We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not luxury...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Annapolis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Annapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Annapolis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   126 West St., Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Day at the Bay Deal
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Annapolis
NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice, but not luxury...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

The rooms were definitely nice, and extremely large. However, I get the feeling that this hotel was trying to market itself as an upscale luxury hotel. This wasn't really the case. The bathroom was small and plain, and had a rack over the toilet that look like it cost $10. The bellhops were just in the way, and, as always with most hotels, the parking was a rip off at $22/day. The location was great, and the bed was comfortable. Internet was also expensive at $10/day. I would stay here again if I could get the same deal, but probably not if I had to pay their regular market rates. Oh, and there was no pool, which was disappointing on some rainy days.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    179
    79
    36
    17
See reviews for
111
201
28
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richboro, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

I had to respond to the last review of the Loews indicating it was rundown and the bedding, etc. was outdated.

I stayed here in September for 3 nights. We had a corner suite that was nothing but COMFORTABLE!. The maid came twice a day, morning and evening, to clean and freshen the room, the towels. She always offered fresh and complimentary water. There was not a charge for the waters that were left.

The bedding was wonderful. The linens were of higher quality, but I do have to say that the towels could have been a little more luxurious.

The staff always said hello, offered to help, gave great restaurant recommendations. The valet secured a cab to us one night for dinner. He even gave us HIS card to call so that he would arrange a cab back to the hotel.

In conclusion, the hotel was not in disrepair or outdated. The staff, cleanliness, and room made for a great few days' escape.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Remember the days of 4 dollars for a bottle of water in your room? Charge for local calls? Hallways that smell like ashtrays? All that and more is still available at this aging hotel. Even the "down" button on the elevator did not work. I had asked for a king but was given two double beds. Bedding not up to current standards. Very overpriced for the rooms available. Go for the Westin down the street!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed at the Loews Annapolis Hotel 4 days, 3 nights during Labor Day Weekend. We didn't know what to expect as we had never stayed at a Loews Hotel, nor had we ever been to Annapolis. We ended up being quite happy with our selection overall and Annapolis was a lot of fun, we definitely plan to return.

Hotel - overall, it was excellent. The lobby was lovely and the check-in process was smooth and efficient. We arrived much earlier than expected (10 am) and were given our room right away which was great. The person at the desk was very courteous and very helpful. She provided us with a local map, a list of recommended restaurants, and we couldn't have asked for more.

Our room was very comfortable, faced the front of the hotel and was well appointed. Comfortable king sized bed, spacious room, and nice amenities in the bathroom. Everything was in excellent condition and the room size was very comfortable. Robes were provided in the room, and everything was very clean. The room even had a small refrigerator which was very convenient so that we could keep a few beverages and stuff in it. Coffee maker and coffee/teas were also in the room although we did not use them. Also, the Loews is a pet friendly hotel, however, I didn't see any dogs in the hotel. We did see tons of dogs everywhere in town. We like dogs and all animals, so it was fine with us.

One of the hotels very close to the middle of town was the Marriott, however, we found it to be a bit overcrowded and loud so we're not sure what it would be like to stay there. We were glad that our hotel was not overcrowded, nor was it noisy. Although our windows faced the front of the hotel, at night, it was quiet and very peaceful. No traffic noise, etc. However, if you want to be right smack in the heart of it all, the Marriott definitely provides that.

Neighorhood - After we checked in, we decided to head straight to the downtown area. It was about a 5-7 minute walk and there were a lot of restaurants along the way. We ate breakfast, lunch, dinner at a different restaurant every day and there was a good variety to choose from. The only concern that we initially had was the first day. When walking from Loews straight to the downtown area, we saw some folks that were just sitting on the benches at the bus stops, and loitering around the neighborhood. We were initially concerned that they would solicit us, etc., but being New Yorkers, we acclimated to this very quickly and saw that we were not in a "dangerous" area nor did anyone solicit us. As a matter of fact, they greeted us with "good morning, etc." as we walked by. There was really nothing to be concerned about. The area seems to be undergoing a gentrification of improvements but nothing more overall.

