We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Inns of Annapolis

Save Saved
You added Historic Inns of Annapolis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Inns of Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Annapolis
Leonardtown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

My wife and i booked this as a last minute option for weekend away and it was not disappointing at all. the location was great, the room was fine, the staff was helpful and the price was fine. we did however laugh when the TV kept coming on by itself at 6am onwards on the sunday morning. not once but a few times either the remotes are super powerful or we had another person that wanted to watch mad men repeats on AMC. lol

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear P W:

Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize that there was an issue with the television coming on and off. I will remind our housekeeping team to be vigilant if they encounter this issue when cleaning a room so that we can fix it.

We appreciate your patronage and certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    162
    58
    44
    49
See reviews for
128
308
28
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

After leaving my car with valet for 2 days, they turned it back over to me with a significant 3 ft scratch on the side of the vehicle. The valet was polite and indicated that this was clearly a new scratch and that a claim report would indicate that TOWNE Park was at fault. Within 3 days of submitting my claim, TOWNE Park emailed me saying that there was not sufficient evidence that they caused the scratch. They are completely unreliable and should not be trusted with your vehicle.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Wknips:

Thank you for posting your feedback. I am sorry that there was an issue with the care of your car with Towne Park and that your experience was not a pleasant one. I have shared the content of this review with them.

Thank you.


Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I booked a weekend at the Historic Inns of Annapolis and had a queen room in the Governor Calvert House. We were getting away to celebrate our anniversary and had never been to Annapolis. We wanted to stay in the historic district so that we could walk to the waterfront, restaurants and shops and other attractions. The location could not have been more perfect! Additionally, the staff were friendly and personable. Always asking what they could do to make our stay better, offering recommendations for dining and attractions. I even ran into one of the front desk staff in the workout room and when some of the equipment wasn't working he personally took responsibility to get things fixed. I highly recommend this property for its charm, friendliness and LOCATION.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear AJH7566:

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. I am so very happy you chose us for your wedding anniversary and that our team was so very helpful to you. Our location is great and I am glad you got a chance to get out and walk around, enjoyed the ambiance of Historic Downtown Annapolis.

Please don’t wait another year to have a visit; every day of your marriage is an anniversary!  We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We sincerely enjoyed our stay. The staff was especially welcoming and the location is superb. We very much enjoyed strolling the quaint neighborhood. The Governor Calvert ambience is elegant and warm, and our room was clean and comfortable. We will stay there again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear JW:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay with us. You have captured some of our “personality” when you describe the Governor Calvert House as “elegant and warm.” I am delighted we provided this great service to you and that you found your room to be clean and comfortable as well.

We appreciate your business and want to be your hotel of choice when you visit Annapolis. Thank you.


Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We arrived a little early for check-in and the front desk clerk gave us a complimentary upgrade at the Gov. Calvert House since there was a room there ready. This was great because the location was slightly better than the room we originally booked. What a beautiful Inn!!! The room was very charming as well. The beds were super comfortable and everything was extremely clean. We were right across the street from the State House which added to the allure. I booked through the website as an advance purchase and received an extremely low rate for the room. We did have to valet park at $24.00 a night which seemed a little extreme but since the room was pretty inexpensive it did not seem like a big deal. The valet people were extremely nice and helpful too. One day it was raining very hard and the valet shuttled us to our destination. Overall, we had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend this beautiful Inn to all of our family and friends. One last thing... the lemonade at the check-in area was awesome!!!!!

Room Tip: Check the rates for Advance purchase on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear karenmsu97:

Thank you for completing our guest survey. I was so very happy to see that you enjoyed so many different aspects of your stay; some of your comments truly capture the unique features of the Historic Inns of Annapolis.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Location,location Location. Yep great spot to stay at the top of Main st.
1st The room was large an big old room,high ceilings with molding.The thick walls made a very quite stay. It reminded me of an my old house in Brooklyn with the curved stair cases.The bed was comfortable we slept soundly. Bath room has been updated but the tub needs touch up, not a big deal its an 1800 building. The elevator was quick.
Sitting out on the porch was the icing on the stay . Coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. People watching .

Room Tip: our room was on the upper floor facing the back street with a double bed . There was a lot of traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear snackpack150:

Thank you for your feedback. You picked an outstanding location when you stayed at our Maryland Inn and I was happy to read that you enjoyed the historical ambiance of the building. Our location is outstanding and we strive to ensure that the quality of our facilities and services go hand in hand to ensure our guests have a great stay, just as you did!

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked our anniversary weekend to stay at the Governor Calvert House. We stayed in Room 202, which was comfortable, clean and charming. Bed was super comfortable and thank goodness for firm pillows (we've stayed at 5 star where they're like cotton - not good for husband's neck). We've stayed in historic inns and B&Bs before and prefer it to the ultra modern. The bathroom was small but clean. The people from the valet to the front desk were very helpful and friendly. Love the interior of the lobby and the antiques and artifacts (note: please enter the room where the morning eats are - you will see the coffee then, but not from the hallway, which we mistakenly did). The location is tops - you are only a few minutes walk from the main area. Check out the Market St area (great shops and Irish play Galway Pub - great for afternoon pint!). We valet parked (why wouldn't you?) and left the car there the entire weekend. Some other reviews mentioned weddings, which there was one that weekend. Our room overlooked the patio where the cocktail party was, but the windows are double-glazed so we couldn't really hear anything. It is such a pleasant, quaint Inn and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 202 is at end of hallway away from elevator and ice machine room. A/C a bit loud but it never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear VAAussie:

Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read that you so very much enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the room to be clean, comfortable and charming. It was great to hear that you took advantage of our outstanding location in the heart of the Historic District and that you got a chance to get out and walk around.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#2 Best Value Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Inns of Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.