We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Historic Inn in a Fabulous Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Inns of Annapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Inns of Annapolis to your Saves list
Historic Inns of Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off | WEB SPECIAL
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Lovely Historic Inn in a Fabulous Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I got to the Governor Calvert House after major car trouble, then a business meeting that ran late. By the time that my sister and I arrived, we were hot and tired. The front desk staff went all-out to make us feel welcome and relaxed. There's ice water and cold lemonade in a lovely server near the reception desk, and the public rooms in the inn are SO beautiful!

Gov. Calvert House is located opposite the State Capital Building, and its an easy walk to all of the sites and restaurants in Annapolis. The neighborhood is quiet, and the valet parking eliminates the major problem in Annapolis--no place to put your car. So give it to the valet, and use your feet; it's a very small town.

The desk clerk decided to change our room assignment, so I don't know where he was putting us originally, but he moved us to the fourth floor because a very exuberant wedding was in progress. The room was very large, and it had two terrific queen-sized beds with good quality linens. The only disappointment was that the room had a tiny window with no view. Again, this might have had something to do with our late check in, and next time I'll be sure to ask for a room with a view.

The bathroom was spotless and well appointed; I especially liked the English toiletries. The nozzle on the shower left me a bit puzzled, but I managed to work that out.

We were ready to turn in at 9, and the wedding was still in full swing, but at 9:30 the band stopped playing, and we had silence. That seemed very reasonable to me.

Breakfast is an assortment of muffins and Danish pastries, plus apples and coffee. Some juice and a bit of butter and jam would be a nice addition. Breakfast was served in a room with a see-through floor, so that we could look at the original foundations of the building. We took our meal to a little side patio with wrought-iron furniture and a lovely view of the Statehouse and the gardens. So very relaxing!

Before strolling around town, we asked if we could have a late checkout, since we had arrived later than anticipated, and the front desk staff immediately said yes. When we returned, the valet got our car promptly, and offered to help with the luggage. The inn staff makes a real effort to be welcoming and helpful, and it gave us a very good feeling about the entire stay. I would definitely return to this charming, friendly inn.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the Statehouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear NYView:

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. I was so very pleased to hear that our front desk team made you feel so welcome after what must have been a very stressful day for you and your sister. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary coffee and muffins in the Governor Calvert House and that our valet team provided the same level of service as did our Front Desk. It was great you got a chance to get out and about in the Historic District; as you said it is really very pleasant and offers a variety of venues to see and experience.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    172
    62
    45
    49
See reviews for
136
324
29
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, md
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I have stayed at this property on two separate occasions, in addition to hosting our wedding here at the Governor Calvert House location. Prior to our wedding, we had never heard of this property however it quickly came on our radar during our research for affordable, and unique venues for our reception. I'll start with the wedding...
The entire wedding planning process, through and after the event was a great experience, which was well organized, and a great event from start to finish, thanks to Michelle, our wedding coordinator from Historic Inns. Michelle provided us with great menu options, assistance with table decorations, room decorations, liaison to the bakery, music, and overall management of the day to ensure things ran smoothly for us at the venue. The food itself was fantastic, with many options we really enjoyed at the tasting. We had a difficult time narrowing down the menu for appetizers and entrees, and received many compliments on how great the food was. The hotel provided a block of rooms to the guests, at a very affordable rate enabling nearly all our guests to stay downtown. The overall venue had a very unique feel and a great layout with an outdoor space, dining area and a cocktail/dancing area. This provided a good flow and plenty of room for the guests to spread out over.
The rooms were well appointed, and nicely updated with modern touches, while maintaining the historic theme of the hotel. Most of our guests stayed at the actual Calvert house and were very pleased with their rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Vrs222:

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent Wedding at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Michelle Vellon, our Director of Catering, does a great job helping to ensure the Bride’s Vision is realized! I am so happy to read you had a great experience with Michelle and that our Banquet and Culinary teams followed through on what you and she discussed.

