We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Inns of Annapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Inns of Annapolis to your Saves list
Historic Inns of Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Web Special | 20% Off
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Easton, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Charming historic inn, reasonably priced. Our room was large and had several chairs and a small table that made it nice for entertaining some friends. The room was very clean, beds were comfortable, and there were lovely furnishings, although it did seem odd to have two identical pictures over the beds. Staff was friendly and exceptionally helpful. Nice "public areas" that were well appointed. Great location - walking distance of many shops and restaurants. However, the night we stayed we were going to a restaurant that was not within walking distance. We discovered, though, that the Inn had a shuttle service that took us to the restaurant and picked us up. This was not advertised but a wonderful service and very efficient. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Jane K:

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay at the Historic Inns. It was great to read that you found your room to be very clean, our location excellent, and our team members to be “friendly and exceptionally helpful.” I was so happy that things went so well for you and look forward to meeting you return.

We want to be your hotel of choice in Annapolis! Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    183
    67
    48
    52
See reviews for
143
349
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The inn is lovely, located a 10-minute walk at most from everything. Safe and beautiful neighborhood, right across from the state house. We were so happy with our sight-unseen choice. Service was impeccable from the front desk, housekeeping and valet service. BUT our room needs some attention: shower fixtures are loose, bathroom door squeaks like the front door of Dracula's castle, two identical pictures over each bed, one frame missing a large chunk of wood, and the mattresses should be changed--deep groove in the middle makes for an uncomfortable night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Michele F:

Thank you for your feedback. While I was delighted to hear that you were very pleased with the service I am sorry that you found several maintenance issues in your room that we should have caught well before you arrived. We will address these. I have to confess I have not ever had a squeaky door described as the front door to “Dracula’s Castle” so we definitely will take care of that!

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a small hotel but very historic -- the ancient foundation can be viewed through a glass floor in the coffee room. It also has a small staff and so valet parking and check in/check out can be on the slow side. You have to walk into town to eat or drink -- no services on site.

They gave me a nice corner room in the main building which was apparently roomier than some others' experience. Overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: My corner room in the main building was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Paenviron:

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you found the valet and check out service to be slow. We strive to ensure an efficient and friendly check in and I will share you feedback with our front desk team. I was more pleased to read that you found our location to be great, many of our guests enjoy the short, 1-2 minute walk to a wide variety of eateries and shops in the downtown Historic District.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I really enjoyed the location and amenities of the hotel at the Calvert House. The rooms and lobby were pretty.

However, two of the windows were left open in our room (in early January!). I noticed the persistent cold temperature, even after cranking the heat. I first discovered one window was cracked open. Later, when it was still cold, I discovered one of the windows was wide open and tricky to close. Fortunately I was able to fix that.

Other comfort concerns: the heater was obnoxiously loud. The bed and pillows were not comfortable. It was like there was a soft mattress topper, but it did not extend to the edges of the bed.

Continental breakfast was a nice treat (coffee, fruit and muffins/pastries) and good.

Plenty of TV channels. Room had microwave, mini-fridge, desk and a nice sofa. Toiletries were very high quality.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear R_MMD2014:

Thank you for posting your feedback. I apologize that windows were open in your room; I am very surprised at that and will check into all of our windows at the Governor Calvert House as that is not supposed to occur. I appreciate you letting me know and apologize this impacted your stay. I am sorry that you found our bed and pillows to be uncomfortable.

I was more pleased to read about the many other aspects of your stay that you were pleased with and look forward to doing a better job for you on your next visit to Annapolis.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Pretty much everything went right about our visit- very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful Christmas decorations, comfortable beds and ideal central location to most of Annapolis attractions and restaurants. Great boutique shops are around the corner from the Governor Calvert's Inn. Highly recommend to stay if you want to experience a bit of history with your stay.
One small drawback is you have to go downstairs to get coffee and muffins in the morning instead of having a coffee pot in your room. we only discovered this on our second night of the stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear nutinut:

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. I was so pleased to read that you found our staff to be helpful and that you enjoyed our Christmas decorations at the Governor Calvert House. You are correct about our central location and ease of walking to many shops, eateries, and what not in and around the Historic District. I do hope you enjoyed the complimentary muffins and coffee in our Hypocaust room.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have been going to Annapolis on New Year's day for the last few years to hear musicians at a local pub.During the holiday time I really enjoy staying at the Maryland Inn.The Maryland Inn is within walking distance of the pub.
It is such a,delight to walk around Annapolis in the evening or morning especially at holiday time.
It is lovely to walk to the harbor.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear WRS-26:

Thank you fro posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read how pleased you were with the Historic Inns and how nice it was for you to be able to walk around the Historic District during this festive Holiday Season.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was my second time staying here. We stayed at the Maryland Inn on New Years Eve. Room was very nice. Looked like it had been updated recently. Great location, can walk to everything. Always enjoy hanging out with Peanut in the bar downstairs. My only complaint is the price of the valet parking seems high. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Ingram75:

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. I was really happy to hear Peanut was great and that you had a chance to relax in our Drummer’s Lot Pub. Please don’t wait until next New Year’s Eve to return.

Thanks for your feedback on our valet parking pricing; we do routinely check the other hotels in the downtown area and find that our pricing is appropriate. We will continue to monitor this.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Annapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Inns of Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.