We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn with lots of Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Inns of Annapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Inns of Annapolis to your Saves list
Historic Inns of Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn with lots of Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We arrived a little early for check-in and the front desk clerk gave us a complimentary upgrade at the Gov. Calvert House since there was a room there ready. This was great because the location was slightly better than the room we originally booked. What a beautiful Inn!!! The room was very charming as well. The beds were super comfortable and everything was extremely clean. We were right across the street from the State House which added to the allure. I booked through the website as an advance purchase and received an extremely low rate for the room. We did have to valet park at $24.00 a night which seemed a little extreme but since the room was pretty inexpensive it did not seem like a big deal. The valet people were extremely nice and helpful too. One day it was raining very hard and the valet shuttled us to our destination. Overall, we had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend this beautiful Inn to all of our family and friends. One last thing... the lemonade at the check-in area was awesome!!!!!

Room Tip: Check the rates for Advance purchase on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear karenmsu97:

Thank you for completing our guest survey. I was so very happy to see that you enjoyed so many different aspects of your stay; some of your comments truly capture the unique features of the Historic Inns of Annapolis.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    206
    74
    50
    53
See reviews for
155
377
32
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Location,location Location. Yep great spot to stay at the top of Main st.
1st The room was large an big old room,high ceilings with molding.The thick walls made a very quite stay. It reminded me of an my old house in Brooklyn with the curved stair cases.The bed was comfortable we slept soundly. Bath room has been updated but the tub needs touch up, not a big deal its an 1800 building. The elevator was quick.
Sitting out on the porch was the icing on the stay . Coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. People watching .

Room Tip: our room was on the upper floor facing the back street with a double bed . There was a lot of traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear snackpack150:

Thank you for your feedback. You picked an outstanding location when you stayed at our Maryland Inn and I was happy to read that you enjoyed the historical ambiance of the building. Our location is outstanding and we strive to ensure that the quality of our facilities and services go hand in hand to ensure our guests have a great stay, just as you did!

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We booked our anniversary weekend to stay at the Governor Calvert House. We stayed in Room 202, which was comfortable, clean and charming. Bed was super comfortable and thank goodness for firm pillows (we've stayed at 5 star where they're like cotton - not good for husband's neck). We've stayed in historic inns and B&Bs before and prefer it to the ultra modern. The bathroom was small but clean. The people from the valet to the front desk were very helpful and friendly. Love the interior of the lobby and the antiques and artifacts (note: please enter the room where the morning eats are - you will see the coffee then, but not from the hallway, which we mistakenly did). The location is tops - you are only a few minutes walk from the main area. Check out the Market St area (great shops and Irish play Galway Pub - great for afternoon pint!). We valet parked (why wouldn't you?) and left the car there the entire weekend. Some other reviews mentioned weddings, which there was one that weekend. Our room overlooked the patio where the cocktail party was, but the windows are double-glazed so we couldn't really hear anything. It is such a pleasant, quaint Inn and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 202 is at end of hallway away from elevator and ice machine room. A/C a bit loud but it never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear VAAussie:

Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read that you so very much enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the room to be clean, comfortable and charming. It was great to hear that you took advantage of our outstanding location in the heart of the Historic District and that you got a chance to get out and walk around.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were only able to spend one night but loved the Robert Johnson Inn. There are three properties in this group spread through on square and around the corner. You check in at one then the valet takes you to the other two if needed. Our check in was fine, nothing overly friendly. It was the valet/bellhop who we thought was wonderful. We wished we would have caught his name as he really tried to make everything perfect for us. He actually took two larger suitcases up 4 floors while we took the elevator and he beat us! He brought us ice from the first floor and back up again. There seemed nothing he wasn't able or willing to do for guests. Very impressed.
Our room was as requested, quiet and with a view this being of the Maryland State Capital building. Beautiful. Heavy draperies and fabrics, large TV although poor reception. The bedding was a bit tired and hopefully replaced soon. I know it's historic but fitted sheets would have been nice. No coffee facilities or fridge although coffee is served in that hotel's lobby starting at 7AM.
This hotel is definitely located within the heart of Annapolis which is a walk in time. Cobble stone streets, restaurants, bars and history are at every corner. The little things can be overlooked when you stand back and see where you are.
The one down side was the next morning when we went to the main hotel to check out, the valet on duty then was busy with his IPhone and didn't even see us pass and when we looked around that hotel as it too is historic, we found that those guests also get a selection of pastries, juice and coffee to our meager coffee. Would have been nice to be included.

Room Tip: Ask for a view then explore that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Grums:

Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read that you overall enjoyed your stay at the Robert Johnson House and was specifically happy to read that a member of our valet team provided exceptional service. I appreciate your additional feedback on guest room and morning pastries; I will share that.

We provide complimentary muffins, pastries, and whole fruit for all of our guests at the Governor Calvert House, the point of check in. Any of our guests can take advantage of that and I am sorry that was not explained to you.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The facilities are nice, but the bedding and fabrics throughout are very tired. Stayed in companion property in a very large room/suite, The Maryland Inn, but the transfer from the main Calvert house was very easy. Valet drove us in our car to the property and picked us up whenever needed with no problems. The room had a very awkward setup. Had to walk through the large sitting area to get to the bathroom from the bedroom.

Their rates are on the high side especially considering that the standard rate does not include breakfast. That is an option that can be added.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear sharedexperiences:

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. I am sorry that you felt you did not receive a positive experience while with us. While I noted you found the valet services to be efficient I am disappointed we were not able to provide a more overall pleasing visit. I agree that, because of the historic structure of our buildings, some of our rooms have peculiar arrangements. Please know we replace bedding and linen on a regular basis and will continue to do.

We value your patronage and thank you for your observations. We wish you the best in your future travels. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

LOVED the location.... I ended up in one of the Inns on the State circle. My room was really cute, with original antiques and an up to date bathroom. The main street was 30 seconds down some steps right next to the Inn. Really enjoyed my stay in Annapolis - what a nice town!

Room Tip: pick a room in the back for a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear LCHand:

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. I was happy to read you found our location in the heart of the Annapolis Historic District. We truly have the “best” location and, as you experienced with the service rating of “5,” we deliver the service to go along with the location.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for one night after an outing w/friends. We were able to walk from downtown. The room was comfortable and service was good. We used valet parking ($24) which was worth not having to look for parking downtown. The hotel was well kept, the room was a nice size w/comfortable bed. They offered muffins, cereal and lemonade in the lobby area in the morning before we left. I would recommend it to friends and I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear beachiemom:

Thank you for your comments. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your brief visit with us and glad to see you found several aspects that worked well for you. I certainly you had some time to take advantage of our central location and walk around the Historic District.

Baltimore is a short drive away; we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#3 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#12 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Annapolis
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Annapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#10 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Inns of Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.