We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annapolis Marriott Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Annapolis Marriott Waterfront to your Saves list
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Compromise Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Excellent location and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a great time in Annapolis a few weeks ago--thanks in large part to the hotel's excellent location and friendly staff. It is a pleasant walk from the hotel to explore downtown, including all sorts of shops, restaurants, and entertainment. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the view was absolutely beautiful. The hotel staff was efficient and helpful. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    95
    67
    26
    16
See reviews for
80
168
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I enjoyed my weekend stay for a wedding i was attending. The hotel was clean, friendly, and the staff was extremely helpful. The hotel's location in the downtown area was very easy for me to access restaurants, shopping and historical landmarks. I can't wait to come back to Annapolis!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear 67strauss,

Thanks for the great feedback! We love catering to all the Beautiful Weddings at the only Waterfront location in Annapolis. We hope you return soon.

The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A great location and some of the friendliest hotel staff I have encountered in the Marriott family. Everyone was extremely helpful and regularly offered local recommendation and assistance with directions on what to see and where to go. I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent two nights in a waterfront balcony room - loved the view of the sailboats coming up to and leaving their moorings. The room was very comfortable. Housekeeping was superb. The room opened to a small balcony which had 2 iron chairs and a small table. Fortunately, the weather was beautiful. We sat out there watching all of the activity. The Naval Academy, City Dock, and most of the sights were an easy walk from the hotel. Cannot beat the location. If we visit Annapolis again, we would choose this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear kathy r,

We love when our customers come to enjoy the beautiful views. Thanks for your kind comments.

The Anapolis Marriott Waterfront Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We planned a quick stop on the way back from DC. We arrived to a very helpful parking valet during a very busy time. They efficiently and quickly got us to our room and ready to enjoy town for the last few hours of daylight. The room on the fifth floor had a great view of the powerboat show. This included about 1/4 of Ego Alley and the entire harbor, Bay Bridge to Kent Island, the Eastern Shore, etc. It was nice to watch the little sailboat fleets sailing about the harbor too. After a quick tour of town we actually picked up some takeout food and ate dinner while watching the harbor, watching the sun set. Beautiful! The furniture in the room was good except for one armchair that was quite worn. The hot tub was big, clean, and had plenty of hot water when we went to fill it. The bed was more comfortable than I am used to. Breakfast downstairs the next morning was a great value and very much enjoyed. Oh, almost forgot, I also enjoyed the sunrise over the Eastern Shore too! Some great photos for the memories! If you go down a floor, to the fourth, you can get a room with a balcony,but would only really be a necessity for me for nice weather, or a longer trip. Ours was just a HUGE window. Their parking also worked out great, parking in Annapolis can be challenging at times. We;ll go back again some day, I am sure. I do note it was slightly over 400 for the room, so we did pay for what we got.

Room Tip: fifth floor has a higher view but fourth floor has the (tiny) balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Roy W,
Thank you for staying with us over boat show! It certainly is convenient that our hotel is connected to the Sail and Power boat shows. We look forward to you staying with us again.
The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had a hard time deciding if I was going to write a review because on one hand, it’s not a full fledge review but a review on customer service along with providing information.
We visited the Marriott in July to see if we would like the venue to have our wedding. We met with the coordinator and went over some prices and discounts, including having the room fee waived, along with free patio heaters because it was offseason (part of the season package). She confirmed we had to wait 18 months out to book our wedding because we were a head of the game and planning for 2014. Which was fine. We wanted to sort out our finances to make sure we could afford it.
Everything sounded really good. But, we were always waiting for the catch…

In September, we emailed to get a contract and to go over some of the costs and the first thing that caught our eye was the minimum amount we needed to spend. Then we noticed she put in writing that it was for a 2013 Wedding Package not 2014, when we specifically told her our date was in 2014. We then noticed the (Package subject to change for 2014). So, if we did choose to sign a contract would that be null in void and would they be able to raise the prices due to the legalize they added? We knew places needed to make money and they would set thresholds to where we need to come in at but we didn’t expect it to be in bold print. When we initially went over our costs with her, there was no mention of the minimum amount, all she did was go over the discounts. So, when we discussed the discounts we found out that they were not exactly true either because we still had to meet the minimum. The discounts were there only if they suited Marriot. The prices from what we added up to what we HAD to spend was $3,000 a part. Maybe for some but this was a lot of money to us so we inquired to why the change and one of the responses that we received what that the minimum that was needed was actually quite low considering it was offseason. The total revenue in season was actually $6,000 more. So, instead of working with us because we thought we were a head of the game, they chose to provide the company stance. It felt like we were being penalized for trying to book to early.

