We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Inns of Annapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Inns of Annapolis to your Saves list
Historic Inns of Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off | WEB SPECIAL
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Never Again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Maryland Inn recently. The good points are the valets and front desk staff are gracious and there. Is a Starbucks in the lower level. The not so good points include: dilapidated furniture in the room, a bathroom with no space for a toiletry bag, a shaker headboard and a tiny shower. The walls between the rooms are paper thin.

Room Tip: If you want to stay at one of the Historic Inns of Annapolis stay at The Gov. Calvert. This is a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Gail213:

Thank you for your feedback about your stay. I apologize you did not enjoy your room at the Maryland Inn; many of our rooms do have small bathrooms and we are working to address adding shelving for those room within the confines of the space available. I was more pleased to read you found our valet and front desk associates to be pleasant.

We value your patronage and would welcome the opportunity to see you again if you travels bring you back to Annapolis.

Sincerely,
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    171
    62
    45
    49
See reviews for
136
323
29
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a very nice stay at the Maryland Inn. Had to access the room from the 2nd floor balcony--very cool and convient as it over looked the main street. The room was small as was the bed (full size but seemed rather short). The floor was slanted making walking around the bed interesting. Bathroom TINY, shower only. My wife loved the atmosphere and I hope I look as good as the Maryland Inn when I'm 200+ yrs old!!! Would recommend it to anyone unless you are more than 6'2" in which case you would not fit in the bed or bathroom!!

Room Tip: ask before you book...the hotel is three hotels--two older one more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Pete S:

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed some of the unique features of the truly historic Maryland Inn. I know the room of which you speak and it really does have a nice feature in the balcony but it is a bit smaller given the physical constraints we had to work with. Regardless, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Historic Inns of Annapolis comprises 3 hotels in close proximity to each other. Check-in and valet parking for all 3 hotels is at Gov.Calvert House at 58 State Circle. We stayed at the Maryland Inn (Main St at Church Circle) for the weekend of our son's wedding on January19th. For our party of six we took three rooms: 2 two-queen-bed rms & 1 single-queen-bed rm w/roll-away bed, so that ~each~ person had a ~separate~ bed. My husband & I arrived first and checking in at the Calvert House was a breeze. Valet parking was fast & efficient, with courteous and friendly attendant Nick riding with us to the Inn and helping with luggage. We stayed in Room #300 (2-queen beds), a huge lovely space, beautifully appointed w/large bathroom & walk-in closet. The other 2-queen-bed room #206 was equally lovely. The single queen #316 was smaller but beautiful. All were clean with high-end toiletries. I can recommend all 3 rooms for size, comfort, and location. This is a lovely hotel with the famous Treaty of Paris Restaurant downstairs, plus a charming cocktail lounge & bar. The common rooms on the first floor are beautiful and welcoming. While there is no staffed front desk per se at Maryland Inn, the Calvert House front desk is only a phone call away and always available. A nice touch is complimentary coffee each morning in the reception entry downstairs. But don't miss the full-menu ~delicious~ breakfast served daily in the Treaty of Paris Restaurant. Do *avoid* the commercial franchise coffee shop underneath--but not part of--the Inn (expensive; cold & dreary; stale pastries). Dinner at the Treaty of Paris is just superb...fabulous food in a warm, truly historic setting with blazing fireplace. As for the wedding event itself, it couldn't have been in a more lovely setting--a beautiful light-filled banquet room with every detail seen to by friendly staff. Event coordinator Michelle was marvelous! We were sad to see the weekend end. Delivery of our car from valet parking was fast and easy by a courteous attendant (another Nick). I recommend this hotel highly!

Room Tip: I suggest and recommend Maryland Inn's largest rooms with 2 queen beds (#300, #206, and #200). T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Paris7eme:

Thank you for such a detailed review! I am so delighted you enjoyed your stay and that so many different facets of our building and services were so pleasing. I will share your feedback with my team and we will all continue to work to ensure that your experience is shared by others. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed at the Governor Calvert House for a family wedding weekend. The rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated. The wonderful staff accommodated several last minute guests. The food was delicious and the proximity to all the historic sights was so convenient for all the out of town guests.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with others ask for the rooms that have a shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear FamilyFoursomeLCBB:

Thank you for your feedback. I was delighted to read that you so enjoyed your stay while in town for such a fantastic event! We appreciate your business and would love to see you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here on New Year's Eve, and I was pleasantly surprised. I was a little leery of staying at a hotel with numerous buildings and a concierge only in the main one, but the setup was perfectly fine. We stayed in the Robert Johnson building and received a free room upgrade. The front desk and valet were very nice upon check in, explaining where to go. The concierge even provided directions to a nearby, free parking lot, allowing us to avoid the $24 valet charge. The location could not be more perfect - on a quiet Circle one block away from Main Street. Even on New Year's, a room facing Church Circle will be quiet. The only minor critique I would offer is that the heating system is a bit loud when it turns on and off - we simply slept with it off. Otherwise, a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms will face Church Circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear LucieLM:

Thank you for staying with us and for providing comments about your stay on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the location really worked well for you. I am sorry for the heater noise; we will look into that so we can fix it; than you for telling us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely,

Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a birthday celebration weekend this pre-Christmas weekend. We stayed in a king room on the 4th floor of the Robert Johnson House. Lots of natural light filled our room. Our view of the water over the roof-tops of Annapolis was like a postcard. Our alternate view was of the beautiful state house directly across the street.
Extremely comfortable bed with about a million comfortable pillows.
We did not encounter any other guests at all over our 2 night stay. Needless to say, it was very quiet.
The temperature was slightly uneven; a little too hot when the heat kicked on, but a little drafty with some old windows.
We will absolutely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Djvdw:

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Historic Inns this past weekend on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you generated some great memories and enjoyed your stay with us. I’ll have our engineering team inspect the heat and windows in that room. It’s nice to know we did a good job for a Senior Reviewer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a King sized suite at the Governor Calvert House over the Thanksgiving weekend and we loved our time there. The room was elegant, clean, and very comfortable. The front desk staff and valet services at the Governor's House were attentive and helpful. One of the best things about the House is it is beautifully located across from the State House and just around corner from an abundance of shopping and dining choices. We were able to leave our car with the valet and never felt the need to go anywhere else because everything was so close. We are looking forward to returning to the Governor's House.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a room at the front of the house - these will give you a delightful view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Kimesd:

Thank you for the feedback you posted on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read that you found the room to be clean and that our team was attentive and helpful. We appreciate your business, hope you have a great Holiday Season, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Mike Radike
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Family Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Inns of Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.