We do nearly 80 weddings each year, and do them very well. Thank you for trusting us on such and important day. I am delighted we helped to make it so special. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed 4 days in the Maryland inn and 2 nights in the Governor Calvert house. Two very different stays. My wife found the Maryland to be dated, old, and loud. TV would go on at 3 in the am 3 nights in a row . We think this was because of thin walls and strong remotes, not other worldly reasons as one guest was claiming to us. If anybody is walking nearby you hear it. The Calvert house room was much nicer, newer, quiet and less dated. Also the room was not as dark. The location is excellent and really can't be beat. 20+$ a day to park a car so we did not get one. Can walk everywhere in Historic Annapolis and take taxi to movie or mall. Many fun places to eat and drink within walking distance. No need for a car. Staff works hard and seem very busy. Rolls and coffee in the am are nice but will not pass for a breakfast for the average person. So I think the location trumps other issues, but in my opinion, stay at the Calvert over the Maryland. The location is great.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Troy1:

Thank you for posting your feedback. I apologize that you were disappointed in the Maryland Inn. Our three buildings each have different “personalities,” so to speak and many of our guests do have personal preferences. I am glad that you enjoyed the Calvert House and you are absolutely correct about our location; we are truly in the middle of the Historic District and you can walk to everything.

Our Treaty of Paris restaurant, located in the Maryland Inn, is open daily at 7:00 and serves a great breakfast for those who need something more than a “grab and go.” We appreciate your patronage and your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had a fabulous stay over the 4th of July weekend at the Calvert House. It's historical, the location is fantastic, and the rooms are beautifully decorated (we had a view of the capital right outside our window). You are in walking distance of everything you could possibly want to see. They also serve breakfast pastries with tea & coffee each morning but if you want a bigger breakfast there are plenty of places to go nearby. It is also situated in a quieter part of town. The staff is very nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Southern Peaches:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay. It was great to see that you got to spend the 4th of July in Annapolis, once the Capital of the United States, and that you chose to do so with us.

I was happy to see you found our location to be ideal and that members of our team were “nice and helpful.” We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you back again soon – don’t wait for a Holiday!

Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at check in to receive an upgrade to one of their suites. The sweet turned out to be a rather oddly configured room, with the bed on one side of the bathroom in the sitting room on the other. That being said, the room had a nice view of the harbor end of Main Street. The room was clean, and a good value. The feather comforter on the queen bed was a nice touch.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Dieter S:

Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. I was very pleased that we were able to provide you with an upgrade upon arrival. The room you were assigned does have an odd layout, as you noted. The primary reason is due to the physical structure of that building, which has been continuously open since 1776.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed the room nonetheless, finding it to be both clean and a good value. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at the Governor Calvert House over the Fourth of July weekend. After reading other reviews on this site, I asked the reservation person about her recommendations on what type of room to reserve. She was very helpful and explained the different types of lodging available and offered her opinion about which rooms were best for which groups of people. Based on her recommendation, we booked a historic queen room and were very satisfied. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed not having to use our car at all during our stay. Everything was within walking distance. We found the room to be charming and quite large. The four post bed was comfortable and we had no trouble with the wifi. We enjoyed the ice water and lemonade in the lobby. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who asked. We had considered staying in the Loews hotel and were glad that we made the choice we did.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell the reservations department what you needs are and specifically ask about room ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Susan N:

Thank you for your feedback about staying with the Historic Inns over the 4th of July. I was pleased to read our reservation agent did a great job explaining the room types that were available and helping to ensure we got you in the right place. I’m glad as well that other aspects of your stay contributed to a 5 Star Rating. We will continue to strive for this level of quality with all of our guests.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at the Maryland Inn which is apart of the Historic Inns of Annapolis and we had a wonderful stay. The Inn was very quaint and the service was great. The location couldn't have been any better and is great for walking around Annapolis. We would definitely stay there again on a future trip to Annapolis.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear LDD8304:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the Maryland Inn and that both our service and location was “great!” We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Inns of Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.