We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Inns of Annapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Inns of Annapolis to your Saves list
Historic Inns of Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Web Special | 20% Off
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at check in to receive an upgrade to one of their suites. The sweet turned out to be a rather oddly configured room, with the bed on one side of the bathroom in the sitting room on the other. That being said, the room had a nice view of the harbor end of Main Street. The room was clean, and a good value. The feather comforter on the queen bed was a nice touch.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Dieter S:

Thank you for posting comments about your recent stay with us. I was very pleased that we were able to provide you with an upgrade upon arrival. The room you were assigned does have an odd layout, as you noted. The primary reason is due to the physical structure of that building, which has been continuously open since 1776.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed the room nonetheless, finding it to be both clean and a good value. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    188
    68
    49
    53
See reviews for
146
352
30
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Flanders, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at the Governor Calvert House over the Fourth of July weekend. After reading other reviews on this site, I asked the reservation person about her recommendations on what type of room to reserve. She was very helpful and explained the different types of lodging available and offered her opinion about which rooms were best for which groups of people. Based on her recommendation, we booked a historic queen room and were very satisfied. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed not having to use our car at all during our stay. Everything was within walking distance. We found the room to be charming and quite large. The four post bed was comfortable and we had no trouble with the wifi. We enjoyed the ice water and lemonade in the lobby. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who asked. We had considered staying in the Loews hotel and were glad that we made the choice we did.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell the reservations department what you needs are and specifically ask about room ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Susan N:

Thank you for your feedback about staying with the Historic Inns over the 4th of July. I was pleased to read our reservation agent did a great job explaining the room types that were available and helping to ensure we got you in the right place. I’m glad as well that other aspects of your stay contributed to a 5 Star Rating. We will continue to strive for this level of quality with all of our guests.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at the Maryland Inn which is apart of the Historic Inns of Annapolis and we had a wonderful stay. The Inn was very quaint and the service was great. The location couldn't have been any better and is great for walking around Annapolis. We would definitely stay there again on a future trip to Annapolis.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear LDD8304:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the Maryland Inn and that both our service and location was “great!” We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you.
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

For a hotel in downtown Annapolis it is a steal. Is it a 5 star hotel, no, but as the names states its historic, so it is a little dated but it does have wifi and nice water pressure. There is three separate buildings with valet parking and coffee is served every morning in the lobby area of each of the three hotels. They each are very unique due the history of each one. I have stayed in each and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear hornsbyks:

Thank you for your feedback. You noted several of the unique features of our hotel - I am glad that we helped contribute to a great stay in Annapolis. It’s great to see you have stayed in each of our buildings and had a pleasant experience in each.

We appreciate your ongoing patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oley, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We've never stayed in a historic hotel/inn before. This was like travelling back in time - the rooms were decorated period-appropriate, the floors were uneven....everything you would expect in a 200+ year old building. Staff was helpful, friendly and accommodating. Our valet, Zach was the BEST!! While driving us to our hotel, he gave us a mini-tour of the city and made several recommendations for taverns, restaurants, pubs, etc. His recommendations were spot on!!! This was a great weekend and we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Lori W:

Thank you for posting your feedback. I am happy you enjoyed your stay and that you found our historical ambiance to be appropriate. I was more happy to read what a great job that Zach did for you; I till be sure to pass on my thanks to both him and his manager.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We returned to the Governor Calvert Inn because the Inn and its staff are superb! Period. The location is perfect for walking around Annapolis. The room was clean, the price was fine and the staff were exceptional. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Walter S:

Thank you for posting your comments. I was very happy to read how pleased you were with not only our location but the quality of our team and facility as well.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Really loved it... Great little place in the heart of downtown Annapolis, very nice spacious rooms and accommodations, fantastic location and an amazingly friendly staff. Highly recommend it to one and all.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Jason H:

Thank you for your feedback. I was delighted to read of your recent experience at the Historic Inns and very happy our staff did such a great job for you. Our location is the best in downtown Annapolis and we work daily to ensure our team’s service focus matches that!

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Annapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Inns of Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.