We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old rooms & cramped bathroom” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2451 Riva Rd, Annapolis, MD 21401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
St. George, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old rooms & cramped bathroom”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The price was right. The bathroom is very small & cramped. Very difficult to manage . The sink is basin style & is very impractical . Takes up space & the water goes everywhere. Beds ok. It is near shopping areas . Breakfast was mediocre. Staff was pleasant . Probably won't stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace2451, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that you did not care for the design of the bathroom as this made your stay less enjoyable. We would love for you to give us another try as we do have larger rooms with a more spacious design. If you would like to stay in one our larger rooms on your next visit to Annapolis please contact me to make your arrangements. I can be reached on 410-224-4317 ext. 304 or hieannapolis@baywoodhotels.com.

Yours in Hospitality,

Grace Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    64
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
52
50
12
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I have been here for over 8 months and have been pleased with the Hotel Room and Services.

I am on a fist name basis with all staff - they know to call me Pat - not Mr. McGowan!

The whole staff is friendly and we are like a family.

Courtney keeps the Breakfast Bar well stocked and the food is great.
Wendy keeps our room spotless and always has a smile.
Jai, Vy, and Marianne are always at the front desk smiling and getting me extra room keys, the internet password, or anything we need.
Grace (Manager) keeps my rate straight and our reservations up to date - and is a joy to work with.

Recommend this hotel as A+++++.

Pat McGowan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace2451, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you Mr. Pat for the wonderful review, it has been a pleasure having you and your wife as our guests for the past several months. You and your wife have been delightful the entire stay, you are always smiling and pleasant. We miss having you around when you leave for short periods of time but we understand you need a break from work. We have enjoyed having you both as part of our family. Please make a trip back to Annapolis to see us sometime when your project is complete.

Yours in Hospitality,

Grace Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Decent hotel, pricey for what it was. Next to the Annapolis Town Center, and a $10 cab ride to the harbor. Vending machine on 2nd floor only had soft drinks - no water. Compimentary breakfast in the morning was better than most, eggs, cereal, biscuits, pastries, etc. Bacon was excellent. Linens were nice and rooms were clean, but nothing spectacular for $186 a night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace2451, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent visit with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast. Ask us about an upgrade to one of our whirlpool suites next time you are in the area, this room type may enhance your opinion of the value for the price paid. We hope you’ll come see us again when in the Annapolis area.

Yours in Hospitality,

Grace Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neromom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We arrived late on a Friday night, and received a warm welcome from General Manager Grace Scott, along with a little goodie bag. Next morning we realized we had a little housekeeping problem and approached the front desk where we met Jai, also warm and welcoming. Before I had even finished explaining my little issue Wendy from housekeeping was there to help. Jai and Wendy had us all fixed in no time, and also made suggestions for where to park and what to see. Breakfast was lovely, the HIE people we met were great, the location was terrific. I hope we have an opportunity to visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace2451, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for the pleasant review. We are all pleased to hear how our kindness made your stay and enjoyable one. We take great pride in making our guest feel welcome and correcting any issues as quickly as possible. We hope to see you again soon. Come back this winter and check out the display of Lights on the Bay!

Yours in Hospitality,

Grace Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I made an online reservation very late at night, and Mrya was there as soon as I walked in the front doors with a smile and a warm greeting. She was courteous to my guests and she made my checking pain free. I am thankful and respect customer service representatives like Myra who want her guests to feel at home, and comfortable. Thank you Myra.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace2451, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for mentioning how courteous and welcoming Myra was during your visit. Late night arrivals are always a little better when the person greeting you smiles like the sun. We appreciate you sharing your experience. Please visit us again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Grace Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay on August 9th-13th. The hotel provides complimentary breakfast, free WiFi, and has a guest laundry. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating, thanks to MYRA, JAI and VY for providing a great service!!!!

Half an hour after we checked out, I realized I forgot my wedding ring in the bathroom. Came back to the hotel and the housekeeper who cleaned our room found it and returned my ring. Very honest, nice lady!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace2451, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your experience during your recent visit; Myra Jai and Vy are indeed friendly and accommodating. That’s fantastic your Room Attendant was able to locate your ring and keep it safe for you to retrieve. Please come see us again when in the Annapolis area.

Yours in Hospitality,

Grace Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were driving through Maryland and decided to try the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. They were welcoming, easy to work with, a great breakfast made to order, and easy checkout.

Highly recommended. Actually, the service felt as though they were trained by the Ritz personnel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace2451, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
How nice of you to complement our team with such high recommendations. This is very satisfying for the team to see how their genuine hospitality leaves a positive impression. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you the next time you're passing through Maryland.

Yours in Hospitality,

Grace Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Address: 2451 Riva Rd, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfortable stay at our Annapolis Maryland Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites accommodations near the US Naval Academy. Our Annapolis hotel is conveniently located 4 miles from the Academy and Historic Downtown. Your family will enjoy our hotel in Annapolis Maryland adjacent to The Annapolis Towne Centre with some of your favorites such as Whole Foods, PF Chang, 24 Hour Fitness and more. Just off Highway 50 we offer easy access to Baltimore, Washington DC and we are just 26 miles from Baltimore-Washington International Airport (BWI). A short drive away from the beautiful Chesapeake Bay, our Annapolis hotel keeps you near a variety of activities, from visiting Sandy Point State Park to sailing along the bay and eating fresh seafood for dinner. Business travelers visiting our Annapolis accommodations will not be disappointed; our hotel provides easy access to the more than 6,000 businesses and corporations of downtown Annapolis. Our accommodations also offer free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center to meet your needs while traveling. While you visit Annapolis, our hotel will treat you to a complimentary hot breakfast and cozy triple-sheeted beds. You can unwind with a trip to the 24-hour fitness center, or upgrade to a room with a whirlpool tub. Plan your trip to come join us at our Annapolis hotel with great hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Annapolis
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Annapolis
Holiday Inn Express Annapolis
Annapolis Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.