We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservations are a suggestion” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Annapolis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Annapolis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Loews Annapolis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   126 West St., Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Beverages & Parking
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Annapolis
Arnold, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Reservations are a suggestion”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had booked a room for our wedding night of July 5th 2013 weeks in advance. When we arrived we were told that the room with the king size bed was not available because some people had not left the hotel on time. We suggested upgrading us but, no rooms were available. They told us there were no rooms available other than a room with two double beds (seriously on our wedding night!!) We were told that any other available room may not be safe. Finally after after a long discuss they gave us a room with a queen size bed. After getting to the room we found the temperature set to 92 degrees, which made it unbearable. The breakfast was substandard, and the service poor. On checkout we were told that a reservation is only a suggestion and they don't have to provide what is requested. This turned out to be a two star hotel at the most. Never again will we stay there. There is a nicer hotel right up the street.

Room Tip: Don't bother getting a reservation. It means nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnGeneralManager, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Good Day - I was terribly sorry to hear about your recent experience at the Loews Annapolis. If you'd care to discuss further, and allow us the opportunity to rectify, please contact 410-263-7777 and ask to speak with the General Manager. We truly value and appreciate your feedback. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    153
    69
    34
    16
See reviews for
85
187
25
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over July 4th holiday and I feel we got a good deal for our deluxe double room. The lobby is really nice, valet service is super quick. The restaurant had great food but was understaffed for the holiday rush. The trolley goes right by the hotel so you can either ride it (free) or easily walk to all the shops, etc. No complaints!
We've stayed at the Weston in Annapolis too and I prefer the Loews.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Annapolis bills itself (on the Maryland website) as the most dog friendly town in Maryland. I think that is actually true! After a rather disappointing morning of sightseeing along the western Chesapeake Bay shore, it was time for lunch in Annapolis. The Loews' location, away from the hubbub of the City Dock area, was welcome, and our boxer, Izzie, was quite happy to relax with us on the Loews' patio. She was welcomed profusely. Her chicken breast was cooked perfectly ($4) Lunch was an uplifting experience after our inhospitable experiences in the bay towns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnGeneralManager, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello, and thank you for the feedback about your stay - indeed, Annapolis is a very pet friendly town, and "Loews loves pets"! We host a spectacular Canines & Cocktails event the last Friday of every month on our WEST patio. It's a great time, and it supports the local animal charities. Maybe you can join us sometime! We look forward to welcoming you and Izzie back soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I were there for 3 nights including the 4th of July. We were able to get a table by the window in the West restaurant and watch the 4th of July parade while eating dinner... a fun treat and slice of Americana!! Our stay at the Loews was very nice and it is a great location for an easy walk to the City Dock to watch the fireworks as well as shop and dine on Main Street. The self parking was very convenient. Our room was ready when we arrived. We will definitey stay at the Loews again the next time we return to Annapolis. For $152 a night (before taxes) we thought it was very reasonably priced for the quality and location. P.S. There is an atrium with rooms that open around it. If there is an event there on a Friday or Sat night in the ballroom adjacent to the atrium I am guessing these rooms could be a bit noisy. We were fortunate to be in a hallway off the atrium so our room was very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had been to Annapolis before, but not overnight, so we wanted to come back with our dog because it is such a dog friendly town. We thought this hotel was awesome. We were able to get an early check in and went up to the room. We were in the room for a short time when there was a knock at the door...one of the employees brought us a doggie "goodie bag" which our dog loved! The hotel staff made us feel welcomed and were very friendly (not just to us, but also to our dog). The bed and the pillows were out of this world, so comfortable! The room could have been a little cooler (we had the temperature all the way down, but it was really hot out). The only negative thing (I hate saying negative because it was very minor) bout the room was the temperature of the refrigerator. It barely kept things cold and there was no way to adjust it. The room could have also used a microwave, but those are just minor things. We also really liked the fact that we could take our dog directly outside to do her business without going through the lobby area. The town is just incredible! We loved the fact that our dog could go in almost every shop The outdoor dining was great, every meal we had was terrific. We also loved the free trolley service that ran in a loop around the town. We went to the Commodor lounge (I think that was the name of it) for breakfast and really enjoyed everything they had....great scones and they even had diet coke for me since I don't drink coffee in the morning. We will definitely be back and are already planning a trip in September. We will be staying at this hotel and will be recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Checking in was a breeze, the room was clean and up to date. They even had plush robes in the room and a night light in the bathroom. The floor I was on was quiet!! This is the first time in a long time that I stayed in a place where the walls weren't paper thin. The bed was comfortable and had an assortment of pillows of different firmness so you can most likely find one you like. The staff I met were friendly and helpful. The bar is a bit more pricey than you'd expect at a happy hour time of weekday. I would definitely stay here again. Well within walking distance of the state capitol and all the restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I'll begin with what was enjoyable. The hotel is pretty, especially the common areas and well situated to walk to the main sites and water ways in Annapolis. The room for slightly north of $200 a night was sufficient. You will be neither disappointed or blown away by it. Service however was another story. We sat in the bar for a good 20 minutes before we could even place an order. It was July 4th and they did apologize the hotel was only moderately occupied and they were clearly understaffed. When they arrived, the cocktails were quite nice. I don't suggest paying for the upgrade to the Commodore Lounge, unless you are staying with a large crowd. The lounge did not provide cocktails, as it does at other Loews. It provided an ok breakfast of cereal, pastries, coffee and juice. But for the $25 cost, you could have a truly great breakfast at one of the nearby cafes. The lounge is also tiny and most of our party had to stand during breakfast as it was jam packed. Lots of other little minor annoyances, in room coffee machine not working etc. If you paid $125 a night, you would probably not care, but the service was definitely not what you would expect from a place that bills itself as a high end property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnGeneralManager, General Manager at Loews Annapolis Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the the time to provide feedback regarding your stay - the service issues in the Bar can, and will be addressed, and our sincerest apologies for the miscues. Your feedback regarding the Commodore Lounge is insightful and useful, as we commence our meeting space and guest room renovations later this year. Thank you for choosing Loews for your Annapolis visit, we hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Annapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Annapolis Hotel

Also Known As:
Loews Annapolis
Annapolis Loews
Address: 126 West St., Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#5 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Annapolis Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Chesapeake Bay, Loews Annapolis Hotel welcomes you with warm charming guest rooms and luxurious suites decked out in nautical style. Enjoy the comfort and outstanding service of the Chesapeake Bay's favorite choice among Annapolis luxury hotels. In the surrounding area, Loews is your most welcoming port. The premier hotel facility in this charming resort town, the Loews Annapolis Hotel offers a variety of unique suites, meeting spaces, and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, Otel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Loews Annapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Annapolis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.