We typically went out to breakfast, stayed out all day, and walked back to the hotel around 10 pm-ish and never had a worry or concern.

Activities - We found lots to do in Annapolis. There's a lot of little shops, water tours of the Chesapeake Bay, sailing, bus tours, horse and carriage rides, guided tours of the Naval Academy, you can visit the State Capitol, art galleries, etc.

Restaurants - plenty of restaurants and ice cream shops. Pussers was one of our favorites, however, a restaurant called Maria's (sicilian) was the worst Italian food that I've ever had. Perhaps it was an off night for the chef, but it was pretty awful.

Overall, Annapolis was a great getaway and we will definitely be returning to Loews. The hotel had everything we needed and we had a great stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALWashingtonDC, Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
Thank you for your detailed commentary on our hotel. We have a great team and love to hear when our guests truly enjoy their experience. Come back and bring your dog!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
work
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Within walking distance to everything. We got a great deal thru AAA by booking early. The room was very clean. I can't say enough about our Consierge (Colette or Coleen) she was just wonderful. She explained everything to us in detail.When we called for our car it was ready in minutes. Everyone was very helpful. The Breeze restaurant we enjoyed for Lunch on Thursday our day of arrival and had a wonderful waitress, but Thursday for dinner we didn't think they had enough items to choose from and they didn't have enough help. We waited 1 1/2 hrs. before our food was served, and I ordered something from their lunch menu.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALWashingtonDC, Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
Thank you for your comments. Colette is GREAT! And she obviously loves what she does!! Looks like we needed some extra help in the restaurant...Our new menu goes into effect tomorrow...come on back, I think you will be pleasantly surprised. Thanks again for your comments...they certainly help as we continually look for ways to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

This hotel had comfortable rooms and good meeting rooms (although some noise came through the divider from a noisier meeting next door). Stayed near the front (street) and the windows let in some noise but late at night in Annapolis there is not a lot of noise anyway. The only weird part was the layout with respect to elevators, the floors are quite large to be serviced by one set of (three) central elevators.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JALWashingtonDC, Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We are an ideal location for small meetings or events up to 900 reception style in our atrium and ballroom. We look forward to your return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I recently stayed 5 nights at the Loews with my husband and our son and was extremely pleased with the hotel. The location is convenient to historic Annapolis as well as easily accessible to the main roads. The hotel was quite friendly and accomodating to us and our 2-yr-old ... the staff in the Breeze restaurant (particularly the breakfast staff) always warmly greeted our arrival and were happy to promptly bring some Cheerios or warmed milk to our table. The breakfast buffet had a nice balance of fruit, yogurt and a warm dish -- perfect for both us adults and for sharing with our little one. We also had 2 dinners there and were quite satisfied with the quality of the food and variety of the offering.

Our king bed room was comfortable and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. The crib they initally provided was a bit rickety and they promptly replaced it with a sturdy pack n play.

Although it's always difficult to pay for parking ($22 does seem a lot, but we paid $30 in Baltimore during the same trip), the valet service was always prompt, courteous and helpful.

The only reason that I'm giving it 4* instead of 5 is that, while it was comfortable, clean and friendly, I wouldn't call it luxurious which is how it describes itself. Maybe I just need to be sure I get to the spa on our next visit. :)

We will be returning to the Loews in the near future, I am sure.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Annapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Annapolis Hotel

Address: 126 West St., Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#2 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Annapolis Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Chesapeake Bay, Loews Annapolis Hotel welcomes you with warm charming guest rooms and luxurious suites decked out in nautical style. Enjoy the comfort and outstanding service of the Chesapeake Bay's favorite choice among Annapolis luxury hotels. In the surrounding area, Loews is your most welcoming port. The premier hotel facility in this charming resort town, the Loews Annapolis Hotel offers a variety of unique suites, meeting spaces, and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Amex, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews Annapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Annapolis
Annapolis Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Annapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.