We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in historic downtown Annapolis.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Inns of Annapolis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Inns of Annapolis to your Saves list
Historic Inns of Annapolis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off | WEB SPECIAL
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
King George, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great stay in historic downtown Annapolis.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Did a Valentines day getaway with My Fiance. I choose to stay at the Governor Calvert House, and I was not disappointed. The hotel itself is located right next to Historic Maryland State House, which can be seen from several different rooms. The hotel was very clean, and showcased much history of the property and historic Annapolis.
Our room was located on the third floor, which was nice due to having a better view from the window. The room was clean, and was decorated tastefully.
You really can't beat the location of this hotel.. you are in walking distance from everything downtown Annapolis has to offer. I would stay here again, and next time may try the Maryland Inn to compare.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    172
    63
    45
    49
See reviews for
136
325
29
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed at the Maryland Inn. No parking. You have to use valet which is 24 dollars. I asked If I could just park car in their garage and was told no. Room were clean but old. Double bed was comfortable but small. Service was ok. Defintely not a 4 star property

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and I had a great stay at the Gov. Calvert House of the Historic Inns of Annapolis. I highly recommend the Inns of Annapolis. The customer service is amazing and wonderful. It truly made our stay incredible. We booked our room through the website and booked a king size room. The week before our stay, the manager called me to inform us that the website over-booked rooms. He offered us many options, which we really appreciated him wanting to resolve the issue prior to our stay. We expressed that our first preference was a king size room, but that we understood if it couldn't happen. When we arrived, we were very pleased and we were offered the king size room. Upon our arrival, the manager that I spoke with on the phone met us to let us know if there was anything they could do to make our stay comfortable to let the staff know. Everything was wonderful. The room was very clean and we had a great time. The staff recommended great restaurants and was awesome extending their customer service. The hotel was very historical and charming. They offered muffins and fruit in the morning and in the evening hot apple cider. The location is very central and in walking distance to many attractions. Parking was easy, easier than we thought. We parked right outside with no problems. You will have to monitor the signs but parking wasn't an issue. The price of our room was reasonable and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We loved the king size bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Did a quick getaway at the Maryland House over President's Day weekend. Took advantage of the $99 special which included queen bed, free parking and breakfast. Hotel is in great location on Main Street and room was lovely. Staff very friendly. And breakfast was awesome. We had eggs over crabcakes which were delicious. Didn't need lunch. This is the second time we've stayed here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Haven, PA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

I now can say I have stayed at all three locations of the Historic Inns.For a quick getaway with some friends for resturant week, we choose Govenor Calvert Inn. I can't say enough about these properties. All three are great when it comes to location. You can walk anywhere in the town and if you get tired, call their shuttle service, and they will come pick you up. The rooms are cozy and always clean. The beds are amazing, they feel like you are sleeping on a cloud. Everytime I visit these Inns, I never want to leave. The check-in is fast and they go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need for a relaxing stay. Don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Last night we stayed at the Robert Johnson. One has to check in at 58 State Circle, which is a nightmare for parking just to check in!

I called about parking prior to booking, as I had been to Annapolis in the past and I knew parking was at a premium. I was told that parking was available at the check in site. When we arrived, we were told that valet parking was the really only viable option. We were then told that a $24.00 additional charge would be added to the room rate shown on the website. This should have been explained to me prior to booking the room.

We had room 2116 at the Robert Johnson which was listed at a deluxe queen room. It was quite nice. What turned me off, however, is that the grouting around the bathtub needed replacement. It was quite moldy and reminded me of some cheap motels that I had stayed in a few times in the past. In fact, a strip of caulking was actually hanging into the bathtub. Also, there are no towel racks in the bathroom.

Also, in the closet there was what looked like a moldy water stain that was caused by some leak from the second floor.

The rug in the room also appeared that it had not been vacuumed prior to our arrival as I found what looked like pieces of potato chips in a few places.

The bed was OK, but sagged in the middle.

I am not sure how the Historic Inns of Annapolis was able to get a rating of #3 of the tripadvisor website!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Maryland Inn is one of three hotels that comprise the Historic Inns of Annapolis. When you arrive, you go to one of the hotels - The Governor Calvert - to check in and from there you will be directed to your hotel room - either there at Governor Calvert or at the Maryland Inn or the Robert Johnson House. Each hotel is walking distance to all of the attractions - and truly walking distance - you're not walking for hours, just a few steps to shops, restaurants and the Naval Academy and other points of interest.

Reasonably priced valet service will get you and your bags to your hotel then park your car. They will also come to your hotel at the end of your stay.

We stayed at the Maryland Inn and it was just lovely - historic on the outside, beautiful on the inside. Rooms were well appointed - maybe not the largest rooms ever -- but very nice with all modern conveniences.

For any of the hotels, you get a complimentary breakfast at the historic Treaty of Paris restaurant located at the Maryland Inn. The breakfasts were not just continental - wonderful eggs benedict Chesapeake with great crab cakes; a full menu to choose from and attentive service presented in a charming dining room. The Drummer's Lot Pub at the Maryland house is a cozy stop for a drink or nightcap.

Room Tip: When making a reservation, ask to stay at the Maryland Inn if you want easy access (an elevator ride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Family Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History comes to life at the Historic Inns of Annapolis. Located in downtown Annapolis, the Historic Inns of Annapolis comprise three unique hotels - each one with a storied past and significant place in American history. Perfect for a family vacation or a business retreat, the inns exude charm and class that have attracted guests for generations. From guest rooms to banquet rooms, we have all the space you need for the ideal getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Inns of Annapolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.