We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but overpriced - service could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Annapolis Marriott Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Annapolis Marriott Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Compromise Street, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Annapolis
Phila, PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but overpriced - service could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Can't beat the location, but you pay for it. Reserved two rooms for a 50th family birthday and it was quite a splurge ($700 including taxes total). Website said the rooms were equipped with a sleep sofa and I needed it for one room. At check-in, was told it was a sleep chair and they said they'd bring up a roll-away. Two requests later, the roll-away never arrived and my teen son kept us up all night, on the floor, on the chair, chair mattress on the floor, etc. At check out, there was no manager on the premises, according to the front desk. It was lovely sipping drinks dockside, but don't think it was money well spent given poor service. I also would have expect ed free internet at a hotel of this caliber/price range.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I apologize for the miscommunication and service issues with the front desk regarding the sleeper chair/ sofa/ roll away. We do have some rooms with sleep sofa's but not all of them. I will share your comments with our front desk to ensure we don't have this issue again. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and for helping future guests.

-Annapolis Marriott Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    83
    58
    20
    16
See reviews for
71
148
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We (my husband, Au Pair, 9mo twins and I) all stayed at the Annapolis Marriott Waterfront last weekend for a weekend away and had a wonderful time! It was so nice to check in with the smiling front desk staff...even better when they said the cribs were already set up in our room! We had a room with 2 double beds and a great town view. Still plenty of room even with the cribs! The blackout curtains are a must with small children trying to nap, so that was a huge plus for us. We had lunch at Pusser's, the hotel restaurant...loved the Oysters Rockafeller, Jerk Chicken Quesadilla and Key Lime Soda! It was so relaxing to just sit and watch the boats go by with a cold drink. The cutest little shops and historic sites are only steps away and a very easy walk. That night we got steamed crabs for dinner and then walked to a bar for a drink (while our Au Pair watched the sleeping babies) but ended up at Pusser's again and had their Level 4 Pain Killer...what a great way to end the night! :) After a busy day and night out it was so nice to sleep in those super comfy beds. Wish I had one at home! All in all, I'd highly recommend this hotel for business, a weekend away, a family trip or for whatever might bring you to Annapolis. The location, staff and amenities can't be beat!

Room Tip: Few balcony rooms per floor, they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such an in depth review of our hotel and city! We appreciate that you chose to share your experience with others in such detail and we are happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience. We hope that you will return soon!

-Annapolis Marriott Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We only stayed one night a few days ago but the service was unbelievable. We arrived a little early and I was worried we wouldn't get in. They had our room ready to go and it was a corner room with a view of the city and of the harbor. I was checked into my room in under 60 seconds and on my way.

The hotel has a great location and a great restaurant downstairs. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for you review on trip advisor! We strive to make our check in process as easy as possible for our guests and we appreciate that you commented on this aspect of our service and that you recommended our hotel to others. Thank you!

-Annapolis Marriott Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent Saturday night at this hotel after boating all day. Overall, it was a very comfortable room, great bed, and nice shower. I am a Priority Club InterContinental member so it is always good to check out other hotel chains, but I missed the benefits of being a priority club member. Even though I was a Silver Marriott member, it still cost me $20 to upgrade to a water view room and I did not even receive any breakfast coupons. Still this is a great location and within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for chosing to stay at a Marriott property during your recent stay in Annapolis and for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

-Annapolis Marriott Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

The hotel seems to be in real need of a makeover but the location makes up for its aged appearance. It seems to be the only hotel on the water downtown and it's right next to the Naval Academy. The service is very speedy and attentive. Make sure to sit by the water and enjoy their delicious Bloody Mary (extra spicy) and very reasonably priced for a fancy Marriott propery.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and I am happy to be able to tell you that we do have plans for guest room renovations in the first part of the year!

-Annapolis Marriott Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Wonderful attentive staff - great attention to detail - eager to please. Patrick placed dinner reservations for us at the Chart House where we were treated like VIP just because we were staying at the Marriott. We were seated immediately - the manager visited our table - and also the chef just to check on our dining experience because we were from the Marriott. Dinner was excellent!
Next year for our anniversary we are doing the same lovely trip!

Room Tip: Used priceline and got a great rate too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for celebrating it with the Annapolis Marriott! We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and at the Chart House. They are a wonderful restaurant and always treat our guests well! We look forward to seeing you again next year if not sooner!
-Annapolis Marriott Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

My wife and I and our four daughters, ages 9-17, had a fabulous stay at the Annaplois Marriott Waterfront Hotel. The location is extraordinary and the town is fantastic. We toured historic Annapolis and all of the beautifully preserved historic properties and wonderful restaurants and shops. Then, we watertaxied to the old Trumpy boathouse for a fabulous dinner at the Chart House. The kids had fun at the hotel later that evening, including playing games on the Wi in our room. On Sunday, we walked to church, worked out at the gym, had a super lunch on the dock at Pussers, and toured the Naval Acadamy facilities and sights. Lastly, we visited Quiet Waters Park and the Annapolis Mall. Perfect trip, we all agreed!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMarriottRep, Director of Sales at Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for the fantastic review and for taking the time to post about your stay. It sounds like you and your family created a lot of wonderful memories and we are happy to be a part of them. Thank you for staying at the Annapolis Marriott and we hope that you return soon!

- Annapolis Marriott Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Annapolis Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annapolis Marriott Waterfront

Address: 80 Compromise Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#12 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Annapolis Marriott Waterfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the seamless combination of 18th-century splendor and distinctive modern luxury at the Annapolis Marriott Waterfront - the premier Marriott hotel in Annapolis. Marvel at picturesque views of Chesapeake Bay and enjoy a charming welcome to this historic town from our downtown Marriott Annapolis Maryland hotel. Discover one of America's favorite colonial cities from your own private balcony. Witness a breathtaking sunset or watch a steady stream of glamorous sailboats drop anchor. Delight in state-of-the-art entertainment with Marriott's plug-and-play system and 42-inch flat panel HDTVs. Plan meetings effortlessly, with over 5,600 square feet of flexible meeting space. Whether hosting an intimate event for ten or a large-scale affair for 500, our Marriott Annapolis MD hotel can easily accommodate your needs. Book Annapolis hotel reservations for one of our 150 guest rooms or suites. Treat yourself to one of the most beautiful downtown Annapolis hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Annapolis Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront Hotel Annapolis
Marriott Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annapolis Marriott Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.