived close to midnight my first night. All week, she checked up on me to make sure everything was running smoothly. She was incomparable to her co-workers. It was noticed when she had a day off. Please recommend Nichola for the best, she is an outstanding employee and I appreciated her gracious demeanor.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Erica G,
Thank you for your kind words about Nichola, our hospitality oriented Front Desk Manager. She is the best example of gracious host and her over the top sincere service to all our guests! We will make sure we celebrate her at our next all associate meeting. Thank you for mentioning our valet staff. We do have a complimentary Lexus shuttle for our guests to use in doesntown Annapolis, Our valets are the best! Please come back and visit us again.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Need a long summer weekend? Head to the Annapolis Marriott, park your car and you'll never need to get back in it again for three days. Great hotel, conveniently located next to the waterfront with spectacular views. Sunday brunch is very good as well as the waterfront bar and nightlife which is only steps away from the hotel. Rooms can be pricey in season. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Paul W,
After the winter we had this year, we are all ready for spring and summer to enjoy Annapolis! We see you checked into our hotel, dropped your bags, and went back to our Pusser dock bar with some light music to get you in the relaxing vacation mood. Thank you for commenting on our excellent Pusser Sunday Brunch located on the Waterfront. It is the best Sunday Brunch in Annapolis. We hope to see you soon.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Annapolis Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annapolis Marriott Waterfront

Address: 80 Compromise Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Annapolis Marriott Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the seamless combination of 18th-century splendor and distinctive modern luxury at the Annapolis Marriott Waterfront - the premier Marriott hotel in Annapolis. Marvel at picturesque views of Chesapeake Bay and enjoy a charming welcome to this historic town from our downtown Marriott Annapolis Maryland hotel. Discover one of America's favorite colonial cities from your own private balcony. Witness a breathtaking sunset or watch a steady stream of glamorous sailboats drop anchor. Delight in state-of-the-art entertainment with Marriott's plug-and-play system and 42-inch flat panel HDTVs. Plan meetings effortlessly, with over 5,600 square feet of flexible meeting space. Whether hosting an intimate event for ten or a large-scale affair for 500, our Marriott Annapolis MD hotel can easily accommodate your needs. Book Annapolis hotel reservations for one of our 150 guest rooms or suites. Treat yourself to one of the most beautiful downtown Annapolis hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Annapolis Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Hotel Annapolis
Marriott Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.