We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Conference in Annapolis” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Inns of Annapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Inns of Annapolis to your Saves list
Historic Inns of Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Web Special | 20% Off
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Business Conference in Annapolis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is 3 separate buildings placed around old downtown Annapolis. My room was large, with big closet space, a great bed. It is an old building with older furnishings (a 'period' type room) but there was wear and tear on the furniture itself.
Housecleaning was ok, though I found evidence of a prior guest in the closet...ticket stubs and such. The hotel does provide a shuttle service. The area of the hotel is near many restaurants and shops, as well as the harbor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear retailbarry:

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that your room had several issues related to cleanliness and I will share you feedback with our Director of Housekeeping so that he can correct this error. I appreciate you letting me know.

I was pleased to read you found our service and location to be excellent, and we will continue to focus on doing better in all areas. We value our business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    183
    66
    48
    50
See reviews for
143
344
30
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent two nights in Room 314 of the Governor Calvert House in October. On the plus side, the room was spacious, well-appointed and had a lovely view of the State House. On the down side, the washroom was small but sufficient. Moreover, this is a hotel and the walls are thin so I heard BOTH sides of a late night telephone conversation coming from the adjoining room. The hotel's location is very convenient to all of the attractions in historic Annapolis. The price of the room was very reasonable and valet parking is worth the $24 they charged. You don't need a car unless you're going to dinner in Eastport.

Room Tip: Room 314 of Gov. Calvert House is an historic room. It has nice furnishings, great light and a spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear pickascreennamea:

Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay at the Governor Calvert House while in Annapolis. I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your room but am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from an adjoining room. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and am sorry this happened.

I agree with your assessment of our valet parking process and with the quality of our location; you simply walk out our front door and everything in Historic Downtown Annapolis is within a 10 minute walk, depending on your stride. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We only had one night in Annapolis, and this was the perfect spot to enjoy the charm of the town in a central location. We explored all of the properties, and think they all would have been great to stay in. Room was well decorated, clean, and quiet. Staff was friendly and the location couldn't be beat. If I go back, this is my list of places to stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear KelleyF:

Thank you for completing our guest survey. It was great to read that you took a look at all of our buildings; The Governor Calvert House, The Maryland Inn, and The Robert Johnson House, and that you were intrigued by all of them. Thanks for noting how clean we were and how friendly our staff was. You are absolutely correct on our location – it truly is exceptional.

We appreciate your patronage and your feedback. Don’t wait too long to come back although I do see you are from Oregon so we will see you when we do.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Wonderful historic Inn located within a few minute walk of the Naval Academy. Rooms were comfortable and the location could not be better.
Park the car at the Inn and then all of old Annapolis was within easy walking distance.




Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello, Andrew B:

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I was so pleased to read you found our location to be very good and that our rooms were comfortable for you and your family. You are absolutely correct when you say “park the car;” our location provides easy access to everything in the downtown historic district and the benefit you get from just walking around with family is, to quote a national credit card, “Priceless.”

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely,


Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stopped overnight in Annapolis on our way to the airport in Baltimore. The Governor Calvert House was lovely. Comfortable king size bed, quiet surroundings, serene view and convenient location. It's a historic building with all the modern conveniences - flat screen tv, modern bathroom, good sized room, and express check-out. You can walk to dozens of restaurants. Valet was informative and directed us to a lively breakfast spot 2 blocks away. I would definitely stay here next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear therpac:

Thank you for your feedback. I was glad to read that you chose us for your overnight accommodations while overnight in Annapolis and happy to see that you found the Calvert House to be an ideal fit for you. I was equally happy that our location was great and that our valet team answered questions for you.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We had two nights booked and were 'upgraded' to stay in the main house by a very friendly and helpful member of staff. We had parked on the street as we had arrived late and were advised that for $24 we could valet park under the building during our stay. The valet then helpfully pointed out that we had until 12 noon the next day to move our car which would avoid the one nights charge and it was refreshing to feel that the staff were trying to help the clientele!

The room was excellent with a shared balcony and was very clean and quiet. The location was also good for a short walk to Main Street and a choice of bars and restaurants.

The only thing for me was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room, other than that an excellent stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear petmadness:

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. I was very pleased to read that you found our team to be friendly and that we were able to provide an upgrade for you. I was also very happy to hear that our valets clearly explained different parking options for you. Thank you for your feedback on the in room coffee; I do hope you were told of the complimentary coffee, tea, muffins, and whole fruit in the Hypocaust Room at the Governor Calvert House. Our location, in the middle of the Historic District, is great and I’m glad it worked so well for you.

We appreciate your business and hope your flight back to England was on time and that you got a chance to rest. We look forward to being of service to you in the future. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Governor Calvert House was amazing. We rented two double bed rooms for the weekend for ourselves and children. We were there for a wedding. First, upon arrival we were greeted at our car by the very friendly valets. From the moment we entered until the time we left, everything was first class. Check-In was quick, friendly and with a smile, rooms were ready even though we were early getting there. The room was immaculate and very pretty over looking the inside court yard. Our bed was so comfortable and lots of pillows, which we love, the pillows were great!!!! We hate those thin, flat pillows. Down comforters that were so soft, best beds and pillows ever and we travel a lot!!!! Bathroom was also very clean!!! The town itself was so pretty and clean, people so friendly, they actually say hello, so you can hear!!! The Maryland Inn, where we had breakfast was beautiful. The server, Gaber, was extremely friendly and very informative about the area. We had dinner the first night at Carrols Creek Cafe, right on the water and saying the food was fabulous, service outstanding, atmosphere incredible, still does not do it justice. A perfect weekend with friends and family. You absolutely need a weekend get away to the fabulous Historic Inns of Annapolis, lots of shopping as well all within walking distance.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are great!!! The bride and groom had 30 rooms blocked on all floors all loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear KathyP:

Thank you for your feedback; it is very gratifying to read that many of the “behind the scene” efforts that we engage in daily certainly paid off for your stay, as they do for so many of our guests. I was very pleased to read that everything came together and will share you feedback with our team. We have already recognized Gaber at our Staff Meeting and I have personally thanked him; we will show him this feedback.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you.

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Annapolis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#9 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Inns of Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.