We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Inns of Annapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Inns of Annapolis to your Saves list
Historic Inns of Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Web Special | 20% Off
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Governor Calvert House and we were happy with the experience. It's the best location if you are in Annapolis for tourism, State House business, St John's College, or the Academy. The staff are friendly and helpful. The valet parking made it easy and well worth the expense. The air conditioner worked well and was not too noisy. The bed was very comfortable. The decor reminds you of Great Auntie's living room and should be refreshed. The complimentary coffee and pastries in the morning is a really nice touch. If you are looking for modern luxury, then stay at Lowes otherwise I would recommend the Inns of Annapolis.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Nicholas S:

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. I was very pleased to read you found our location, quality of service, and overall historical atmosphere to be such a positive experience.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    190
    69
    49
    53
See reviews for
147
355
30
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We recently had a wonderful overnight stay at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. We were looking for a one night anniversary getaway. We wanted something with a destination feel but without staying at a bed and breakfast. This was the perfect find!
The Historic Inns have antique furniture, charming historic buildings, and are perfectly located to enjoy downtown historic Annapolis while also having great modern features like flat screen cable tv and free wifi.
We stayed in the Maryland Inn building. Our room was ready for us on arrival, clean, nicely decorated and included everything we needed.
We opted to take advantage of the valet parking service and found it extremely convenient. We happened to have the same parking attendant on our arrival and departure and he was friendly, helpful and very efficient. We checked in at the main building and opted to enjoy the beautiful day and walk to our building. The attendant brought our luggage to our room and impressively, somehow managed to arrive before we had even let ourselves into the room. Similarly, on our day of checkout our car was ready for us within minutes. It was worth the cost.
We would definitely stay at one of the Historic Inns in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Laurie518:

Thank you for your feedback. I was very pleased to read how well everything went for you. Your experience is very consistent with the vast majority of our guests who stay with us and I am so happy that we delivered in making your stay so positive.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Historic Inns manages three properties in close proximity to each other on the Maryland State House circle from where you will find an easy downhill walk to the Dock St. inlet. We stayed at the Governor Calvert House. Charming on the outside and modernized on the inside. Rooms are small but spacious enough to not feel cramped. Our room was clean and quiet. FREE internet is available, but our room did not come with a mini-fridge. Given historic Annapolis's warren of narrow, one-way streets, finding our way to the hotel was easy (with a GPS) and valet parking is available. On weekends free parking is available at a nearby municipal lot. On street parking is really not an option so figure on paying the daily valet fee or ask for the directions to the public garage after dropping off your bags. There are much less pricey accommodations a short drive or long walk from downtown, but if you want the convenience of staying in the heart of historic Annapolis, you should find the Calvert House a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Marty B:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay. I’m happy to see you enjoyed several aspects of your stay in addition to being very pleased with our location.

We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Annapolis is a beautiful waterside village, full of history, amazing architecture, great shopping and of course, wonderful waterfronts. So when choosing accommodation, staying in an historic building really appealed to me. Consequently, I chose the Historic Inns and secured a room in the old Maryland Inn. This Inn has been operated as an inn for a couple of hundred years! Our room was a lovely corner room on the third floor so nice and quite. The room was huge and furnished in lovely old pieces. The bathroom was 'neat' but given the age of this old Inn, I had no problem with the small space and hey...its a bathroom right. Everything was within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Neneb:

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. I was so very pleased you enjoyed our historic ambiance. You described a number of the attributes of our Maryland Inn and I am glad you took the time to write and provide us with your observations.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just like the name implies these building are "old" Annapolis; "Old" like, the newest of the 3 is dated 1790. But if charm and service, excellent staffing mean something to you, this is the place to stay! We checked into the main building than were taken over to our room at their facility on main street, the location could not have been more convenient to shopping and sight-seeing if I had it built. The staff members were all knowledgeable on the area eateries while being outgoing and warm. High recommended if you the B&B, Boutique inn type.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear SierraGulf:

Thank you for your feedback. Your commentary on your stay at the Historic Inns and on your experience generally is appreciated. We are not a typical hotel and offer a unique alternative to someone staying in the downtown Historic District of Annapolis.

I was so very pleased to read that many aspects of your stay went so well and that you had such an enjoyable visit. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Mediocre housekeeping. Old dirt. Needs a good scrubbing. Our sheets were very wrinkled upon check in. I'm sure they were clean, but they gave me pause. The bathroom sink would not drain properly in room 306 in the Maryland House. Fairly nice room, loud A/C, windows don't open and it could use an airing! Smallest bathroom on the planet, felt like I was on an airplane! Had to sit side saddle on the toilet! The shower was saving so much water that it was impossible to get the soap off your skin let alone the shampoo out of your hair!! It's most important to enjoy a good shower to begin or end your day...all this did was anger you to the nth degree!!!
The Valet is an absolute nightmare. Can't even talk about it.
The "kids" that run the place try as hard as they can, but need direction from an expert in the hospitality industry. Oh, the dirt on the carpet in the elevator remained there for three days. Get my drift.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Rick B:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay with us. I apologize that you encountered several issues in the room with regard to a slow draining sink and a loud AC. I have shared this feedback, along with that about the shower water pressure, with our Chief Engineer so we can get these item fixed. I’ve also provided your comments a bout the elevator carpet to our Director of Housekeeping. In both cases I will follow up with them to ensure we have fixed these items.

I am sorry that the valet experience was not more pleasant for you. We generally hear, both in feedback and directly, that our valet team is efficient and effective. Regardless, I am aware that your experience was not that.

We appreciate the detail of your review and the chance to work on those areas you have noted. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Robert Johnson Inn on State House Circle was clean, well-appointed and within walking distance to all attractions. Those who chose not to walk were able to use the hotel shuttle. The staff was pleasant and efficient. 26 people were able to check-in within half an hour. As trip coordinator, I was very pleased. As part of our package, we had brunch on the second day at the Governor Calvert House. The presentation was lovely and the food was very good. Of course our day began very early with complimentary coffee in the hotel lobby before leaving for 8AM Mass and a tour of St. Mary's Church. Of course ,I knew we would be pleased as my husband and I always stay at the Robert Johnson House when we visit Annapolis to listen to the Naval Academy Band play at the City Dock in the summer. It's so convenient!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear rockietwo:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent trip to our hotel with your Church. I am so pleased that we did a great job for you and that so many different aspects of your stay came together to make such a great visit!

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon; we want to be your Hotel of choice when you visit Annapolis.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Annapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Inns of Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.