After my initial TripAdvsor review I received a private mail from the General Manager because she wanted to do her own research and get back to me. She even indicated that after speaking with the Catering Department she will see to work within what we thought the total cost will be. I even had a private conversation with her and she assured me that she understood how we could come up with the $3,000 difference. After speaking with her, I felt like we were going to get a positive resolution. I was wrong: I received the following response.

I apologize for the misunderstanding with Courtney. Your comments will make us work harder on being clear in our communication going forward.

As food costs fluctuate, our banquet menus, specials, and prices are constantly changing and we cannot guarantee that they will stay the same in 2014. We do apologize for the confusion this may have caused and do appreciate the time you spent visiting our venue.

Thank you for taking the time to visit our hotel.

Best of luck on your future nuptials!

So, let’s recap:
Send out a contract with 2013 figures knowing it was a 2014 wedding (coordinator)
Show there are discounts but only if total revenue is created to their liking (coordinator)
State to me how the confusion could occur (General Manager)
Provide a standard company line instead of working with someone. (General Manager)

I’ve even tried to call after I received the email to get a better understanding but no one picks up.

Room Tip: I've read quite a few reviews, I would say write things done but it appears that doesn't wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
It was good to talk to you again yesterday and we appreciate your feedback. We certainly will do a better job communicating the minimum food and beverage wedding price to our clients with the additional charge for of the patio fee. Thanks again for your feedback. The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

You can't beat the location!!!! But there were some problems.
1. Water Pressure SUCKS! If you like cold showers then the pressure will be fine, but the hotter you like it, it becomes almost a trickle. God help you if you have lots of hair...plan on a VERY long shower to get the soap out.
2. Our room had NO shampoo and a half used bottle of body wash when we checked in. NOT GOOD!!
3. Hair dryers are those wall mounted ones. I HATE them...they get your hair dry, but you can not style it. Bring your own.
4. Restaurant was very good...they had the Sunday Brunch set up on Saturday (Navy Homecoming Weekend with lots of people) We ordered off the menu....good service, fast and an AWESOME view!!!
5. You have to ask to use the business center to print out your tickets. Just a bit inconvenient.
6. Calling the front desk was difficult. Took 4 attempts to get through to get our car out of valet. It kept going to voice menu..."Press 1 for Operator, Press 2 for...." I would hit 1 and would get "Press 1 for Operator, Press 2 for...." Did that 4 times until someone actually answered.

Overall, ok hotel, expensive and expected a shower that worked and shampoo in the bathroom for the money we spent. But I have to admit the location was perfect!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuther, Manager at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Cancunvacation 62,

Thank you for your feeback. We will be renovating our guestrooms, bathrooms and Lobby in 2013. Our goal is to make some of the changes you suggested. We will eliminate the wall mounted hair dryers and the business center will be moverd into the lobby. Thank you for all your feedback. We look forward to your return.

The Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Annapolis Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annapolis Marriott Waterfront

Address: 80 Compromise Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Annapolis Marriott Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the seamless combination of 18th-century splendor and distinctive modern luxury at the Annapolis Marriott Waterfront - the premier Marriott hotel in Annapolis. Marvel at picturesque views of Chesapeake Bay and enjoy a charming welcome to this historic town from our downtown Marriott Annapolis Maryland hotel. Discover one of America's favorite colonial cities from your own private balcony. Witness a breathtaking sunset or watch a steady stream of glamorous sailboats drop anchor. Delight in state-of-the-art entertainment with Marriott's plug-and-play system and 42-inch flat panel HDTVs. Plan meetings effortlessly, with over 5,600 square feet of flexible meeting space. Whether hosting an intimate event for ten or a large-scale affair for 500, our Marriott Annapolis MD hotel can easily accommodate your needs. Book Annapolis hotel reservations for one of our 150 guest rooms or suites. Treat yourself to one of the most beautiful downtown Annapolis hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Annapolis Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Hotel Annapolis
Marriott Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.