We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel close to everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Inns of Annapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Historic Inns of Annapolis to your Saves list
Historic Inns of Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off | WEB SPECIAL
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Annapolis
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cute hotel close to everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband I stayed a Sat and Sun in the Gov Calvert house (building where check in and valet is located). We had a historic queen room. Room and hotel in general are cute and very clean, fairly spacious, but a little noisy in morning with street traffic. There was a wedding the day we checked in but we didn't hear any of the music or crowd in our room on the 4th floor. Check in and check out was easy but the front desk staff seemed annoyed that they had to check us in (we checked in 3:30pm not an unusual time and were the only people checking in). If a friendlier front desk, I would have rated 4 stars. Unlike other reviews I've seen, we found the valets were more helpful and pleasant than the people at check-in and we had no problem getting our car when it was time to leave. It was great having everything within walking distance, and the free morning coffee was a nice touch!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Burghette:

Thank you for posting your feedback. I was glad to see you found your room spacious and clean. I apologize you felt the front desk was not receptive during the check in process; we typically receive very strong, positive feedback about our team members and I will share your comments with them.

I was pleased to see that our valet did a great job for you and that you enjoyed our location. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    166
    58
    45
    49
See reviews for
130
313
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a cool location with just the right mix of hotel and private house. If you want to stay in a place that has a different feel than an chain hotel, this is the place. Although some of the rooms need a little better upkeep, the overall feel and experience is very nice. The staff make you feel welcome and important.

Room Tip: Get a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Christopher H:

Thank you for your feedback. I was delighted to read that you found our team providing a welcoming atmosphere and one which, as you said, made you “feel important.” We work each day to provide a great experience for our guests and are delighted that, relative to our service delivery and location, we came through for you.

We recognize that feedback helps us improve and we will continue to focus on the day in and day out details to ensure our entire operation does well. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were assigned to the maryland inn and the rooms (we had four) all had double beds which were too small for a couple, so we had to get two rooms where one would do at another hotel. The rooms were not cheap (208 each a night plus tax) AND there was a 2 night minimum so although one in our party needed only one night, had to pay for two.

I got a wake up call at 5:15 one morning, mistake by staff never explained or made right in any way by an admin staff that seemed to accept and perpetuate mediocre service without any shame. Having the admin in another building was a nuisance, for example when my room key card stopped working, had to wait for someone to come from the Calvert house with a key to let me in. The Treaty of Paris restaurant in the basement was truly awful, the food gave us sick stomaches the next day, and we waited an hour for our breakfast. Again, disorganization prevailed.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else! maybe the governor calvert house is nicer, but you have no control over what b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Charliebrown5:

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you encountered several issues while in the hotel and that you did not enjoy your visit. Your experience is not consistent with what we have consistently delivered over time. I will share your feedback with our team and we will use it as a learning experience so that we can do better.

I checked your reservations and it appears that the rooms occupied were those initially reserved and we certainly would have disclosed the two night minimum at that time. The error on the wake up call is an internal procedural one and I will share that feedback with the appropriate members of our team. Our Treaty of Paris restaurant is located on the ground floor of our Maryland Inn and we will continue to work diligently to ensure the staffing is appropriate for expected business levels and that our food is consistently good.

I do appreciate your feedback. If your future travels do require to you to visit Annapolis I do hope you would consider us again and I would work personally to ensure your stay goes well.

Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Governor Calvert Inn is located directly across from the State House In Annapolis so it is easy to walk everywhere in the historic district even to The Naval Academy and to the waterfront. The valets who park your car provided a wealth of information given in a friendly, enthusiastic manner.The rooms are quite nice and very clean. The bathrooms are a little small, but three of us in a double double room really didn't have any trouble. There was complimentary coffee in the lobby. The historic feel of the hotel fit well with the atmosphere of the historic district. Although the hotel has no restaurants except for a banquet facility, there are coffee shops, bars , and cafes within a few feet of the hotel. Although a little overworked, the desk clerks were friendly and helpful. I would suggest the need for a concierge to free these clerks up for check-in and check-out. I would also suggest some complimentary water for the rooms. All in all, our stay was a very pleasant experience, and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: The double double room was a good value for three people. You might ask for a room facing the State...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Joyce H:

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. I was very pleased to read that you found our location to be outstanding and that our service earned a ranking of “5” as well. Thank you for feedback on the front desk; I will share that with our Front Desk Manager.

We appreciate your business and are pleased that you look forward to returning to us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at the Maryland House overnight and it was a very nice experience. The room was large and comfortable (king room) but the bathroom was tiny! It was a very nice bathroom though. It is located on Main Street so it was an easy walk to the waterfront and all the shops and restaurants. Parking is a bit of a challenge. You can valet park at the Calvert House. We found a city parking garage nearby. The only thing I didn't care for was that there is no hotel staff in the lobby. Check in is at the Calvert House. The door is locked after 6:00pm and requires a room key to enter. I know that having someone in the lobby doesn't mean non-guests won't wander in but having someone there at least gives a sense of security. The restaurant served a very nice breakfast. I would stay there again or perhaps try one of the other properties. We chose teh Maryland House because it was near to the venue where we had concert tickets.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear CarolineM:

Thank you for your comments. You are absolutely correct about the Historic Inns being in the heart of the Historic District. All of our buildings, Governor Calvert House, Maryland Inn, and Robert Johnson House are also within a 6 minute walk to Ram’s Head Tavern, a great live music venue.

I was glad you found the accommodations to be pleasant and that you look forward to returning soon and trying one of our other buildings. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Circleville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed last weekend at the Governor Calvert House. The occassion was my wife's 50th birthday. We wanted to go somewhere different and the hotel was recommended by a friend. We were surprised by the charm of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. The hotel is set right across from the historic state house and within walking distance to all that Annapolis has to offer, whether your preference is shopping, sight seeing or eating/drinking. The hotel is spotless and well kept. You have an immediate sense of its history but the decor is not over the top. Strongly recommend a stay here if you visit Annapolis...and use the valet parking...you do not need the car unless you are planning to travel outside of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear MarCat451:

Thank you for posting your feedback. It was delightful to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was so very friendly! Your comments have captured a common sentiment from many of our guests about the ambience at the Historic Inns.

We are very proud of what we have built here and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Have a great week, and thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at the Maryland Inn for a family weekend event. The hotel was very nice - not elegant like a grand hotel, but very nice as an historic landmark. Our room was large and comfortably fit a rollaway bed for our son. The bathroom was updated and a treat. One thing that stood out during our visit was sitting with friends on one of the porches and just spending a nice Saturday afternoon. One note, it is important to be aware that check-in/check-out is a few blocks away from the hotel. The Inns have a car that will shuttle you back and forth though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear CorpSpy:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay. I was very pleased to see that you had a number of very positive comments about our hotel – location, room and bath quality, and general ambience. I am glad that our central check in point and courtesy car between our buildings worked out for you. I completely agree with your observation about just sitting on the porch with your friends just visiting and people watching. Annapolis is great for that.

We appreciate your business and hope your Lab puppy didn’t miss you too much. Have a great weekend.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#2 Best Value Hotel in Annapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Inns of Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.